Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: HG612 Replacment  (Read 367 times)

pcollins

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 6
HG612 Replacment
« on: October 09, 2019, 03:34:23 PM »

Hi All

I know this has been asked many times. I have a HG612 modem which is starting play up and i would like to replace this. I have seen lot's of posts about various zyxel and billion routers that are a good replacement but most of these seem to be old units which are hard to find in stock anywhere. Does anybody know of any other options which are current models.

I am on a ECI cabinet but seem to get better sync speeds when using a modem with a broadcom based chip. I would also like the option to be able to use DSLStats with it as well

Thanks
Logged

zpeterk

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: HG612 Replacment
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2019, 11:52:06 AM »

There is lots of Zyxel routers with broadcom chipsets on ebay go for a VMGxxxx B10A, I just bought one for £9.50 and it was brand new.
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: HG612 Replacment
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2019, 12:26:06 PM »

What zpeterk said.

I have half a dozen ZyXEL VMG 1312-B10A units obtained from eBay and one from my ISP, AA; you can still see new boxed ones on eBay occasionally but they can be very expensive as they are highly prized. Although some of the prices are silly there are still bargains to be had. One tip is to broaden your search to the EU, several of my units have come from France and Germany. The other xxxx-B10A models will be better value, easier to find.

Btw, I’m using them all in ‘modem-only’ bridge mode, not as routers and I am aware of lots of bugs with the 1312-B10A when used as a router; bugs listed at support.aa.net.uk iirc.

I recommend the firmware built by our own forum member johnson if running in bridge mode as it offers MTU 1508 and various enhancements.
Logged

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 345
Re: HG612 Replacment
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2019, 01:34:48 PM »

I tried a few ZyXEL's - I didn't find them any faster (in fact, they appear to be slower for me) than my HG612's - so I've still got those for now. However, these HG's are nearly 8 years old at this point, they're going to die one day...........
Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: HG612 Replacment
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2019, 02:32:04 PM »

I didn’t really find my ZyXEL to be faster than the previous modems I had been using, the DLink DSL-320B-Z1; in fact the ZyXELs’ upstream was slightly slower, which is annoying, until very recently when the upstream speeds have all increased post lightning damage. But the ZyXELs are more stable, as the Dlinks would go down to very low downstream SNRM values, such as 1.8dB or even less, rather than sticking to the assigned 3dB d/s target. With the Dlinks, wandering off on a voyage all the way down to 0.8 dB downstream without authorisation was not unheard of. But anyway, if the d/s SNRM value were adjusted to be the same, then the ZyXEL modems would be faster. The other advantage of the ZyXEL is its support for the Broadcom PhyR - proprietary G.INP - L2 retx protocol for ADSL2. They’re just extremely stable. Some times they do get amazing downstream sync rates on ADSL2.

I have 7km long ADSL2 lines, your circumstances are rather different from mine though so the ZyXELs might be better, might be worse.
« Last Edit: October 11, 2019, 05:15:19 AM by Weaver »
Logged

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 345
Re: HG612 Replacment
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2019, 05:13:12 PM »

Yes, was about to say but your post concluded it - everyone's experience is different.
Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet

pcollins

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: HG612 Replacment
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2019, 12:50:42 PM »

What zpeterk said.

I have half a dozen ZyXEL VMG 1312-B10A units obtained from eBay and one from my ISP, AA; you can still see new boxed ones on eBay occasionally but they can be very expensive as they are highly prized. Although some of the prices are silly there are still bargains to be had. One tip is to broaden your search to the EU, several of my units have come from France and Germany. The other xxxx-B10A models will be better value, easier to find.

Btw, I’m using them all in ‘modem-only’ bridge mode, not as routers and I am aware of lots of bugs with the 1312-B10A when used as a router; bugs listed at support.aa.net.uk iirc.

I recommend the firmware built by our own forum member johnson if running in bridge mode as it offers MTU 1508 and various enhancements.

Thanks for the info i have manged to get hold of one of these now. The firmware you are using i have tried to locate but there seems to be so many posts on the subject. Do you know exatcly were i can find this?
Logged

ktz392837

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 442
« Last Edit: October 11, 2019, 03:46:18 PM by ktz392837 »
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5863
Re: HG612 Replacment
« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2019, 01:38:33 AM »

I am pretty sure my first modern broadcom modem was faster than the hg612, an extra 2-3 meg sync or thereabouts if I remember right.  All zyxel and the billion 8800nl sync very close to each other on DS speed, but US is different, as they have differe US power cutback characteristics, and also DS ES rate is different between the devices as well.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE
 

anything