Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Can FTTC cope if people move from ADSL2+ ?  (Read 348 times)

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2056
Can FTTC cope if people move from ADSL2+ ?
« on: March 22, 2020, 06:16:13 PM »

I'm making a couple of assumptions that I'm not sure is correct, so if I'm wrong then correct me.

It's my understanding that OR is trying to move people from ADSL, ADSL2, ADSL2+ lines mainly on to FTTC.

So my question is, is there enough capacity in the current FTTC cabinets to be able to support all those additional lines?
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab

Alex Atkin UK

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 915
    • My Broadband History
Re: Can FTTC cope if people move from ADSL2+ ?
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2020, 06:40:56 PM »

I'd hazard a guess at no, presumably why they have been adding sub-cabinets all over the place.

One thing is for sure, even if there are enough physical ports, speeds are going to drop dramatically for everyone thanks to crosstalk.
Logged
WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) Modems: 2x BT Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt Exchange: INTAKE, ECI Cabinet ISPs: Zen + Plusnet.

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2766
Re: Can FTTC cope if people move from ADSL2+ ?
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2020, 07:04:44 PM »

It's my understanding that OR is trying to move people from ADSL, ADSL2, ADSL2+ lines mainly on to FTTC.

True, but not quite that simple.

OpenReach have had offers running since FTTC launched to try encourage ISP's to move customers from ADSL to FTTC.
They continue to have such offers in place.

It's BT retail specifically who are mass migrating their own customers to FTTC for free.

OpenReach continue to encourage take up of FTTC as normal, as should be expected.

OpenReach don't own the ADSL DSLAM'S/MSAN's
They generate revenue from FTTC customers as they own the FTTC cabinets.

BT Wholesale own/run much of the ADSL kit in exchanges.
LLU providers like Sky and Talktalk own the rest of the ADSL kit and can continue to sell as much ADSL as they like.

Quote
So my question is, is there enough capacity in the current FTTC cabinets to be able to support all those additional lines?

Nope, definitely not.
OpenReach's FTTP rollout will help with capacity by moving users off the FTTC cabinets.
The same can be said of Virgin and other ALT nets FTTP builds.

I'd hazard a guess at no, presumably why they have been adding sub-cabinets all over the place.

One thing is for sure, even if there are enough physical ports, speeds are going to drop dramatically for everyone thanks to crosstalk.

Speeds won't drop dramatically.
Crosstalk stops having such a big impact after it reaches a certain level.

No doubt there will still be a drop in sync for many but it becomes less and less as subscriber numbers reach a certain level.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8443
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Can FTTC cope if people move from ADSL2+ ?
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2020, 04:15:00 AM »

J0hn, what happens about charging when BT Retail has moved someone from ADSL to FTTC ?
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2766
Re: Can FTTC cope if people move from ADSL2+ ?
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2020, 04:37:26 AM »

I would guess instead of BT Retail paying BT Wholesale for both an ADSL product and backhaul they pay OpenReach for a VDSL2 product and continue to pay BT Wholesale for the backhaul.

Either way the money stays within BT Group.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8443
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Can FTTC cope if people move from ADSL2+ ?
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2020, 06:23:12 AM »

Sorry, no I meant charging the end user. I didn’t explain properly.
Logged

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1509
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: Can FTTC cope if people move from ADSL2+ ?
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2020, 03:08:11 PM »

Nothing. Same hub, same everything else. User gets a disconnect and is back on VDSL instead of ADSL. Same price, different code within the billing system I imagine.
Logged
WiFi: Nighthawk® AX12 RAX120
Router: As above. Pending software release before using Ubiquiti UDM Pro.
Switching: 2 * Mikrotik CRS305-1G-4S-IN, various GigE
Interfaces: 2 * 5G. 4 * 10 G. Various 1 G.
ONT: Huawei 1+1
Exchange: Wakefield
ISP: BT
 

anything