Computer Software > Windows

Microsoft Windows and Security Considerations

(1/7) > >>

Weaver:
[Moderator note: This topic has been created by splitting off the following posts from renluop's "Updating Office" thread

Make sure not to buy Windows Home as it isn’t secure (lots of security- and networking functionality is disabled so it isn’t possible to fully secure the machine correctly even if you know what you’re doing or have some help) - always by Windows Pro or whatever it’s now called.

tubaman:

--- Quote from: Weaver on March 27, 2020, 01:55:00 AM ---Make sure not to buy Windows Home as it isn’t secure (lots of security- and networking functionality is disabled so it isn’t possible to fully secure the machine correctly even if you know what you’re doing or have some help) - always by Windows Pro or whatever it’s now called.

--- End quote ---
@Weaver - in what ways is Windows Home 'insecure' please? I've been using it for many years on a number of devices and have never encountered any issues at all. Yes, some of the more advanced features are not available, but as most would not be used by the average user I'm not sure it's fair to call the whole system 'insecure'.
 :)

Ronski:
I'm in agreement with you tubaman, all except two of my home PC's are running Windows 10 Home, my two that are running Pro have had no additional hardening as I wouldn't have a clue what to do, so the average home user will be completely clueless.

I suppose the only one I do know about which Pro does have and Home doesn't, but have got around to implementing is Bit-locker, I really should one for that extra level of protection should my PC ever be stolen,.

Weaver: