Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: SNMP  (Read 1255 times)

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8682
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
SNMP
« on: March 08, 2020, 09:22:48 PM »

I have a number of devices on my network that speak SNMP, but I’m finding it difficult to locate a useful SNMP app for the iPad. I suppose I could run something on the Raspberry Pi perhaps, as an alternative but GUI-based things are possibly out - I don’t know if GUI-based things are usable especially with me having no mouse.

What good things could I do with SNMP?

Also, will I have any security worries ? (I don’t want to have to make a dog’s breakfast with very messy and unmaintainable firewalling just to fix security problems.)
Logged

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1589
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: SNMP
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2020, 10:49:36 PM »

You really want to be using a fixed device to do SNMP polling and receive traps. Your iPad should be doing nothing other than logging into a web interface.

Bunch of software you can use. What are you looking to do?
Logged
WiFi: Nighthawk® AX12 RAX120 - 5Gb uplink
Routing: Ubiquiti UDM Pro - 10Gb uplink
Switching: 2 * Mikrotik CRS305-1G-4S-IN, 10Gb uplinks, various cheap and cheerful
ONT: Huawei 1+1
Exchange: Wakefield
ISP: BT Full Fibre 900. Yes, BT, I know.

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8682
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: SNMP
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2020, 10:51:29 PM »

I’m just exploring here: I’m wondering what the technology can do for me.
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1166
    • My Broadband History
Re: SNMP
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2020, 05:12:16 AM »

In my experience SNMP is a nightmare.  The naming scheme can be so cryptic and it baffles me how often it will give you statistics for a ton of stuff you don't need, then omit to things you do. (typically things like modem stats are missing)
Logged
Exchange: INTAKE (ECI DSLAM) Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) ISP/Modems: Zen (Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt) + Plusnet (VMG-3925-B10B) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1589
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: SNMP
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2020, 08:26:39 AM »

https://www.paessler.com/info/snmp_mibs_and_oids_an_overview

Depending on what's exposed, there are standards for MIBs and OIDs, it can be a mine of information

Check PRTG out for starters.  :)
« Last Edit: March 12, 2020, 03:04:48 PM by CarlT »
Logged
WiFi: Nighthawk® AX12 RAX120 - 5Gb uplink
Routing: Ubiquiti UDM Pro - 10Gb uplink
Switching: 2 * Mikrotik CRS305-1G-4S-IN, 10Gb uplinks, various cheap and cheerful
ONT: Huawei 1+1
Exchange: Wakefield
ISP: BT Full Fibre 900. Yes, BT, I know.

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 466
Re: SNMP
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2020, 04:11:24 PM »

PRTG is nice, and has a half decent amount of "sensors" available on the free version.

One interface of one device is classed as a sensor, so you could easily burn through 100 in a small office, but for a home user it should be fine.

SNMP is my bread and butter - used to support tens of thousands of devices in PRTG for several customers once upon a time.

Carl is right, the iPad would be used to access the web front end. PRTG requires a Windows machine to run.
Logged
Sky + AAISP FTTC ~ 130/34 combined @ 3dB HG612's
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.7 on Ryzen 3 3200

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4956
Re: SNMP
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2020, 06:36:59 PM »

I have not worked professionally in data comms for over a decade.

Preceding that, from late 1980s onwards it became normal for marketing managers, just when we thought a project was understood, to suddenly add a requirement that we must support SNMP.   I hated that as it seemed to be just a tick-box, with no clear definition of what functionality was really wanted.   

I also discovered however that if I simply ignored the requirement, nobody noticed.  Might be different these days. :)
Logged

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1589
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: SNMP
« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2020, 10:17:15 PM »

Very much so. Monitoring has been built around SNMP for a while now.

Other options are, of course, available, but SNMP traps and OID reads are a huge thing.
Logged
WiFi: Nighthawk® AX12 RAX120 - 5Gb uplink
Routing: Ubiquiti UDM Pro - 10Gb uplink
Switching: 2 * Mikrotik CRS305-1G-4S-IN, 10Gb uplinks, various cheap and cheerful
ONT: Huawei 1+1
Exchange: Wakefield
ISP: BT Full Fibre 900. Yes, BT, I know.

aesmith

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 997
Re: SNMP
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2020, 04:29:25 PM »

PRTG is nice, and has a half decent amount of "sensors" available on the free version.

One interface of one device is classed as a sensor, so you could easily burn through 100 in a small office, but for a home user it should be fine.

Is it not one function == one sensor?  For example at home here my 4G router is a "device", with multiple "sensors" for example I have LTE traffic as one sensor another with the LTE signal strength readings.
Logged

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 466
Re: SNMP
« Reply #9 on: March 27, 2020, 09:06:00 AM »

Is it not one function == one sensor?  For example at home here my 4G router is a "device", with multiple "sensors" for example I have LTE traffic as one sensor another with the LTE signal strength readings.

Yes, every single interface on a device counts as a sensor. So 100 is great if you are an SME or home user, but I'd burn through that in a Data Centre in no time :)
Logged
Sky + AAISP FTTC ~ 130/34 combined @ 3dB HG612's
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.7 on Ryzen 3 3200

aesmith

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 997
Re: SNMP
« Reply #10 on: March 27, 2020, 11:02:56 AM »

Sorry, I wasn't really clear.  What I meant is that potentially other functions also add to the sensor count.  So if you're monitoring some IP SLAs, Netflow, etc then the sensor count can easily exceed the number of interfaces.  Conversely if you add a device with 100 interfaces, but only monitor one then that's one sensor, not 100.
Logged

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 466
Re: SNMP
« Reply #11 on: March 27, 2020, 03:24:34 PM »

Ah I see - yes that is likely the case (SLA monitor etc)

And yes, if you only monitor 1 interface - then yes it'll count for 1.

The clever part of it is, when you install it  - it auto discovers and adds everything to the portal :)
Logged
Sky + AAISP FTTC ~ 130/34 combined @ 3dB HG612's
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.7 on Ryzen 3 3200

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1166
    • My Broadband History
Re: SNMP
« Reply #12 on: March 27, 2020, 03:54:35 PM »

What frustrates me is modems/routers seem to NEVER include DSL statistics in their SNMP tables.
Logged
Exchange: INTAKE (ECI DSLAM) Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) ISP/Modems: Zen (Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt) + Plusnet (VMG-3925-B10B) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD

aesmith

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 997
Re: SNMP
« Reply #13 on: March 27, 2020, 04:23:36 PM »

True in some cases.  Billion include a couple of figures, and in fact my old Linksys did as well.  If I remember rightly Billion uses the VDSL MIB even on their ADSL router, but many of the variables are just empty.
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1166
    • My Broadband History
Re: SNMP
« Reply #14 on: March 27, 2020, 06:51:12 PM »

True in some cases.  Billion include a couple of figures, and in fact my old Linksys did as well.  If I remember rightly Billion uses the VDSL MIB even on their ADSL router, but many of the variables are just empty.

Must be very few and far between as I think I've checked every router I ever owned and none had it.

I mean even OpenWRT isn't providing it and it seems Zyxel isn't either.
Logged
Exchange: INTAKE (ECI DSLAM) Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) ISP/Modems: Zen (Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt) + Plusnet (VMG-3925-B10B) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Pages: [1] 2
 

anything