Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Question about extending 2 pair drop wire vs filtered extension.  (Read 1698 times)

Dad-Of-5

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36

Hi all,

I need to move my equipment about 10 metres. My 2 pair BT drop wire 2 comes straight into my NTE5A master socket with MK3 filter face plate (and a lower plate). I'm about 580 metres from a Huawei cabinet and get about 70 down and 13 up. I have a very short modem cable about 40cms and sync is excellent.

My question is what is the best way to extend without loosing speeds/performance, should I
1. extend the drop wire with straight CW1308 using simple gel connectors followed by the master socket OR
2. leave the master where it is and run an extension using CAT5e from there to the new site where I would then simply plug my modem and phone into a new VDSL + TEL socket?

BTW if going with option 1 should I use BT80B RF3 instead of gel connectors?
I do understand the legal implications of option 1

many thanks
Logged

meritez

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: Question about extending 2 pair drop wire vs filtered extension.
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2020, 12:22:01 PM »

Option 2 is what I have had to do for a restaurant before, Master socket was above the doorway to the premises, had to run the CAT5E through the ventilation shafts to the rear corner of the restaurant.

Logged

PhilipD

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 540
Re: Question about extending 2 pair drop wire vs filtered extension.
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2020, 12:24:40 PM »

Hi

It will make little difference which method you use.  To save messing with the BT side just take the signal unfiltered from the master socket and use CW1308 to run to the new location, no need to use Ethernet cable, it is unlikely to be any better.

Regards

Phil
Logged

tubaman

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 5258
Re: Question about extending 2 pair drop wire vs filtered extension.
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2020, 02:20:10 PM »

Hi

It will make little difference which method you use.  To save messing with the BT side just take the signal unfiltered from the master socket and use CW1308 to run to the new location, no need to use Ethernet cable, it is unlikely to be any better.

Regards

Phil

Agree entirely. The MK3 has Krone connections under the faceplate for just this purpose.
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1165
    • My Broadband History
Re: Question about extending 2 pair drop wire vs filtered extension.
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2020, 03:30:09 PM »

Is it absolutely essential you move the modem?

By far the best option is to keep the modem where it is and extend an ethernet cable to where you need the network to be, using either a switch (if you need several ethernet ports) and/or an Access Point (if the reason for moving is to move the WiFi signal).

There's a lot of potential for speed reduction from a 10m cable.
Logged
Exchange: INTAKE (ECI DSLAM) Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) ISP/Modems: Zen (Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt) + Plusnet (VMG-3925-B10B) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD

licquorice

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 733
Re: Question about extending 2 pair drop wire vs filtered extension.
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2020, 04:12:38 PM »


There's a lot of potential for speed reduction from a 10m cable.

Maybe as much as 1Kb/s !!
Logged

4candles

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2834
  • Not young enough to know everything
Re: Question about extending 2 pair drop wire vs filtered extension.
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2020, 05:38:09 PM »

From experience at a previous property, I'd agree with licquorice.I assume the thread title should say "unfiltered extension".
« Last Edit: April 03, 2020, 05:40:37 PM by 4candles »
Logged
For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong.

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1165
    • My Broadband History
Re: Question about extending 2 pair drop wire vs filtered extension.
« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2020, 06:38:12 PM »

Maybe as much as 1Kb/s !!

Not at all, there's a lot of potential interference in the household that can get into the wire.  It probably wont, but why take the chance if you don't have to?
Logged
Exchange: INTAKE (ECI DSLAM) Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) ISP/Modems: Zen (Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt) + Plusnet (VMG-3925-B10B) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD

licquorice

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 733
Re: Question about extending 2 pair drop wire vs filtered extension.
« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2020, 07:23:46 PM »

whatever
Logged

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1589
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: Question about extending 2 pair drop wire vs filtered extension.
« Reply #9 on: April 03, 2020, 07:26:49 PM »

I can't recommend strongly enough not messing with in-home telephone wiring right now.

Cat5e to avoid any possibility of issues that need Openreach assistance. It's unlikely but not impossible for things to go wrong.
Logged
WiFi: Nighthawk® AX12 RAX120 - 5Gb uplink
Routing: Ubiquiti UDM Pro - 10Gb uplink
Switching: 2 * Mikrotik CRS305-1G-4S-IN, 10Gb uplinks, various cheap and cheerful
ONT: Huawei 1+1
Exchange: Wakefield
ISP: BT Full Fibre 900. Yes, BT, I know.

4candles

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2834
  • Not young enough to know everything
Re: Question about extending 2 pair drop wire vs filtered extension.
« Reply #10 on: April 03, 2020, 10:32:30 PM »

It would be easy and cheap enough to try option 2 first with loose-laid CW1308 and see if sync adversely affected.
Prediction - it won't be.
Logged
For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong.

Westie

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1591
Re: Question about extending 2 pair drop wire vs filtered extension.
« Reply #11 on: April 04, 2020, 12:18:52 AM »

Cat5e may be theoretically better, but CW1308 is physically less obtrusive. What is most important to you?

I had a similar situation, where I needed to site the modem approx 20m from the master socket, on the opposite side of the house and on a different floor. I used Cat6 cable, mainly because the wiring was entirely hidden, but also because it had to run fairly close to mains and solar PV cables, and I wanted to reduce signal degradation as much as I could.

It has run without a problem ever since.
Logged
 

anything