Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: DLM suddenly removed my cap!!!!!  (Read 1270 times)

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3211
DLM suddenly removed my cap!!!!!
« on: November 29, 2019, 10:19:45 PM »

About 20 hours ago DLM intervened on my line and removed that cap so I now sync at 63364kbps  :o I had a few severe spikes of ES over the previous couple of days and a couple of re-syncs by DLM but to see the speed increase this time after some3.5 years capped is frankly welcome but also flabbergasting! I am still interleaved though!

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

tubaman

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4315
Re: DLM suddenly removed my cap!!!!!
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2019, 08:37:16 AM »

Hmm, perhaps caps aren't permanent after all. 3.5 years is a long time for DLM to decide you don't need it though!
 ;D
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

tommy45

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 587
Re: DLM suddenly removed my cap!!!!!
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2019, 09:07:20 AM »

Maybe they have changed how DLM works ?
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3211
Re: DLM suddenly removed my cap!!!!!
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2019, 09:40:34 AM »

I could believe they changed/fixed it, as around 12-15 months ago I got BTOR involved (TalkTalk were not interested)and they could not explain why I was capped, as soon as they removed it DLM slapped it back on! Also remember I am on an ECI cabinet.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4462
Re: DLM suddenly removed my cap!!!!!
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2019, 11:04:23 AM »

I had a few severe spikes of ES over the previous couple of days and a couple of re-syncs by DLM

Is there any possibility the ES spikes and re-synchs might have been the result of incidental engineering works that, upon completion, have triggered a reset?
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3211
Re: DLM suddenly removed my cap!!!!!
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2019, 10:31:49 AM »

Is there any possibility the ES spikes and re-synchs might have been the result of incidental engineering works that, upon completion, have triggered a reset?

Possible I suppose but I have no evidence.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5951
Re: DLM suddenly removed my cap!!!!!
« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2019, 03:25:47 PM »

what was you capped at as am curious how much % speed you gained with all the fuss :)
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3381
Re: DLM suddenly removed my cap!!!!!
« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2019, 03:39:27 PM »

He was capped at 60 Mbps IIRC, but it's now how much he's gained, it's how long it's taken.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3211
Re: DLM suddenly removed my cap!!!!!
« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2019, 09:39:34 PM »

Quite right, having been capped for around 3.5 years and even BTOR not knowing why or being able to remove it for more than a few hours it has now happened as if by magic  ;) Yes I was capped at 59998kbps and ow syncing at 63364kbps its not huge but hey I'm not capped, lets hope it stays this way.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5951
Re: DLM suddenly removed my cap!!!!!
« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2019, 05:41:39 PM »

Thanks, and 3.5 years seems ridiculous.  I expect you are still banded but just at a higher rate now, probably 67mbit.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3211
Re: DLM suddenly removed my cap!!!!!
« Reply #10 on: December 03, 2019, 09:12:20 AM »

Thanks, and 3.5 years seems ridiculous.  I expect you are still banded but just at a higher rate now, probably 67mbit.

How would I tell? My attainable is 75554kbps downstream. I cannot see the point in banding unless a line is either running very badly if left to its own devices or you do not pay for a higher rate. Neither of which apply to my line.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

mrk26

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: DLM suddenly removed my cap!!!!!
« Reply #11 on: December 03, 2019, 10:02:41 AM »

My max speed with fastpatch is 75Mb synced at 74Mb, ip profile 68Mb, not sure if that's correct?
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5951
Re: DLM suddenly removed my cap!!!!!
« Reply #12 on: December 03, 2019, 03:35:20 PM »

How would I tell? My attainable is 75554kbps downstream. I cannot see the point in banding unless a line is either running very badly if left to its own devices or you do not pay for a higher rate. Neither of which apply to my line.

Stuart

A GEA test will show the profile.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2641
Re: DLM suddenly removed my cap!!!!!
« Reply #13 on: December 03, 2019, 06:10:55 PM »

A GEA test will show the profile.

It will show the profile from 13 days ago.

Talktalk tend not to run/share the results of GEA tests anyway.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin