Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Is anyone else having slow dns problems?  (Read 1221 times)

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1995
Is anyone else having slow dns problems?
« on: November 14, 2019, 12:09:07 PM »

A lot of sites keep timing out and the addresses show its not just non-UK sites either.

This is the site of my local newspaper and it won't connect: https://www.oldham-chronicle.co.uk

I'm using the BT Hub at the moment. But I have the computer dns set googles dns server; 8.8.4.4 and 8.8.8.8
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1414
Re: Is anyone else having slow dns problems?
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2019, 12:24:02 PM »

The website came up straight away for me.

Here's a tracert to it.

C:\Users\John>tracert www.oldham-chronicle.co.uk

Tracing route to oldham-chronicle.co.uk [82.71.180.165]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     3 ms     3 ms     3 ms  192.168.1.1
  2    14 ms    15 ms    15 ms  220.53.155.90.in-addr.arpa [90.155.53.220]
  3    15 ms    14 ms    14 ms  f.aimless.thn.aa.net.uk [90.155.53.46]
  4    18 ms    15 ms    18 ms  linx-2.zen.net.uk [195.66.236.158]
  5    22 ms    22 ms     *     ae7.cr2.sp-roch.zen.net.uk [62.3.82.33]
  6    22 ms    22 ms    22 ms  ae8-0.ar3.sp-roch.zen.net.uk [62.3.81.238]
  7    23 ms    22 ms    22 ms  51-148-48-29.dsl.zen.co.uk [51.148.48.29]
  8    22 ms    23 ms    22 ms  web5smtp.rochdaleonline.co.uk [82.71.180.165]
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1995
Re: Is anyone else having slow dns problems?
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2019, 12:27:15 PM »

I went downstairs, made some lunch and come back and now its working again. Don't ya just love technology  ;D
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab

Postal

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: Is anyone else having slow dns problems?
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2019, 03:11:46 PM »

According to some posts on ThinkBroadband (https://forums.thinkbroadband.com/bt/t/4630006-re-bt-routing-issues-at-the-moment.html there were some BT network problems earlier on today.
Logged

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 396
Re: Is anyone else having slow dns problems?
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2019, 05:13:41 PM »

I get slow response on my work laptop, but I can guarantee it's nothing to do with DNS by itself, there's other "reasons" :)
Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1995
Re: Is anyone else having slow dns problems?
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2019, 07:16:18 PM »

According to some posts on ThinkBroadband (https://forums.thinkbroadband.com/bt/t/4630006-re-bt-routing-issues-at-the-moment.html there were some BT network problems earlier on today.

Ahh, glad it wasn't just me lol. I checked there earlier but nobody was talking about it.

Apparently it effected other isp's and vm too.
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5951
Re: Is anyone else having slow dns problems?
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2019, 05:30:33 AM »

First I suggest cloudflare dns over google ip is 1.1.1.1 for ipv4.  They dont log queries (at least not tied to requesting ip).  Plus in my opinion its faster and they support dns over tls.

Second try to use a dns server like unbound that supports a setting called "serve expired" as your caching server, basically it will keep the most recently fetched record response cached forever until a new query is requested, and then it will only do a background update not making the live query wait for it.  Its a game changer in this era of very low ttl dns records.

If you have no lan caching server, then get one set up. ;)
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE