Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Security check  (Read 1295 times)

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1232
Security check
« on: March 27, 2020, 07:11:16 PM »

I am getting annoying some sites start to ask me to complete the security check? How to stop this madness as it never happen to me for years and years, why it appears more now?

I ran virus, malware check found nothing.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2020, 07:13:19 PM by adslmax »
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8946
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Security check
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2020, 07:37:19 PM »

I donít understand- can you give us some context?
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1524
    • My Broadband History
Re: Security check
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2020, 07:46:51 PM »

Have you checked the DNS server is set correctly on your PC and router?  Because that seems highly suspect to me as I've never seen a captcha on TBB.
Logged
Exchange: INTAKE (ECI) ISP/Modems: Zen (Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt) + Plusnet (VMG-3925-B10B) + Three (Hauwei B535-232)
Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1232
Re: Security check
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2020, 11:54:51 PM »

How to check DNS Server?
Logged

tubaman

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 5817
Re: Security check
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2020, 09:28:17 AM »

How often are you accessing the sites Max, as I suspect some will do this if they suspect some sort of flooding attack.  This is just a guess though.
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1232
Re: Security check
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2020, 09:40:06 AM »

It kept asked me to check security check everytime I use this site: https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/71eb837210b1d11b98c8c58acfb47dd7aca0f5c8

It say you are not secure connected verifying by cloudflare?
« Last Edit: March 28, 2020, 09:42:56 AM by adslmax »
Logged

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2119
Re: Security check
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2020, 11:14:11 AM »

It say you are not secure connected verifying by cloudflare?

I'm not sure why its showing you the capita screens, but those are definately from cloudflare.

Are you using a vpn or the tor browser? What dns server are you using?

It generally throws the capita screen up when it can't tell where you're coming from.

Have you tried accessing the site from a different browser? If so, did it do the same thing?
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1232
Re: Security check
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2020, 11:26:17 AM »

Logged

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1232
Re: Security check
« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2020, 06:57:03 AM »

I am now unwell with fever 38c , coughing and feel awful. Got Covid 19 coronavirus as I am now isolation.  :rant: :rant:



admin - removed part of post about disease origin
« Last Edit: March 30, 2020, 12:14:54 PM by kitz »
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8946
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Security check
« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2020, 08:24:25 AM »

Iím so very sorry to hear that adslmax. Take care of yourself and get well soon. Let us know how you are doing. Get someone to bring you some good drugs from the doctorís / chemistís to make you feel better.
Logged

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2119
Re: Security check
« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2020, 11:45:21 AM »

Reading that PN thread about ip addresses made me think of the irc days when sometimes if I was allocated certain ip addresses I'd get warnings when connecting to the server.

I remember it would suggest a website address were you could put the ip address in and it would tell me if it was any Internet ban list. It checked about 20+ lists and if it was then some of them you could apply for it to be removed. Some were spam lists. So its possible if the ip address is on the list then thats why cloudflare keeps throwing up this security check.

If you're on a dynamic ip address then turn your connection off and wait for a while, hopefully when you re-connect you'll get a new ip address.

If you're on a static ip address then you'll have to look up the spam check sites, though I've forgot the name of the site the irc server used to recommend. Hmm, you could try this site https://www.dnsbl.info Btw, its normal to be blocked/banned from a couple of the servers it checks.
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab