Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Speed Capping Worked  (Read 903 times)

nfxcr3w

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Speed Capping Worked
« on: March 18, 2020, 01:36:16 AM »

Just wanted to say thank you Kitzens for making that pinned topic for 6 days every 2 Days dlm has been working upping my speeds back to 80mb I capped it at 29mb down and 5mb up here are the results now. And got a 3db  ;D Dont mind the disconnect that was the dlm adjusting it's working faster than before use to take a whole year.

xdslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Last Retrain Reason:   1
Last initialization procedure status:   0
Max:   Upstream rate = 25137 Kbps, Downstream rate = 81529 Kbps
Bearer:   0, Upstream rate = 20000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 80000 Kbps
Bearer:   1, Upstream rate = 0 Kbps, Downstream rate = 0 Kbps
Link Power State:   L0
Mode:         VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile:      Profile 17a
TPS-TC:         PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis:      U:ON /D:ON
Line Status:      No Defect
Training Status:   Showtime
      Down      Up
SNR (dB):    3.4       8.9
Attn(dB):    12.8       0.0
Pwr(dBm):    12.5       0.1

         VDSL2 framing
         Bearer 0
MSGc:      -6      20
B:      203      239
M:      1      1
T:      0      64
R:      10      0
S:      0.0000      0.3819
L:      21153      5028
D:      8      1
I:      214      120
N:      214      240
Q:      8      0
V:      5      0
RxQueue:      76      0
TxQueue:      19      0
G.INP Framing:      18      0
G.INP lookback:      19      0
RRC bits:      0      24
         Bearer 1
MSGc:      186      -6
B:      0      0
M:      2      0
T:      2      0
R:      16      0
S:      5.3333      0.0000
L:      48      0
D:      3      0
I:      32      0
N:      32      0
Q:      0      0
V:      0      0
RxQueue:      0      0
TxQueue:      0      0
G.INP Framing:      0      0
G.INP lookback:      0      0
RRC bits:      0      0

         Counters
         Bearer 0
OHF:      0      27352
OHFErr:      0      0
RS:      8172272      1750414
RSCorr:      8      0
RSUnCorr:   0      0
         Bearer 1
OHF:      10396      0
OHFErr:      0      0
RS:      124016      0
RSCorr:      0      0
RSUnCorr:   0      0

         Retransmit Counters
rtx_tx:      173355      0
rtx_c:      1      0
rtx_uc:      75553      0

         G.INP Counters
LEFTRS:      10      0
minEFTR:   79983      0
errFreeBits:   3554250      0

         Bearer 0
HEC:      0      0
OCD:      0      0
LCD:      0      0
Total Cells:   25692097      0
Data Cells:   1942333      0
Drop Cells:   0
Bit Errors:   0      0

         Bearer 1
HEC:      0      0
OCD:      0      0
LCD:      0      0
Total Cells:   0      0
Data Cells:   0      0
Drop Cells:   0
Bit Errors:   0      0

ES:      11      0
SES:      11      0
UAS:      66      55
AS:      167

         Bearer 0
INP:      48.00      0.00
INPRein:   0.00      0.00
delay:      0      0
PER:      0.00      6.13
OR:      0.01      33.91
AgR:      80344.32   20033.74

         Bearer 1
INP:      4.00      0.00
INPRein:   4.00      0.00
delay:      3      0
PER:      16.06      0.01
OR:      95.62      0.01
AgR:      95.62   0.01

Bitswap:   38/38      1/1

Total time = 26 min 46 sec
FEC:      4809      0
CRC:      576      0
ES:      11      0
SES:      11      0
UAS:      66      55
LOS:      1      0
LOF:      7      0
LOM:      0      0
Latest 15 minutes time = 11 min 46 sec
FEC:      4805      0
CRC:      576      0
ES:      11      0
SES:      11      0
UAS:      38      27
LOS:      1      0
LOF:      7      0
LOM:      0      0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
FEC:      4      0
CRC:      0      0
ES:      0      0
SES:      0      0
UAS:      28      28
LOS:      0      0
LOF:      0      0
LOM:      0      0
Latest 1 day time = 26 min 46 sec
FEC:      4809      0
CRC:      576      0
ES:      11      0
SES:      11      0
UAS:      66      55
LOS:      1      0
LOF:      7      0
LOM:      0      0
Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
FEC:      0      0
CRC:      0      0
ES:      0      0
SES:      0      0
UAS:      0      0
LOS:      0      0
LOF:      0      0
LOM:      0      0
Since Link time = 2 min 47 sec
FEC:      8      0
CRC:      0      0
ES:      0      0
SES:      0      0
UAS:      0      0
LOS:      0      0
LOF:      0      0
LOM:      0      0
NTR: mipsCntAtNtr=0 ncoCntAtNtr=0
« Last Edit: March 18, 2020, 01:38:56 AM by nfxcr3w »
Logged
BT FTTC @3db 80/20 Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged + 1508 MTU + OpenWrt 19.07.2 Huawei Cab

youngsyp

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
Re: Speed Capping Worked
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2020, 09:32:35 AM »

And ReTX Low too, great work.

I was all set to do something similar on my line, as it appeared DLM was 'stuck' after some recent issues I've had. However, last night at around 12.40am, it seems DLM had awoken and reduced my downstream SNRM target to circa 5dB. ReTX is back at High but, I suspect once the DS SNRM target gets to 3dB and is stable, ReTx Low will be re-enabled.

Paul
Logged

nfxcr3w

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: Speed Capping Worked
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2020, 10:01:59 AM »

And ReTX Low too, great work.

I was all set to do something similar on my line, as it appeared DLM was 'stuck' after some recent issues I've had. However, last night at around 12.40am, it seems DLM had awoken and reduced my downstream SNRM target to circa 5dB. ReTX is back at High but, I suspect once the DS SNRM target gets to 3dB and is stable, ReTx Low will be re-enabled.

Paul

Thank you, When i did cap it ReTX was set to High but eventually it went back to Low. i was shocked how quick DLM reacted but I'm glad i got my speed back and IP Profile is back where it was 77.35 so full sync. and the 3dB is just a added Bonus  ;D
Logged
BT FTTC @3db 80/20 Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged + 1508 MTU + OpenWrt 19.07.2 Huawei Cab

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29512
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Speed Capping Worked
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2020, 04:43:45 PM »

Thank you for the update with the details of your success.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

nfxcr3w

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: Speed Capping Worked
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2020, 04:53:22 PM »

Thank you for the update with the details of your success.

You're welcome capping it that low it kept FEC & CRC's,ES really low DLM must of thought my line was Super Stable gained all my speed back. Happy bunny now  :) The vmg1312-b10a is a awesome bit of kit much better than the HG612 3B.
Logged
BT FTTC @3db 80/20 Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged + 1508 MTU + OpenWrt 19.07.2 Huawei Cab

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32447
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Speed Capping Worked
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2020, 12:25:51 AM »

Glad it worked.   Thanks for letting use know :)

>>>The vmg1312-b10a is a awesome bit of kit much better than the HG612 3B.

That's how I feel about my VMG8324-B10A.   I've tried several others but always ended up going back to it.   It's now nearly 6 years old and there's still not anything on the market that I feel is worth swapping it with.    I do also have a VMG8924-B10A which I really ought to swap over to, but I have that many things using wifi now it would probably take me all day to swap everything over.  :/


Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

nfxcr3w

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: Speed Capping Worked
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2020, 06:34:11 AM »

Glad it worked.   Thanks for letting use know :)

>>>The vmg1312-b10a is a awesome bit of kit much better than the HG612 3B.

That's how I feel about my VMG8324-B10A.   I've tried several others but always ended up going back to it.   It's now nearly 6 years old and there's still not anything on the market that I feel is worth swapping it with.    I do also have a VMG8924-B10A which I really ought to swap over to, but I have that many things using wifi now it would probably take me all day to swap everything over.  :/

You're welcome Kitz,  ;) They're sure fast even the throughput is faster. Got mine wall mounted I did have a Billion 8800nl they decent devices too. But now that I'm using Johnson's firmware love the look of that GUI for stats easier to monitor the line now.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2020, 06:36:17 AM by nfxcr3w »
Logged
BT FTTC @3db 80/20 Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged + 1508 MTU + OpenWrt 19.07.2 Huawei Cab

tubaman

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 5292
Re: Speed Capping Worked
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2020, 07:50:55 AM »

...
That's how I feel about my VMG8324-B10A.   I've tried several others but always ended up going back to it.  ...

Same here with my VMG8924-B10A. I still occasionally find something else to try from eBay, but so far the trusty Zyxel always ends up back in place. The only one that nearly trumped it was a Netgear D6220. That synced as well as the Zyxel, and the wi-fi had a bit more oomph. I could also get decent stats from it. One downfall was that IPV6 would only work as 6to4 tunnel as Netgear don't want to support the /56 network that BT use. In reality that was only an annoyance and of no real practical issue. Unfortunately it got sick and had to be taken out of service. I would get another if one appeared at the right price - which for me is very cheaply!

@Kitz - did you resolve the wi-fi issues with your Zyxel, as I seem to member you were having trouble with it stopping issuing IP addresses when you hit a certain number of devices?
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3626
Re: Speed Capping Worked
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2020, 09:08:05 AM »

I do also have a VMG8924-B10A which I really ought to swap over to, but I have that many things using wifi now it would probably take me all day to swap everything over.  :/

Curious why it wound take all day? If the WiFi was setup the same on the new router as the old one then all devices would just connect to it oblivious to the change. Or am I missing something?

When I used to change routers I would connect the new one to a laptop via cable then just set it up as required when time permitted. I could log in to the existing router via my PC to check settings.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32447
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Speed Capping Worked
« Reply #9 on: March 19, 2020, 09:19:00 AM »

>> you were having trouble with it stopping issuing IP addresses when you hit a certain number of devices?

I was indeed. I currently have a TPlink VR900 set as a wireless AP dishing out a defined range of IPs for any of the (numerous) IoT type of devices and any dynamic IPs.   The Zyxel is still handling any static IPs.   When I mentioned above 'all day' that is what is at the back of my mind knowing how long it took me to change the passwords in them all last time.   

Nvm pulling everything out to sort out the wiring to my NAS which I inadvertently pulled out of place when messing with the TPlink which now needs sorting as its a crawl under a fitted desk system and pull off a backboard to rethread the cable though. :/
Once upon a time I would have relished messing around with a new router and setting it up, but I've had a few bad flares recently which deter me from crawling around. :D
« Last Edit: March 20, 2020, 11:52:38 PM by kitz »
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

nfxcr3w

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: Speed Capping Worked
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2020, 06:33:06 PM »

So now that I've uncapped my speed how long would it take for fast path to be on the DS? or will it always be interleave depth 8 with G.INP Enabled? Also does DLM react to ES and FEC's and CRC's on the upstream? Always wondered if it did but never had a answer to it.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2020, 06:59:12 PM by nfxcr3w »
Logged
BT FTTC @3db 80/20 Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged + 1508 MTU + OpenWrt 19.07.2 Huawei Cab

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32447
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Speed Capping Worked
« Reply #11 on: March 20, 2020, 11:57:18 PM »

Interleaving should in theory come off in a similar fashion to uncapping, but usually a bit quicker.  Capping is usually the hardest to get rid of.

Yes DLM monitors upstream in a similar way to downstream.   They are treated independently.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

nfxcr3w

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: Speed Capping Worked
« Reply #12 on: March 21, 2020, 12:45:41 AM »

Interleaving should in theory come off in a similar fashion to uncapping, but usually a bit quicker.  Capping is usually the hardest to get rid of.

Yes DLM monitors upstream in a similar way to downstream.   They are treated independently.

Thank you Kitz, When you mention Capping is usually the hardest to get rid of do you mean manual capping or DLM doing the capping? I tend to find Interleave coming off the hardest.
Logged
BT FTTC @3db 80/20 Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged + 1508 MTU + OpenWrt 19.07.2 Huawei Cab

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2038
Re: Speed Capping Worked
« Reply #13 on: March 21, 2020, 06:48:28 AM »

Huawei cabinets always do G.INP with D=Q, it won't always be 8, it could be some other low number like 4 or 16. Huawei cabinets do G.INP with the interleaving depth set to the size of the retransmission unit (DTU), I don't think this adds any additional delay.
Logged

nfxcr3w

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: Speed Capping Worked
« Reply #14 on: March 21, 2020, 08:12:34 AM »

Huawei cabinets always do G.INP with D=Q, it won't always be 8, it could be some other low number like 4 or 16. Huawei cabinets do G.INP with the interleaving depth set to the size of the retransmission unit (DTU), I don't think this adds any additional delay.

Got it cheers ejs. Yeah I checked there's no delay I always thought having a interleave connection is not great for online gaming especially gamers prefer having it set to fast path. But I'm sure online gaming uses upstream rather than downstream for sending data. I could be wrong but  :shrug2:
Logged
BT FTTC @3db 80/20 Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged + 1508 MTU + OpenWrt 19.07.2 Huawei Cab
Pages: [1] 2