Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Does anyone have the 1Gig service from VM?  (Read 450 times)

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2081
Does anyone have the 1Gig service from VM?
« on: March 21, 2020, 10:48:02 AM »

I've noticed that VM are covering a few cities now with their 1Gig service, on the docsis 3.1 network.

So far I've not seen anyone post any experiences with it. It could be a game changer for not only VM but also the fast broadband we all want.

I wonder if there are any stats on its uptake. Usually when a new service comes out at least someone on the forums try it and post their experience. But so far I've not seen anyone posting anything about it.

If anyone on here signs up, let us know what its like. It would be interesting to hear the feedback on it.
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab

chenks

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 822
Re: Does anyone have the 1Gig service from VM?
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2020, 02:50:22 PM »

plenty of feedback on the virgin forum about 1gig service.

one should remember the hub they supply only has gigabit ports, so once you factor in the actual real-life achievable speed form a gigabit port you'll end up with around 940Mbps being supplied by the hub (even though the actual speed being supplied to the hub is usually about 1.2Gbps).
Logged

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1589
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: Does anyone have the 1Gig service from VM?
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2020, 03:46:12 PM »

Uptake is tiny as you'd expect.

It's not a game changer. Most people have no interest in gigabit and certainly aren't prepared to pay £62 a month for it.

The bulk of VM customers are still on 100 Mbit. Many of those on higher tiers are on them because they came with the TV.
Logged
WiFi: Nighthawk® AX12 RAX120 - 5Gb uplink
Routing: Ubiquiti UDM Pro - 10Gb uplink
Switching: 2 * Mikrotik CRS305-1G-4S-IN, 10Gb uplinks, various cheap and cheerful
ONT: Huawei 1+1
Exchange: Wakefield
ISP: BT Full Fibre 900. Yes, BT, I know.

chenks

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 822
Re: Does anyone have the 1Gig service from VM?
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2020, 04:40:15 PM »

well it's only tiny because the areas covered were relatively tiny.
most of the complaints came from people who simply didn't understand the technology involved.

1Gbps package, IMO, is not about supply all 1Gbps to one device, it's about having enough to spread over mulitple devices without seeing any impact.
Logged

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2081
Re: Does anyone have the 1Gig service from VM?
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2020, 05:48:08 PM »

I think could be a game changer in the future. But you're right £62 is a lot of money, and also tying it to having the phone and tv package will also slow it down.

I think whenever a new speed comes on the market its always the more tech minded people who go for it first.

I'll have to keep my eyes on the virgin forum. I noticed last week someone mentioned my area was on a list to be upgraded to 1Gig. So I thought I'd see what the experience is like.
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1589
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: Does anyone have the 1Gig service from VM?
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2020, 12:05:51 AM »

well it's only tiny because the areas covered were relatively tiny.

Uptake is the people taking the product versus those it's available to. Obviously in areas where it's not available the uptake is zero.

Uptake of 500 is also minimal. Uptake of 350 isn't very high either: single digits %.
Logged
WiFi: Nighthawk® AX12 RAX120 - 5Gb uplink
Routing: Ubiquiti UDM Pro - 10Gb uplink
Switching: 2 * Mikrotik CRS305-1G-4S-IN, 10Gb uplinks, various cheap and cheerful
ONT: Huawei 1+1
Exchange: Wakefield
ISP: BT Full Fibre 900. Yes, BT, I know.

chenks

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 822
Re: Does anyone have the 1Gig service from VM?
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2020, 11:06:22 AM »

and you have access to customer numbers from virgin do you?
Logged

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1589
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: Does anyone have the 1Gig service from VM?
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2020, 08:36:22 PM »

Yep.  :)
Logged
WiFi: Nighthawk® AX12 RAX120 - 5Gb uplink
Routing: Ubiquiti UDM Pro - 10Gb uplink
Switching: 2 * Mikrotik CRS305-1G-4S-IN, 10Gb uplinks, various cheap and cheerful
ONT: Huawei 1+1
Exchange: Wakefield
ISP: BT Full Fibre 900. Yes, BT, I know.

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2858
Re: Does anyone have the 1Gig service from VM?
« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2020, 02:00:46 PM »

I'll have to keep my eyes on the virgin forum. I noticed last week someone mentioned my area was on a list to be upgraded to 1Gig. So I thought I'd see what the experience is like.
There is no list of areas being done. They have been announcing area by area when doing the upgrades.

Manchester has already been done.
Logged