Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]

Author Topic: Our New Car Connecting To Our Home WiFi Problem  (Read 3430 times)

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4420
Re: Our New Car Connecting To Our Home WiFi Problem
« Reply #60 on: November 07, 2019, 10:32:19 PM »

Oh dear. Iím afraid I have no real faith at all in franchised dealers, regardless of make, these days. :(

Donít be too negative about serviceability though.  I think that's just a consequence of the fact everything is designed by computer... maximum amount of tech into minimum space.  Enabling all the safety gear, impact bars, crumple zones and airbags etc, yet still the same room for passengers and luggage.

Even my 12 year old Volvo, last week I noticed needed a side marker bulb.   Officially, the whole front bumper is supposed to be removed, so the headlamp assembly can be extracted.   I felt chuffed as I managed it by Ďsimplyí removing the air cleaner, the air cleaner housing, the electric brake vacuum pump that kicks in when engine isnít running, and lotís of other bits.   

Was so much easier on my all time favourite car, MK3 Cortina. ::)
Logged

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3307
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: Our New Car Connecting To Our Home WiFi Problem
« Reply #61 on: November 08, 2019, 11:22:03 AM »

I am loosing faith in them as well.
It's odd how some of the cars out of the factory the WiFi connection to an external source works and some of them do not.
Still waiting for the service manager to reply to me (but I do not know even if he got my email as they seemed to be plagued with IT problems on the main Inchcape system and is down a lot  >:D).

Not sure how they can tell me they buffed out the paint scratch but there is no sign of any work being done on it.  :hmm:

Well done on the lamp replacement, all mine are LED but they do wear out eventually.

I fitted an MGB overdrive on a Ford Escort MKII once and Ford Research said they did not know of another one at all on any Ford car at the time, before the days of 5th and sixth gears.  ;D
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 (G992.3) line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4420
Re: Our New Car Connecting To Our Home WiFi Problem
« Reply #62 on: November 08, 2019, 12:05:33 PM »

I had Escorts as well, marks 1, 2 and 3.   All inherited from Dad, when he upgraded his own cars.

I remember persuading him (Dad) to assist me removing the gearbox from the mk1, with the car on ramps in the driveway, the two of us lying underneath.    Not being particularly mechanically minded, his job was just to help me take the weight.   And being at the wrong end, he was the one who got a face full of lovely gearbox oil, dribbling from the output seal when we removed the prop shaft.  Happy days. :)

Sorry to hear the WiFi problem persist.   :'(
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3367
Re: Our New Car Connecting To Our Home WiFi Problem
« Reply #63 on: November 08, 2019, 01:18:05 PM »

Trucks and cars are far too complicated these days. I was speaking to one of our subcontractors yesterday. His Ford Kuga has been to various specialists and they can't work out why it keeps going wrong every few months, his only option now is to move it on.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3307
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: Our New Car Connecting To Our Home WiFi Problem
« Reply #64 on: November 18, 2019, 02:09:54 PM »

Well at last they have got this working by re-installing the 'In-control' software again (took 5 hours  :hmm:)
Now I see the access point IP and DNS IP's, the apps and website do now work.
My Sat-nav tells me there is an update but does not say how big the file size is  >:( Like a lot of cars now the car with just the ignition on goes into 'Battery Saving Mode' after about five minutes which may be good for the battery but if you then have to have the engine running while I do the update it is going to waste a lot of fuel. :o
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 (G992.3) line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3367
Re: Our New Car Connecting To Our Home WiFi Problem
« Reply #65 on: November 18, 2019, 06:00:07 PM »

Good to hear they finally got it working, hopefully it will just download the update with ignition off, only one way to find out.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

tubaman

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4231
Re: Our New Car Connecting To Our Home WiFi Problem
« Reply #66 on: November 18, 2019, 06:03:11 PM »

Doesn't it have an 'auxiliary' position that just powers-up the satnav etc without the actual ignition being on? I've not used a car that doesn't.
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4420
Re: Our New Car Connecting To Our Home WiFi Problem
« Reply #67 on: November 18, 2019, 07:15:33 PM »

but if you then have to have the engine running while I do the update it is going to waste a lot of fuel.

You may be worrying too much.

I did once research the amount of fuel used when idling.   It was when preparing for a long trip in forecast wintry conditions, and I wanted to know how long Iíd be able to maintain heat for if the traffic got stuck in snow.

I donít remember the exact fuel consumption, but I do remember it was nearly nothing - literally, trivial. :)

Obviously, donít do it in your garage though - which would quickly fill with poisonous exhaust.
Logged

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3307
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: Our New Car Connecting To Our Home WiFi Problem
« Reply #68 on: November 18, 2019, 09:25:19 PM »

Doesn't it have an 'auxiliary' position that just powers-up the satnav etc without the actual ignition being on ?

Yes that is what I use but after about Five minutes you get a message to say start the engine or the system will shut down ( and it does  >:D ).
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 (G992.3) line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]