Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: SNMP  (Read 1817 times)

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 468
Re: SNMP
« Reply #15 on: March 31, 2020, 09:12:21 AM »

The trouble is that DSL/VDSL is not typically something you see in enterprises/data centres, so I'd guess that is why there hasn't been much support for it in SNMP.
Logged
Sky + AAISP FTTC ~ 130/34 combined @ 3dB HG612's
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.7 on Ryzen 3 3200

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1655
    • My Broadband History
Re: SNMP
« Reply #16 on: March 31, 2020, 07:34:37 PM »

True, but then why support SNMP on a VDSL router at all if you're not going to include the VDSL stats?

Its even more bizarre than OpenWRT doesn't have them.  In fact, even monitoring the dsl interface doesn't seem to be working right, the number doesn't seem to be incrementing.  I've tried dsl0, dsl0.101 and the bridge, nothing is bringing any results that make sense.

The Zyxel however IS at least showing the data transfer over the DSL interface.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Zen: Home Hub 5A OpenWrt Plusnet: VMG-3925-B10B Three 4G: Hauwei B535-232 Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadbamd Quality Monitors

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6329
Re: SNMP
« Reply #17 on: April 01, 2020, 02:17:28 AM »

The billion modems support(ed) it.  I used to monitor my billion stats in my ukonline days via snmp.  I agree if a modem device has snmp and it doesnt support putting dsl metrics on there, then it seems counter productive.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

aesmith

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1010
Re: SNMP
« Reply #18 on: April 01, 2020, 02:43:44 PM »

Did your Billion support the full MIB?  My 7800DXL only returned a few values from the MIB, for example Noise Margin but not any of the error counts.  Based on some quick tests Cisco supports the standard MIB VDSL2-LINE-MIB.

I think the issue may be more that typical home users don't use SNMP, rather than enterprises not using DSL. 
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6329
Re: SNMP
« Reply #19 on: April 02, 2020, 05:26:06 AM »

I dont think it was absolute full on stats, I monitored sync speed, snrm and I think maybe attenuation also.  The prime purpose at the time was to monitor how well SRA was working.

I have never tried to monitor via SNMP on my newer 8800nl.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

aesmith

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1010
Re: SNMP
« Reply #20 on: April 02, 2020, 12:57:44 PM »

My Zyxel 8924 supports ADSL-LINE-MIB.  I'm not sure how completely it supports it as there are zillions of entries in the MIB so those that it doesn't return values for may be irrelevant. 
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

anything