Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: BT VOIP number not recognzied on DSL checker  (Read 541 times)

psychopomp1

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 266
BT VOIP number not recognzied on DSL checker
« on: February 07, 2020, 02:35:42 PM »

Took out FTTP 330/50 through BT Business last Nov and they issued me with a brand new phone number through their Digital Voice platform (VOIP based), as they no longer offer copper based voice services on FTTP, even if you have a dual copper & fibre feed.

Anyhoo I've noticed BT's own checker (dslchecker.bt.com) doesn't recognize my BT VOIP number. Its not a biggie (I never use the VOIP handset) but is it simply a case that BT haven't updated their systems to recognize VOIP numbers?

Cheers

Logged


FTTP 330/50

licquorice

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 733
Re: BT VOIP number not recognzied on DSL checker
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2020, 02:52:36 PM »

Surely by definition a VOIP number doesn't exist physically so it would be pointless.
Logged

psychopomp1

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 266
Re: BT VOIP number not recognzied on DSL checker
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2020, 03:13:48 PM »

Surely by definition a VOIP number doesn't exist physically so it would be pointless.

But doesn't the VOIP number have to be linked to an address? (for emergency purposes etc)

Logged


FTTP 330/50

licquorice

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 733
Re: BT VOIP number not recognzied on DSL checker
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2020, 03:34:52 PM »

No idea, can't see why its just a virtual number as far as I'm aware.
Logged

meritez

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: BT VOIP number not recognzied on DSL checker
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2020, 06:15:08 PM »

But doesn't the VOIP number have to be linked to an address? (for emergency purposes etc)

yes a VoIP number needs to be registered to an address, OFCOM requirement for emergency services to get to the correct address.

But as VoIP is virtual, have you tried using your ONT reference number on the checker?
Logged

licquorice

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 733
Re: BT VOIP number not recognzied on DSL checker
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2020, 07:13:54 PM »

yes a VoIP number needs to be registered to an address, OFCOM requirement for emergency services to get to the correct address.

Seems odd as I presume you can use a VOIP number from anywhere with an internet connection, or am I mistaken?
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2866
Re: BT VOIP number not recognzied on DSL checker
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2020, 10:02:16 PM »

Seems odd as I presume you can use a VOIP number from anywhere with an internet connection, or am I mistaken?

As with every fixed landline number, every contract mobile number and every registered PAYG mobile number, any given address is available to the emergency services.

You can use a mobile phone from anywhere with a mast but they still have access to your registered billing address.

If I make a late night 999 call from my mobile and get cut off halfway through the call a police officer well likely chap the door that mobile is registered to, regardless of where in the country the call was made.

Seems sensible to me, especially if every "landline" is going to be VOIP to continue having a fixed registered address linked to a number.

As for VOIP numbers not providing results on the BT Wholesale checker, there's still the address option.
I don't imagine it's their biggest priority.
Logged

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1589
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: BT VOIP number not recognzied on DSL checker
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2020, 02:46:48 PM »

That checker can only give a response on numbers provided via WLR / Wholesale Line Rental. Maybe also FVA but I am not sure on that one.

BT Digital Voice is neither.
Logged
WiFi: Nighthawk® AX12 RAX120 - 5Gb uplink
Routing: Ubiquiti UDM Pro - 10Gb uplink
Switching: 2 * Mikrotik CRS305-1G-4S-IN, 10Gb uplinks, various cheap and cheerful
ONT: Huawei 1+1
Exchange: Wakefield
ISP: BT Full Fibre 900. Yes, BT, I know.

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1167
    • My Broadband History
Re: BT VOIP number not recognzied on DSL checker
« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2020, 02:59:05 PM »

Makes sense as in the context of that checker, the number is just an identifier for a physical line.

As VoIP is not a physical entity, it would make no sense to use it as an identifier for a physical line.
Logged
Exchange: INTAKE (ECI DSLAM) Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) ISP/Modems: Zen (Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt) + Plusnet (VMG-3925-B10B) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD