Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: CAT6 UTP from NID to Splitter question  (Read 1747 times)

aossama

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
CAT6 UTP from NID to Splitter question
« on: January 22, 2020, 01:12:11 PM »

Hey guys,

First post on kitz.   ::)

I am located in Egypt, and have been following and learning a lot about xDSL and FTTC (especially from kitz, so big thanks to the community here) which is becoming more popular over here. I am not sure if my line is on a FTTCab or FTTC. However I have a ~30 meter CAT6 F/UTP cable directly connected from the NID to the splitter, and from the splitter to the modem. That's because I wanted a high quality wiring in the part of the last mile which at least I can control.

My line is suffering from noise on the voice channel, which is affecting the DSL us/ds channels (fighting like everyone else with the telco/exchange to fix it     :D).

So my question is; could the other 3 unused pairs of the UTP cable affect the utilized pair? I am thinking may be there is some sort of cross talk between the pairs which is causing the noise.

Thanks in advance.
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2271
    • My Broadband History
Re: CAT6 UTP from NID to Splitter question
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2020, 01:22:16 PM »

Is there any way you can disconnect your cable and hook a telephone up instead, just to see if the noise is still there?  Much easier than guessing.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2x Home Hub 5A OpenWrt:  1x Zen,1x Plusnet Hauwei B535-232: Voxi 4G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors & Zen Referral

aossama

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: CAT6 UTP from NID to Splitter question
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2020, 01:31:49 PM »

Unfortunately I cannot hook up a phone directly to port in the NID. I have to ask for an engineer/technician to do so.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32393
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: CAT6 UTP from NID to Splitter question
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2020, 06:11:03 PM »

So my question is; could the other 3 unused pairs of the UTP cable affect the utilized pair? I am thinking may be there is some sort of cross talk between the pairs which is causing the noise.

No. Crosstalk can only occur between pairs that are in use. As the other three pairs of the Cat6 cable are not in use there cannot possibly be any crosstalk.

And while I think about it: Welcome to the Kitz forum.  :)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2271
    • My Broadband History
Re: CAT6 UTP from NID to Splitter question
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2020, 06:39:15 PM »

No. Crosstalk can only occur between pairs that are in use. As the other three pairs of the Cat6 cable are not in use there cannot possibly be any crosstalk.

And while I think about it: Welcome to the Kitz forum.  :)

Crosstalk no, but they can act as antennas picking up stray RF.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2x Home Hub 5A OpenWrt:  1x Zen,1x Plusnet Hauwei B535-232: Voxi 4G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors & Zen Referral

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32393
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: CAT6 UTP from NID to Splitter question
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2020, 06:44:15 PM »

Crosstalk no, but they can act as antennas picking up stray RF.

No, not if they are unconnected.  :no:
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

mofa2020

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 234
Re: CAT6 UTP from NID to Splitter question
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2020, 11:08:35 AM »

But does it make a difference between using CAT6 or normal (copper 2 wires=1 Pair) phone cable?
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32393
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: CAT6 UTP from NID to Splitter question
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2020, 06:50:19 PM »

If the wire gauge, wire type, twists per unit length, etc, are all identical then there will be no difference between the two cables.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
 

anything