Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: AA and G.Fast  (Read 705 times)

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8682
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
AA and G.Fast
« on: February 02, 2020, 03:47:59 AM »

Does AA do G.Fast ?
Logged

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1593
Re: AA and G.Fast
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2020, 09:33:31 AM »

We offer both the slower ADSL services and the faster VDSL (fibre to the cabinet) services, FTTP and G.FAST services where available.
...
** Please contact our sales team to order G.Fast as it is not on our order form yet.
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1591
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: AA and G.Fast
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2020, 03:24:57 PM »

AA offer G.fast at 160 Mb. They'll sell you the 330 if you want the higher upload speed but you'll be paying more and will only get 160 down.

They can't offer 330 as they're still using gigabit-only Firebricks internally.
Logged
WiFi: Nighthawk® AX12 RAX120 - 5Gb uplink
Routing: Ubiquiti UDM Pro - 10Gb uplink
Switching: 2 * Mikrotik CRS305-1G-4S-IN, 10Gb uplinks, various cheap and cheerful
ONT: Huawei 1+1
Exchange: Wakefield
ISP: BT Full Fibre 900. Yes, BT, I know.

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 703
Re: AA and G.Fast
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2020, 04:16:18 PM »

They can't offer 330 as they're still using gigabit-only Firebricks internally.
I didn't realise that was the reason. The more you know!
« Last Edit: February 02, 2020, 05:01:51 PM by burakkucat »
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1206
    • My Broadband History
Re: AA and G.Fast
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2020, 07:06:31 PM »

I guess it makes sense, they are an ISP aiming at quality over quantity, considering their bandwidth prices.

How do they handle the FTTP though, same limitation?
Logged
Exchange: INTAKE (ECI DSLAM) Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) ISP/Modems: Zen (Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt) + Plusnet (VMG-3925-B10B) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8682
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: AA and G.Fast
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2020, 07:15:34 PM »

They really need to fix the 330 thing asap
Logged

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1591
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: AA and G.Fast
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2020, 11:26:33 AM »

Same limitation, Alex.
Logged
WiFi: Nighthawk® AX12 RAX120 - 5Gb uplink
Routing: Ubiquiti UDM Pro - 10Gb uplink
Switching: 2 * Mikrotik CRS305-1G-4S-IN, 10Gb uplinks, various cheap and cheerful
ONT: Huawei 1+1
Exchange: Wakefield
ISP: BT Full Fibre 900. Yes, BT, I know.

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1184
Re: AA and G.Fast
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2020, 11:47:37 AM »

They really need to fix the 330 thing asap

AAISP told me few weeks ago they have no plan for 330/50. They only offer 160/30 and 160/50 (£10 extra a month)
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2882
Re: AA and G.Fast
« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2020, 12:35:38 PM »

Quote from: RevK
But of late we have some CISCO switches in the A&A network. I sort of swore I would never use anything but FireBrick, but we have not got 10Gb/s FireBrick switches yet, so we had to get them. I wish we had FireBrick 10Gb/s switches to be honest :-)

They are actually pretty good. I will say one thing for CISCO, they can make some impressive hardware. Some fast switches and fast ASICs in their routers. We are not a patch on that. Our hardware is fast but is designed to do software routing very fast. So we are there at a few Gb/s, and CISCO are there with boxes that do way way more. We're getting there - the 10Gb/s+ box is on the drawing board, obviously. But we will never manage anything like CISCO's top end, well, probably not. We can hope.

That was RevK in August 2017.
So don't hold your breath for faster download speeds on AA if the Firebrick's are still the bottleneck.
Logged

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1591
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: AA and G.Fast
« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2020, 02:54:11 PM »

While they continue terminating subscribers on https://www.firebrick.co.uk/fb6000/fb6202-lns/ they're in for bottlenecks.

Weaver's lines will be terminating on an FB6202 LNS and the mobile on a 6602 GGSN.

I presume 10G is on the way soon, though imagine it's being delayed by perfectionism and some OCD as you can deliver a 10G LNS using commodity hardware that fits into a 1 RU package and serves 10,000 subscribers happily, let alone using the 'bespoke' hardware in the FireBrick.

I do not think A&A have any interest in that segment of the market still. A VM running on a modern CPU with a decent NIC can route 10G with a single core taking most of the load. With loads of PPPoE tunnels to terminate that load can be more easily parallelised across multiple cores. Most of the extra load with PPPoE is encapsulation and of course the RAM requirements. RAM is cheap and modules are small.

A Lanner box the size of a cigar box, commodity hardware, can push a gigabit - http://www.lannerinc.com/products/x86-network-appliances/desktop/

Switches? https://mikrotik.com/product/crs309_1g_8s_in - 160 Gbps non-blocking throughput via 8 SFP+ ports and will fit on your desk.

A&A do their own thing. Always have, always will.
Logged
WiFi: Nighthawk® AX12 RAX120 - 5Gb uplink
Routing: Ubiquiti UDM Pro - 10Gb uplink
Switching: 2 * Mikrotik CRS305-1G-4S-IN, 10Gb uplinks, various cheap and cheerful
ONT: Huawei 1+1
Exchange: Wakefield
ISP: BT Full Fibre 900. Yes, BT, I know.

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 466
Re: AA and G.Fast
« Reply #10 on: February 03, 2020, 05:51:14 PM »

You do get what you pay for. Cisco equipment is expensive, but, it's bloody good. CarlT may have different opinions as he works in a different space in networking to me.
Logged
Sky + AAISP FTTC ~ 130/34 combined @ 3dB HG612's
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.7 on Ryzen 3 3200

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1184
Re: AA and G.Fast
« Reply #11 on: February 03, 2020, 05:53:09 PM »

I never liked AAISP. Because they are very expensive and 300GB isn't enough (don't understand they will never do unlimited)
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8682
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: AA and G.Fast
« Reply #12 on: February 03, 2020, 06:06:02 PM »

If they already have CISCO kit, why not use that for the 330Mbps customers to terminate their links? Or have I missed some point?
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2882
Re: AA and G.Fast
« Reply #13 on: February 03, 2020, 06:56:35 PM »

I never liked AAISP. Because they are very expensive and 300GB isn't enough (don't understand they will never do unlimited)

They do 2TB packages.

You use nowhere near 2TB a month so no idea why you need unlimited data.

Perhaps the same reason as you used nowhere near 80Mb/s but upgraded to more than double that anyway.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6203
Re: AA and G.Fast
« Reply #14 on: February 03, 2020, 07:27:55 PM »

I never liked AAISP. Because they are very expensive and 300GB isn't enough (don't understand they will never do unlimited)

The limit is to protect themselves (and other customers) from serial abusers of bandwidth.

They set the limit high enough so that normal people wont even have to worry about hitting.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE
Pages: [1] 2