Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: is it my line earthed  (Read 3283 times)

neil

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 250
is it my line earthed
« on: January 25, 2020, 03:25:05 PM »

Hi,
I am getting strange noise in my phone line. when i press 1 i hear humming noise. Sometimes it is there for few seconds then gone and back again. I want to ask is my line earthed somewhere? and today phone was not ringing properly. Not a complete ring just a ring for a fraction of second. Is it possible to check if line is earthed or not in telnet data?
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5354
Re: is it my line earthed
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2020, 03:38:08 PM »

Sounds like an 'Earth' condition from your description ??

Make sure you're in the master sockets - test socket .... and ring your CP/ISP and get them to test it. Your phone may also be faulty, so I'd try a friend/neighbours phone, just to rule it out.

Logged

neil

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 250
Re: is it my line earthed
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2020, 03:39:17 PM »

Sounds like an 'Earth' condition from your description ??

Make sure you're in the master sockets - test socket .... and ring your CP/ISP and get them to test it. Your phone may also be faulty, so I'd try a friend/neighbours phone, just to rule it out.
is it possible to check it in telnet data of modem using dslstats?
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5354
Re: is it my line earthed
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2020, 03:44:06 PM »

Not my forte, i'm afraid ... but I wouldn't have thought so ??

The modem is simply downloading and uploading data, so it will definitely show corruption of data if there is a fault on the circuit, but not what kind of fault it is ??

Only a remote test by the ISP/CP can do this.
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2882
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: is it my line earthed
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2020, 03:47:08 PM »

My line has always had a bit of a hum in the background, I did mention it once and was told they couldn't hear anything and no fault detected :/

Should the line be absolutely silent?
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) 2xHome Hub 5A (OpenWRT) on Zen/Plusnet, 1xHauwei B535-232 on Voxi 4G, 1xHauwei H122-373 on Three 5G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: nanoHD (OpenWRT) + Honor Router 3
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

licquorice

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 833
Re: is it my line earthed
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2020, 03:48:39 PM »

Yes
Logged

neil

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 250
Re: is it my line earthed
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2020, 03:53:56 PM »

Not my forte, i'm afraid ... but I wouldn't have thought so ??

The modem is simply downloading and uploading data, so it will definitely show corruption of data if there is a fault on the circuit, but not what kind of fault it is ??

Only a remote test by the ISP/CP can do this.
no errors of any kind on my line. After modem reboot an hour ago it is working fine
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5354
Re: is it my line earthed
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2020, 04:00:36 PM »

Could just be your phone then, bud ??

Logical elimination process ... over to you to apply.  ;D ;D
Logged

neil

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 250
Re: is it my line earthed
« Reply #8 on: January 25, 2020, 04:21:56 PM »

Could just be your phone then, bud ??

Logical elimination process ... over to you to apply.  ;D ;D
i tested both phones in my phone plug unplug in both i hear this noise let me post here a audio file
Logged

neil

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 250
Re: is it my line earthed
« Reply #9 on: January 25, 2020, 04:51:51 PM »

hmm not allowed to upload it here how i can share it 8 sec long audio file
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5354
Re: is it my line earthed
« Reply #10 on: January 25, 2020, 04:59:29 PM »

I'll be honest, mate ... I wouldn't spend time trying to do so.

IF your line is audibly noisy in the test socket, and you've ruled out your own equipment ... ring your provider ... now.  ;) :)
Logged

neil

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 250
Re: is it my line earthed
« Reply #11 on: January 25, 2020, 05:11:36 PM »

I'll be honest, mate ... I wouldn't spend time trying to do so.

IF your line is audibly noisy in the test socket, and you've ruled out your own equipment ... ring your provider ... now.  ;) :)
i reported it once before and my lineman came after checking he said everything is fine but i said there is noise he said it is because of dsl
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5354
Re: is it my line earthed
« Reply #12 on: January 25, 2020, 05:18:04 PM »

i reported it once before and my lineman came after checking he said everything is fine but i said there is noise he said it is because of dsl

Not being on-site, means it's all guess-work for us.

Do you have extension wiring (other sockets) ??, are they used ?? Do you have filters plugged into each socket ??

Logged

neil

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 250
Re: is it my line earthed
« Reply #13 on: January 25, 2020, 05:30:18 PM »

Not being on-site, means it's all guess-work for us.

Do you have extension wiring (other sockets) ??, are they used ?? Do you have filters plugged into each socket ??
i am not from uk so no master socket here i just connected main telephone drop wire with my cat6 cable via butt connectors then it is connected with splitter one cable going into modem and one cable to telephone double socket and 2 phone sets are connected with it
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5354
Re: is it my line earthed
« Reply #14 on: January 25, 2020, 07:53:01 PM »

Ah right .... wasn't aware you were from different shores ??.

Can you put a photo of the set up on, please ... I can't quite get my head around the description you mention ??
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

anything