Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Very very short domain names  (Read 888 times)

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8676
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Very very short domain names
« on: April 25, 2020, 04:07:03 PM »

Iím wondering where I can get an extremely short domain name that is very cheap. Can be anything at all otherwise, itís just a finger-saver, instead if having to type in IPv4 addresses by hand all the time.

A while back I registered csw.me.uk for just exactly this reason, and itís been great, saves a lot of typing and mistyping of IP addresses. Thatís been very successful, I wondered if I could get anything even shorter and similarly for no money per annum?
Logged

d2d4j

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1002
Re: Very very short domain names
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2020, 04:40:37 PM »

Hi

Good luck getting a domain for free and keeping it free per annum

If you donít want to spend monies, create sub domains 1. 2. etc...

You could also try to buy .uk if available of your current domain

Please remember if cheap to buy it may not be on next renewal

Many thanks

John
Logged

d2d4j

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1002
Re: Very very short domain names
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2020, 04:44:45 PM »

Hi

Sorry there is 1 more thing which you could do for free, if you use your own dns local server or your firebrick does domain static, and then create your own domain 1.m 2.m etc where 1.m = modem 1 etc...

Many thanks

John
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8676
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Very very short domain names
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2020, 05:41:44 PM »

Actually, thatís a point, I already do create domain names defined in the firebrick, but my web browser doesnít like single-label domain names or anything that doesnít look like the usual 2nld.tld pattern. "No money" means around £5 per annum.

I was looking around today, and itís just amazing, the pressure there is on the domain name space nowadays, even the new tlds which look rather naff are in such demand that loads of very short labels have been taken. If you want an incredibly short name itís a matter of finding the right tld which doesnít cost the earth and which is still sparse. RevK the boss of AA uses some .gg domain names himeself, With incredibly short labels -  I remember him blogging about it.
« Last Edit: April 25, 2020, 05:51:12 PM by Weaver »
Logged

d2d4j

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1002
Re: Very very short domain names
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2020, 06:04:41 PM »

Hi

If your browser can view ao.com (which I think it would be able to) then you could domain static st firewall m1.com m2.com perhaps even m1.co etc...

Also, Iíve never known nothing is £5. Everyone I know understands nothing is free or £0.

Many thanks

John
Logged

petef

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: Very very short domain names
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2020, 01:06:22 PM »

You could use a URL shortening service like Bitly or TinyURL.
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1165
    • My Broadband History
Re: Very very short domain names
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2020, 04:18:17 PM »

It annoys me no end that Chrome based browsers always default to search when typing in a hostname with the .lan domain, when they work fine in Firefox.

I believe you can disable search from the URL bar so it ALWAYS tried to load it as a URL, but I imagine that's not what you want either as it then makes searching more awkward.

I wonder if there is some way to add .lan as a known domain to Chrome so it ALWAYS treats those as URLs?  Although from your past comments of wanting secure certificates on everything, that probably wont work either.
Logged
Exchange: INTAKE (ECI DSLAM) Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) ISP/Modems: Zen (Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt) + Plusnet (VMG-3925-B10B) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD