Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Issue  (Read 306 times)

Sonac

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Issue
« on: January 17, 2020, 05:56:35 PM »

I just got my ZyXEL VMG 1312-B10A and flashed the better firmware. It hooks to my internet fine.
Only problem is it keeps rebooting every few minutes for no reason. I have no idea why.

After installing the firmware, I just put it into bridge mode. Connected one ethernet cable in port 4 to my router and one to my switch for accessing it.

The only thing I've touched is the password, and then setting it to bridge mode and vlan to 101. Haven't touched any other settings. Oh and I turned wireless off.

Am I doing something wrong? Thanks
« Last Edit: January 17, 2020, 06:23:11 PM by Sonac »
Logged
ISP: BT Unlimited Superfast Fibre 2 - 78/18 [50/15 actual] (Huawei 288 cab)
Modem: ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A (BT NTE5C + MK4 Plate)
Router: Ubiquity Edgerouter X

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 28541
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Issue
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2020, 06:32:39 PM »

Only problem is it keeps rebooting every few minutes for no reason. I have no idea why.

Possibilities are that --
  • the VMG1312-B10A is faulty
  • the PSU is faulty
  • the original PSU has been substituted with one of a lower power rating
  • something else is occurring
Quote
After installing the firmware, I just put it into bridge mode. Connected one ethernet cable in port 4 to my router and one to my switch for accessing it.

There's nothing wrong with selecting the LAN4 port for the Ethernet link to your router but I am curious as to why you made that decision. Which of the other three LAN ports are you using to provide device access from your separate switch? Have you tried without that Ethernet patch cable in place?

Do you know the supervisor password for the VMG1312-B10A? Have you cleared its ROM-D of any ISP/CP customisations?
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Alex Atkin UK

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 713
    • My Broadband History
Re: ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Issue
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2020, 06:54:43 PM »

the original PSU has been substituted with one of a lower power rating

That's exactly what happened with one of my VMG8925 I bought off eBay.  I replaced the PSU with one of the correct rating and it was stable after that, so long as I didn't enable WiFi which seems dodgy on the firmware I was using.
Logged
Router: i5-7200U appliance running pfSense.
Modems: 2x BT Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt 19.07.1
ISPs: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2 + Plusnet Unlimited Fibre Extra.

Sonac

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Issue
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2020, 06:55:24 PM »

I don't have a reason for using ethernet port 4. It's just the one I plugged it into first.
I have my router hooked to eth4 and my patch cable for managing the modem hooked to eth3.

Power adaptor is 12v 1.25A from stonetronics. So definitely replaced it seems. Apparently the default one is 1A so it should be fine. However i'll try the one from my Openreach modem later which is the same amperage.

I assumed that when I flashed the new firmware it would clear all the settings out of it since it factory resets it.

When it does connect my internet is perfectly fine. Speed is great etc. Everything is operating normally.
After about 5 minutes of use it just decides to reboot its self.

There is a setting under Broadband -> Ethernet WAN. It makes eth4 become a WAN port rather than LAN. Should I do that?
« Last Edit: January 17, 2020, 07:02:38 PM by Sonac »
Logged
ISP: BT Unlimited Superfast Fibre 2 - 78/18 [50/15 actual] (Huawei 288 cab)
Modem: ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A (BT NTE5C + MK4 Plate)
Router: Ubiquity Edgerouter X

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 28541
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Issue
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2020, 07:05:59 PM »

I don't have a reason for using ethernet port 4. It's just the one I plugged it into first.
I have my router hooked to eth4 and my patch cable for managing the modem hooked to eth3.

Thanks for clarifying. (Kittehs are naturally curious.)

Quote
Power adaptor is 12v 1.25A from stonetronics. So definitely replaced it seems.

Take a look at the label on the underside of the VMG1312-B10A and see what it shows with regards to the maximum current drawn or the power rating. I would be inclined to use a PSU capable of supplying 12V DC at up to 2A, minimum.

Quote
I assumed that when I flashed the new firmware it would clear all the settings out of it since it factory resets it.

Yes, it does. However if the ISP/CP's customisations are still present (in the ROM-D) they will still be applied at every (re-)boot.

Quote
After about 5 minutes of use it just decides to reboot its self.

I'm getting definite "tingles in the whiskers" with regards to the PSU.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Sonac

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Issue
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2020, 07:10:45 PM »

I'll change the supply then. I have loads.
Also I just read the setup guide for bridge mode on here and found a step where I set up a bridge group and assign one port as the bridge port. I set it to 4 now. I'll test again later with a different supply and see what happens.

Not really sure how to clear out ROM-D. But I assume the settings are fine as my internet does work though it. I did use a paperclip and do a factory reset after the flash though. Perhaps that cleared it.

EDIT: I found the supply for my BT Homehub which I know works fine. Its 1500mA as apposed to my current 1250mA supply. I'll give it a run tonight!


Thanks for the suggestions
« Last Edit: January 17, 2020, 07:30:56 PM by Sonac »
Logged
ISP: BT Unlimited Superfast Fibre 2 - 78/18 [50/15 actual] (Huawei 288 cab)
Modem: ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A (BT NTE5C + MK4 Plate)
Router: Ubiquity Edgerouter X

Sonac

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Issue
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2020, 08:59:57 PM »

So far so good with the new power adaptor. Uptime is over 1hr now and no reboots. Download speed seems about 2mbps better than with the Huawei unit I was using before. But that could be down to resyncing at a higher level. I'll leave my line alone for at least 10 days now, I'm sure DLM isn't happy with the constant resyncs.

Thanks for the info burakkucat and Alex Atkin UK!

Status: Showtime
Last Retrain Reason:    8000
Last initialization procedure status:   0
Max:    Upstream rate = 14835 Kbps, Downstream rate = 61523 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 14835 Kbps, Downstream rate = 59712 Kbps
Bearer: 1, Upstream rate = 0 Kbps, Downstream rate = 0 Kbps
Link Power State:       L0
Mode:                   VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile:          Profile 17a
TPS-TC:                 PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis:                U:ON /D:ON
Line Status:            No Defect
Training Status:        Showtime


Max downstream is jumping around a lot. 60,000 average with peaks of 61700 and then down to 59700 sometimes. On the Huawei it was solidly 58600 ish.
« Last Edit: January 17, 2020, 09:09:42 PM by Sonac »
Logged
ISP: BT Unlimited Superfast Fibre 2 - 78/18 [50/15 actual] (Huawei 288 cab)
Modem: ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A (BT NTE5C + MK4 Plate)
Router: Ubiquity Edgerouter X

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 28541
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Issue
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2020, 09:15:16 PM »

The "Max:" rate line is just an approximation of what the circuit would be capable of achieving at that particular moment in time. It mirrors the change in the SNR for each of the US & DS bands.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Sonac

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Issue
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2020, 10:00:10 PM »

The "Max:" rate line is just an approximation of what the circuit would be capable of achieving at that particular moment in time. It mirrors the change in the SNR for each of the US & DS bands.

Currently getting 3.3/3.4 downstream SNR. But i've seen it go as low as 2.9dB before. Would it be beneficial to do a resync next time I hit 2.9?
Logged
ISP: BT Unlimited Superfast Fibre 2 - 78/18 [50/15 actual] (Huawei 288 cab)
Modem: ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A (BT NTE5C + MK4 Plate)
Router: Ubiquity Edgerouter X

Alex Atkin UK

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 713
    • My Broadband History
Re: ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Issue
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2020, 10:18:45 PM »

Currently getting 3.3/3.4 downstream SNR. But i've seen it go as low as 2.9dB before. Would it be beneficial to do a resync next time I hit 2.9?

Depends how clean your line is, as once it drops below 3dB the chances of it losing sync goes up considerably.
Logged
Router: i5-7200U appliance running pfSense.
Modems: 2x BT Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt 19.07.1
ISPs: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2 + Plusnet Unlimited Fibre Extra.

Sonac

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Issue
« Reply #10 on: January 17, 2020, 10:39:05 PM »

Line is pretty good. Got 18.6dB attenuation. I'm pretty close to my exchange and i'm on cabinet no 1. All the cables are underground. It was perfectly stable at 2.9 as it was there for a few days recently. So with any luck it will go there again. I bet all this rain is filling up the BT manholes again. That's what caused my line noise before, phone started crackling etc because the manhole with all the connections turned into a pond.
Logged
ISP: BT Unlimited Superfast Fibre 2 - 78/18 [50/15 actual] (Huawei 288 cab)
Modem: ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A (BT NTE5C + MK4 Plate)
Router: Ubiquity Edgerouter X

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 28541
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Issue
« Reply #11 on: January 17, 2020, 10:40:57 PM »

I would advise against performing another resynchronisation. The circuit has already had a number of re-trains due to the power supply problem. It would be best to leave it alone so that the DLM process can see that the circuit is stable . . . otherwise the DLM might be inclined to attempt remedial action and apply banding.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Alex Atkin UK

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 713
    • My Broadband History
Re: ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Issue
« Reply #12 on: January 18, 2020, 01:43:04 AM »

Plus you're not going to gain much if anything from a resync anyway.  You wont necessarily land dead-on 3dB even from a fresh resync, in fact I'd wager there is some margin of error in the reporting anyway.

Incidentally distance from exchange is irrelevant, as your connection (if you are in the UK and probably anywhere else too) is to the local cabinet.
Logged
Router: i5-7200U appliance running pfSense.
Modems: 2x BT Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt 19.07.1
ISPs: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2 + Plusnet Unlimited Fibre Extra.