Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Hypothetical Question  (Read 9476 times)

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 40186
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Hypothetical Question
« Reply #15 on: July 27, 2008, 03:43:32 PM »

Where's everyone gone? The place suddenly emptied. :lol:
Logged
  Eric

Yorkie

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1432
  • I'm working on my warm and fluffy side
Re: Hypothetical Question
« Reply #16 on: July 28, 2008, 03:49:28 PM »

Its okay you can all come out of hiding now, I'm connected wirelessly not without a little help from the nice man at Namesco (sorry was that  spam), couldn't remember account password.

Just one little question, I'm on a 5g cap per month which is sufficient for my needs, and use NetMeter to monitor my dowload usage, it doesn't work with wireless, is there anything that does.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32659
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Hypothetical Question
« Reply #17 on: July 28, 2008, 03:58:46 PM »

It should do..   I dont have netmeter on this particular machine Im on right now but its something like (guessing)

Go to options
General tab
then at the bottom theres something that should say something like
"Network interface to monitor"
There should be a drop down box
Either select your wireless card - or set it to all interfaces.

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Yorkie

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1432
  • I'm working on my warm and fluffy side
Re: Hypothetical Question
« Reply #18 on: July 28, 2008, 04:09:07 PM »

Silly me, never thought to look in options and change connection setting. Thanks Kitz, I'm a happy but hungry bunny now.
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Hypothetical Question
« Reply #19 on: July 28, 2008, 04:11:45 PM »

Just to add my pennies-worth.

Don't be surprised when using the wireless connection of the slowness if copying files or trying to view movies.
Although I guess with a 5GB limit you do not download large files so that should not be a problem.

(If I copy a 4GB file from one PC to the other using a wired connection it takes approx 6 minutes.
To copy the same file with a wireless connection can take 2 hours)
Logged

Yorkie

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1432
  • I'm working on my warm and fluffy side
Re: Hypothetical Question
« Reply #20 on: July 30, 2008, 04:35:14 PM »

I'm back, bet you never noticed I'd gone. As you may have guessed from other posts I've now moved me and lappy upstairs. Wireless still works and at quite a good speed, well for me 'cos as you know I have dodgy wiring.

I was expecting a slight drop in speed, but I think it may have gone up slightly it certainly appears to be more consistent.

Did I mention it was a Netgear, hardest part was fitting the feet, definitely had a cockle first two attempts. ;D
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Hypothetical Question
« Reply #21 on: July 30, 2008, 11:07:06 PM »

>> Did I mention it was a Netgear, hardest part was fitting the feet

If that is the feet to make it stand upright instead of lying flat, then just remember that doing that concentrates all of the heat to the top of the router into one place.
At least lying flat the heat is dissipated more evenly.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32659
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Hypothetical Question
« Reply #22 on: August 01, 2008, 12:18:19 AM »

I'm currently "playing" with a Netgear, and yes it gets very hot compared to some other routers particularly underneath.

Your post Yorkie has reminded me and Ive just this minute clipped the feet on to see if makes any difference.
(Makes a change to having the ST propped upside down for a similar reason  :lol: )

Well done Yorkie for getting it all sorted  :thumbs:
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker
Pages: 1 [2]
 

anything