Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: A question about banding  (Read 764 times)

toulouse

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 579
  • I like cheesecake !!!
A question about banding
« on: February 13, 2020, 09:38:03 AM »

Hello Kitizens,
I was just wondering if it's possible that my line has been banded. The reason for asking is that no matter how many times, or at what time of day that I reboot my router (A ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A), my downstream connection speed remains at 32400. The upstream speed does seem to vary, but is usually around the 56xx - 57xx mark, not sure if this is related.

If I have been 'banded' is there anything that I can do to remove the banding ?

TIA

toulouse

Logged
Utility Warehouse (via TalkTalk)
FTTC 40/10
ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A
ECI (approx 750 metres)

People tell me that I ought to get out more. But in the words of the great Homer J Simpson, "Yeah, but what ya gonna do ?"

mofa2020

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 234
Re: A question about banding
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2020, 10:08:49 AM »

Would you post line stats?
Logged

tubaman

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6778
Re: A question about banding
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2020, 10:16:41 AM »

Stats would be useful, but if your connection speed is always exactly the same then I'd say you are banded.
 :(
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

licquorice

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 775
Re: A question about banding
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2020, 10:21:37 AM »

32400 is definitely banded.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3317
Re: A question about banding
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2020, 02:50:04 PM »

32400 is definitely banded.

This. 100%

Ask your ISP for a DLM reset.
Logged
BT FTTP 160/30 - BQM - speed test

licquorice

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 775
Re: A question about banding
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2020, 03:33:15 PM »

Get the underlying fault that caused the banding fixed first though or it will just happen again.
Logged

toulouse

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 579
  • I like cheesecake !!!
Re: A question about banding
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2020, 04:20:25 PM »

Ok, thanks for all of the replies and suggestions.

I did have a problem recently with a VERY noisy phone line, which resulted in 3 separate Openreach engineer visits, where they gradually replaced all my wiring from the buildings Distribution Point to my Master Socket and replaced it with a new model 5C. I live in a building containing 12 flats. The second engineer thought that he had found something at the street cabinet and rectified that, but he wasn't totally happy with the outcome that had been achieved. He then returned the following day and did something (finding a spare pair) in the underground manhole adjacent to my building. After all of these visits the noisy phone line seems to have disappeared, and I believe that a DLM reset was carried out at the end of the above work. This all happened around July / August last year.

Now, yesterday, I tried putting an Ebay VMG1312-B10A on to see if that would connect at a different rate, but I couldn't get it set up properly, so I have now reverted to my 8924-B10A, which has connected with the following stats.

DSLAM type / SW version IFTN:0xb206(178.6) / v0xb206
VDSL Profile 17a
Down                                                  Up
24.5                    Line attenuation        0.0
32400                 Connection speed      5279
6.3                     SNR margin               6.1
0.9                     Power                       0.8
687                    Interleave depth        1
3.5                     INP:                         0

I took note of the stats prior to introducing the VMG1312-B10A yesterday, and they were almost identical to the above apart from
24.6                   Line attenuation        0.0
32400                Connection speed       5648
4.8                     SNR margin              6.1
1.0                     Power                        0.9
1039                   Interleave depth        1
3.5                     INP:                          0

I'll try the ISP DLM reset approach, as licquorice says the underlying fault (whatever that is) needs to be resolved. Any suggestions on what the fault might be.
 
Logged
Utility Warehouse (via TalkTalk)
FTTC 40/10
ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A
ECI (approx 750 metres)

People tell me that I ought to get out more. But in the words of the great Homer J Simpson, "Yeah, but what ya gonna do ?"

licquorice

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 775
Re: A question about banding
« Reply #7 on: February 13, 2020, 04:37:28 PM »

If the noisy phone line has cleared, I suspect the fault has been fixed but a DLM reset wasn't carried out and the banding has stuck. If the phone is still noisy an Openreach visit will be necessary to find the fault.
Logged

mofa2020

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 234
Re: A question about banding
« Reply #8 on: February 13, 2020, 05:08:20 PM »

So from around July / August last year it is the same sync. rate 32.4mbps, am I right?
Logged

toulouse

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 579
  • I like cheesecake !!!
Re: A question about banding
« Reply #9 on: February 13, 2020, 05:16:12 PM »

@mofa2020, yes I think that's pretty much the size of it. I do have DSLSTATS for the period, but I haven't set up the viewing properly yet. Just not enough hours in the day for me. I will however take a closer look and see when the connection speed settled at 32400
Logged
Utility Warehouse (via TalkTalk)
FTTC 40/10
ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A
ECI (approx 750 metres)

People tell me that I ought to get out more. But in the words of the great Homer J Simpson, "Yeah, but what ya gonna do ?"

mofa2020

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 234
Re: A question about banding
« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2020, 05:41:07 PM »

ECI cabinets has no g.inp and the interleave is applied on download side only which the DLM would apply when the line was faulty so really it appears that it is stuck and DLM reset was not done I guess, either a DLM reset or keeping the router on 24/7 (but may take time) would fix things but sometimes the reset would be hard to get done unless there is a fault that is fixed on the line (which was the case last year but for some reason probably did not happen).
Logged

toulouse

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 579
  • I like cheesecake !!!
Re: A question about banding
« Reply #11 on: February 14, 2020, 12:33:37 PM »

Hello,
I've managed to track down when my line dropped to a DS connection speed of 32400 with a US speed of 5662. At around 4:44am on 2nd November 2019 the line dropped from 34875 / 5637. I'm sure that it wasn't anything that I did.

My DS speed has been 32400 since that time, although the US speed does seem to fluctuate.

I have contacted my ISP, and am awaiting their response.

Thanks for all the input so far.
Logged
Utility Warehouse (via TalkTalk)
FTTC 40/10
ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A
ECI (approx 750 metres)

People tell me that I ought to get out more. But in the words of the great Homer J Simpson, "Yeah, but what ya gonna do ?"
 

anything