Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Plusnet router replacement recommendations please  (Read 6940 times)

noseypete

Plusnet router replacement recommendations please
« on: January 27, 2020, 01:00:37 PM »

Hi all,

Another noob request for recommendations for a modem/router setup, I'm afraid!

Current situation:

I'm on Plusnet Business FTTC 80/20 and have been using the Plusnet supplied router for the last year. In that time, I've burnt through two of them because they overheated when transferring files between machines on my network. Despite this, I get a fairly reliable ~67 meg down and ~18 up.

I work from home, have 2 desktop PCs and around 15 wireless laptops/devices. I'm a developer and thus fairly techy but am relatively inexperienced with routers, modems and the like.

I would prefer an all in one modem/router/access point for ease, but am open to using separate units if it gives me markedly better performance at a reasonable cost.

Requirements for me are:

- Reliability. I want this thing to work and keep working.
- Wireless speed. If I'm investing now, I'd prefer to buy something with the latest AC standards - if it's worth it?
- Wireless coverage. I'm in a small terraced house and currently have an extender working at the back of the house - this works fine for me. The router is located in my office where the majority of my devices are. But I still want decent signal coverage.
- Gigabit LAN ports.
- Budget up to £175 ish, but don't want to spunk a load of money if it's not necessary.

Nice to haves:

- VPN capability
- USB printer sharing, possibly additon of NAS (USB 3.0 preferred for that for speed)
- 3G/4G failover
- A decent GUI

Questions:

- Separate modem and router or all in one?
- Do I need to tweak modem settings? Will I see a benefit?