Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: Had FTTC since 2012 with 79.999 now 53  (Read 1350 times)

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2858
Re: Had FTTC since 2012 with 79.999 now 53
« Reply #15 on: March 08, 2020, 04:56:55 PM »

Thanks


The zyxel I bought that I used in bridge mode with the r7000 had 13 drops from a short test and the 12 minutes it was up at beginning of test there were FEC errors if that has any bearing

None at all.

Every modem will have FEC errors as you are interleaved.
Logged

dontasciime

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Had FTTC since 2012 with 79.999 now 53
« Reply #16 on: March 08, 2020, 05:50:49 PM »

It's been a while since I looked at overall stats in the bigger picture  to take things I thought I knew for granted. I after saying it, thought about and  thought nah forward error correction is fine

As kitz mentioned the error seconds and I then sort of remembered that being more important. I've been a member,lurked  here since 2012 with yesterday being my first ever post here iirc  and used to just read what those with knowledge of it all used to say in the hope some of it stuck but I've not been looking recently and I'm older now with recall issues and like homer all the new stuff pushes the old stuff out

I just know  the zyxel had issues keeping connection 15 disconnects (2 of those zen mentioned to me are def loss of sync) eg 1st me powering off eci modem to plugin zyxel, and me powering off zyxel to plug in 1 of my 3 hg 612 modems, so I assume the other 13 were just  PPPoE drops from the zyxel+netgear r7000 combination when I briefly tried it for at most say 15-30 minutes I  took stats at around 12-15 minute mark of connecting.

« Last Edit: March 08, 2020, 06:07:10 PM by dontasciime »
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6203
Re: Had FTTC since 2012 with 79.999 now 53
« Reply #17 on: March 08, 2020, 07:07:20 PM »

loss of circa 40% headline speed, is not that unusual, it matches up with testing done by the major CP's prior to VDSL been a public product, there is documentation on the internet showing this.

Of course technology exists to mitigate this, but sadly Openreach decided to not deploy it in their commercial areas.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Dave2150

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: Had FTTC since 2012 with 79.999 now 53
« Reply #18 on: March 08, 2020, 09:05:11 PM »

loss of circa 40% headline speed, is not that unusual, it matches up with testing done by the major CP's prior to VDSL been a public product, there is documentation on the internet showing this.

Of course technology exists to mitigate this, but sadly Openreach decided to not deploy it in their commercial areas.

The progress of technology will mean no more xDSL one day. Then no line stats to play around with, just FTTP on or off. Can't wait :)
Logged

dontasciime

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Had FTTC since 2012 with 79.999 now 53
« Reply #19 on: March 08, 2020, 11:19:27 PM »

If only Bt would get rid of the aluminum
Logged

meritez

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: Had FTTC since 2012 with 79.999 now 53
« Reply #20 on: March 09, 2020, 12:45:47 AM »

OR install in 2012 installed hg-612 as well as a new filtered faceplate   with tel and rj111 sockets  (same one still) I do not run any extension only phone in house is on same socket and I replaced the phone recently as well in case old one had issues.  I used a billion 7800n with this for many years until it started having trouble so I replaced it with r7000 with xwrt-vortex firmware and also bought another 7800n new which i have tried as well

Any chance you could remove the filtered faceplate and try a microfilter in the test socket.

Is the filtered faceplate a mk1, mk2 or mk3?


I doubt it's a MK4:


I have seen a lot of filtered faceplates go bad, the communication provider I work for actually removes the filtered faceplates and installs a perfectly decent vdsl microfilter.
It saves asking an end user to unscrew the older filtered faceplate, and a possible SFI charge, as the SFI is only interested from the test socket.
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1151
    • My Broadband History
Re: Had FTTC since 2012 with 79.999 now 53
« Reply #21 on: March 09, 2020, 04:24:03 AM »

If only Bt would get rid of the aluminum

Are you sure you have aluminium?  I know my exchange side is partly aluminium but fairly sure from cabinet to house its all copper.
Once crosstalk comes in, I doubt it makes much difference.
Logged
Exchange: INTAKE (ECI DSLAM) Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) ISP/Modems: Zen (Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt) + Plusnet (VMG-3925-B10B) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD

dontasciime

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Had FTTC since 2012 with 79.999 now 53
« Reply #22 on: March 09, 2020, 09:11:44 AM »

Well supposedly as  according to every engineer that has ever been here the story goes  in the 70s they skimped on the quality when they re did them. I know the line from pole to my house is copper,  pole is only 20 yards from my front door if that.






Logged

dontasciime

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Had FTTC since 2012 with 79.999 now 53
« Reply #23 on: March 09, 2020, 09:13:17 AM »

@ Meritez

It's a Mk1  and I am using the test socket with a new filter currently

« Last Edit: March 09, 2020, 09:24:36 AM by dontasciime »
Logged

dontasciime

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Had FTTC since 2012 with 79.999 now 53
« Reply #24 on: March 09, 2020, 08:35:29 PM »

Those that are using the VMG8324 are you using it as a modem/router or just as a modem with your other hardware.

If you are using it in bridge mode with your router are you ticking the setting to allow wan/lan on the ports and disabling all other features that haven't being auto disabled by putting it into bridge mode like any nat features/ upnp etc or anything that still looks like it is enabled when in bridged mode

I only used the Zyxel VMG1312-B10A for a short period of time(so can't recall where the settings are that I am on about without me plugging it in again) I  and set it up without internet as per settings Zen isp requires so that the device was ready to use when I got fed up waiting for the ECI and hopefully the DLM to step in and say right OK you've been synced at this for 30 days at a lower rate now so lets resync.

Anyways as i said above I ordered a new VMG8324 and am just curious what others are using it in conjunction with etc



« Last Edit: March 09, 2020, 08:38:11 PM by dontasciime »
Logged

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 466
Re: Had FTTC since 2012 with 79.999 now 53
« Reply #25 on: March 10, 2020, 08:03:10 AM »

Same story for me, I think I had 70 when I first had FTTC in 2012, I managed to get it up to 80 for a while, but 67 is now where it tops out on each line.
Logged
Sky + AAISP FTTC ~ 130/34 combined @ 3dB HG612's
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.7 on Ryzen 3 3200

PhilipD

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 537
Re: Had FTTC since 2012 with 79.999 now 53
« Reply #26 on: March 10, 2020, 08:39:26 AM »

Hi

Same thing happened here, at two different addresses in completely different cities, started off good and slowly got worse over time, managed to just maintain 80/20 in my current address before switching to FTTP.

The first address I was second on the cabinet, and SNR was about 13db I think from memory at 80/20, but in stages stepped down and I ended up sync'ing just under 80 before I moved house, the dslchecker also dropped as well putting max attainable at around 70 from 80. 

My current address VDSL had been around for a number of years before I moved in so I was kind of hoping less of a change over time, started off at 11db and ended up around 6-7db after 3 years before I moved to FTTP. During an area wide power cut at my current address with me on a UPS and I guess everyone else thrown off line, SNR jumped to 15db, so cross talk was accounting for a 50% drop in margin.

I always say with xDSL is it only gets worse over time, until you can jump to a different technology and if that is xDSL as well you start the downward spiral again.

Regards

Phil
Logged

dontasciime

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Had FTTC since 2012 with 79.999 now 53
« Reply #27 on: March 10, 2020, 11:31:42 AM »

So with my SNR now what should I be able to achieve.

Low on non impacted adsl checker indicates 61.8

Currently synced at 53483

Is it 63 for the lines stats I posted from the Zyxel
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1151
    • My Broadband History
Re: Had FTTC since 2012 with 79.999 now 53
« Reply #28 on: March 11, 2020, 03:01:19 AM »

With your SNR now on an ECI cabinet, you're maxed out.
Even on a Huawei cabinet, it wouldn't aim for 3dM SNRm unless it was a very stable line.
Logged
Exchange: INTAKE (ECI DSLAM) Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) ISP/Modems: Zen (Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt) + Plusnet (VMG-3925-B10B) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD

dontasciime

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Had FTTC since 2012 with 79.999 now 53
« Reply #29 on: March 11, 2020, 10:05:43 AM »

Why are Zen insisting when they check that there is no crosstalk?

and if the fallback isn't being reached is that cause for SFI2 to do anything

What about the possibility that when OR were in my street for 5 days (diff engineer each time)  in  a row or even previously swapped over the line to another address in my street (or is this just frustration paranoia)
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3
 

anything