Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: New BT Line  (Read 3008 times)

daveesh1

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
New BT Line
« on: October 22, 2019, 09:58:43 AM »

Whats the chances of getting an old second line re-connected and FTTC enabled but connected to the new Huawei cabinet instead of the ECI i am connected to now.
Logged

tubaman

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 5458
Re: New BT Line
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2019, 11:53:13 AM »

I would say it is a gamble as you will be connected to the next available port - which could be in either cabinet.
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1290
    • My Broadband History
Re: New BT Line
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2019, 08:29:42 PM »

Not just that, there is a gamble of line quality.

When I got my second line connected the stats are clearly worse than the first line. Though granted if that line had been on a Hauwei port it probably still would have beaten the first line on the ECI, once DLM had done its thing.
Logged
Exchange: INTAKE (ECI) ISP/Modems: Zen (Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt) + Plusnet (VMG-3925-B10B) + Three (Hauwei B535-232)
Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD

chakobsa

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: New BT Line
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2019, 08:33:58 PM »

Obviously its a gamble but recent experience from this forum including my own would suggest if there is space in an Huawei cab they will connect to that cab. Makes sense for their point of view if they have less issues with the Huawei estate.
Logged

daveesh1

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
Re: New BT Line
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2019, 08:32:09 AM »

Thanks people. One last question pay for the line to be connected so can have a month to month contract or new 18 month contract and no reconnection charge
Logged

tubaman

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 5458
Re: New BT Line
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2019, 10:28:36 AM »

Thanks people. One last question pay for the line to be connected so can have a month to month contract or new 18 month contract and no reconnection charge

A gamble again, as you could enter into a new 18 month contract and then find yourself on the ECI cabinet. If it was me, and the only reason for the extra connection was to try and get on the Huawei cabinet, I think I'd be paying the connection charge so I could cut my losses if it all went wrong.
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2922
Re: New BT Line
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2019, 01:55:48 PM »

Thanks people. One last question pay for the line to be connected so can have a month to month contract or new 18 month contract and no reconnection charge

If you don't want stuck in a contract on the ECI then go with a 1 month contract.

NowTV used to do reasonable 1 month FTTC contracts.

Was the ECI cabinet on a waiting list when the Huawei was installed?
Logged

daveesh1

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
Re: New BT Line
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2019, 02:21:23 PM »

No thatís the thing The ECI was not on a waiters list the Huawei just appeared in April and went live towards end July begining of August thatís when the front lock was changed from green to silver.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2019, 12:00:49 AM by daveesh1 »
Logged

daveesh1

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
Re: New BT Line
« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2019, 07:51:18 AM »

Well today should be the day the newline and broadband is activated bt say the attached for the new line speed but we will see

[Moderator edited to adjust the attachment, as a result of a concern raised.]
« Last Edit: November 28, 2019, 05:23:03 PM by burakkucat »
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3683
Re: New BT Line
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2019, 10:22:26 AM »

I thought that once a Huawei fibre twin cabinet was installed and live they switched to using that for totally new connections - lines that last had VDSL on would still be routed through the ECI cab, so would use that, hence why it was advisable to switch an existing line to adsl.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

daveesh1

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
Re: New BT Line
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2019, 01:11:57 PM »

Well it has worked Connected to the Huawei speed not brilliant but its a start

xDSL
Mode   VDSL2
Traffic Type   PTM
Status   Up
Link Power State   L0
Downstream   Upstream
Line Coding (Trellis)   On   On
SNR Margin (dB)   6.2   8.6
Attenuation (dB)   22.1   0.0
Output Power (dBm)   13.2   7.3
Attainable Rate (Kbps)   45352   12524
Rate (Kbps)   38313   9999
B (# of bytes in Mux Data Frame)   51   236
M (# of Mux Data Frames in an RS codeword)   1   1
T (# of Mux Data Frames in an OH sub-frame)   64   23
R (# of redundancy bytes in the RS codeword)   12   16
S (# of data symbols over which the RS code word spans)   0.0432   0.7543
L (# of bits transmitted in each data symbol)   11856   2694
D (interleaver depth)   749   1
I (interleaver block size in bytes)   64   127
N (RS codeword size)   64   254
Delay (msec)   8   0
INP (DMT symbol)   3.00   0.00
OH Frames   202906   64181
OH Frame Errors   0   0
RS Words   51852702   2986368
RS Correctable Errors   5299   0
RS Uncorrectable Errors   0   0
HEC Errors   0   0
OCD Errors   0   0
LCD Errors   0   0
Total Cells   41480396   0
Data Cells   597737   0
Bit Errors   0   0
Total ES   0   0
Total SES   0   0
Total UAS   30

Logged

daveesh1

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
Re: New BT Line
« Reply #11 on: November 28, 2019, 01:59:06 PM »

Just to prove it is the new Huawei cabinet

DSLAM type / SW version:   BDCM:0xa48c (164.140) / v0xa48c
Modem/router firmware:     AnnexA version - A2pv6F039g1.d24m
DSL mode:                  VDSL2 Profile 17a
Status:                    Showtime
Uptime:                     0 hour 54 min 27 sec
Resyncs:                   0 (since 28 Nov 2019 13:03:04)
         
            Downstream   Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):     22.1      0.0
Signal attenuation (dB):   Not available on VDSL2      
Connection speed (kbps):   38313      9999
SNR margin (dB):           6.2      8.5
Power (dBm):               13.2      7.3
Interleave depth:          749      1
INP:                       3.00      0
G.INP:                     Not enabled      Not enabled
Vectoring status:          5 (VECT_UNCONFIGURED)      

RSCorr/RS (%):             0.0059      0.0000
RSUnCorr/RS (%):           0.0000      0.0000
ES/hour:                   0.58      0.14
Logged

daveesh1

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
Re: New BT Line
« Reply #12 on: November 30, 2019, 04:36:28 PM »

Guess what got enabled on my new line this morning after two days of running ?
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3683
Re: New BT Line
« Reply #13 on: November 30, 2019, 07:00:19 PM »

G.INP  :)
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

daveesh1

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
Re: New BT Line
« Reply #14 on: November 30, 2019, 11:21:16 PM »

Yeah. Will be waiting a very long time for it on the ECI cab
Logged
Pages: [1] 2