Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Openreach on limited work  (Read 743 times)

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2086
Openreach on limited work
« on: March 24, 2020, 05:25:50 PM »

COVID-19 – Openreach Limit UK Broadband ISP and Phone Work
https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2020/03/covid-19-openreach-stop-uk-broadband-isp-and-phone-work.html

Openreach revises work plan after travel curbs announced on 23rd March
https://www.thinkbroadband.com/news/8700-openreach-revises-work-plan-after-travel-curbs-announced-on-23rd-march

I've just been reading these articles.

I can see the health implications. But isn't broadband and the phone system part of the national infrastructure?

What are peoples opinions of it?
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab

gt94sss2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 978
Re: Openreach on limited work
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2020, 05:38:37 PM »

It makes sense that Openreach want to concentrate on repairing existing connections and protecting their staff/vulnerable customers rather than try and operate a business as usual approach (installing new lines etc)


Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29485
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Openreach on limited work
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2020, 05:40:13 PM »

. . . isn't broadband and the phone system part of the national infrastructure?

No, not when it is owned by shareholders and not the Government.  :-X
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1185
    • My Broadband History
Re: Openreach on limited work
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2020, 09:15:40 PM »

It makes sense to not be visiting customer premises, I doubt they have the protective equipment to deal with both keeping their engineers and customers safe from cross infection.

It does beg the question how they are going to actually deal with vulnerable customers though.  I know I wouldn't want them in the house right now, but fortunately I'm prepared with two FTTC lines and two different mobile networks available, should anything happen.  Not everyone will be.
Logged
Exchange: INTAKE (ECI DSLAM) Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) ISP/Modems: Zen (Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt) + Plusnet (VMG-3925-B10B) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6203
Re: Openreach on limited work
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2020, 09:22:54 AM »

external faults same as normal, internal i guess not fixed? most faults are external but diagnosis carried out in property , they could move to testing at junction box instead
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1588
Re: Openreach on limited work
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2020, 10:03:57 AM »

I could plug a phone extension lead in to the test socket and hang it out of a window!
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

4candles

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2834
  • Not young enough to know everything
Re: Openreach on limited work
« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2020, 05:42:11 PM »

 ;D
Logged
For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong.

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8682
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Openreach on limited work
« Reply #7 on: March 26, 2020, 06:30:45 PM »

Alex’s point is a good one. Maybe they could ask home users to leave the room so the engineer is not exposed to a human and vice versa. But then there is still the problem of contaminated surfaces. BT needs to give engineers gloves and antiseptic wipes at a minimum, more if they can.

They need a govt minister of supply to start new manufacturing of protective equipment, masks, gloves and the whole-body suits even. There should be massive availability to key workers and the NHS most importantly of course.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2020, 12:18:18 AM by Weaver »
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1185
    • My Broadband History
Re: Openreach on limited work
« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2020, 10:43:27 PM »

I've noticed a complete lack of Openreach jobs on one.network lately, but still Virgin "new connections" seem to be going ahead, unless they end up missing the deadlines that presumably could have set months ago.
Logged
Exchange: INTAKE (ECI DSLAM) Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) ISP/Modems: Zen (Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt) + Plusnet (VMG-3925-B10B) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
 

anything