Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: might be on the wrong IP profile for years...  (Read 1785 times)

dorzb

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
might be on the wrong IP profile for years...
« on: August 08, 2019, 11:38:15 AM »

A couple of years ago I downgraded my BT Infinity 2 to 1. At some point, BT changed their product name and I think my Infinity 1 became superfast fibre 1 50mb.
I never thought about checking the speed except for the first few months of my new contract, at which the result seemed ok. I replaced my router 3 weeks ago and then I noticed my sync speed was only 39999kb(very stable).
Googled it and found out that's actually for BT superfast fibre essential 36mb. I know I probably should blame myself for not checking the speed more often...
Now my questions are:
1. Is there any way to find out when my IP profile became effective?
2. Is it possible to ask for a refund from BT as I haven't got what I've been paying for?

Thanks.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2019, 03:04:28 PM by dorzb »
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2544
Re: might be on the wrong IP profile for years...
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2019, 01:55:16 PM »

Its possible you're provisioned on 55/10 as you should be, but that the DLM has capped your line at some point.

BT have had a number of different products over the years and have given various free upgrades at different times.

Some of these upgrades were only applied when signing new contracts
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

dorzb

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: might be on the wrong IP profile for years...
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2019, 02:26:47 PM »

Its possible you're provisioned on 55/10 as you should be, but that the DLM has capped your line at some point.

BT have had a number of different products over the years and have given various free upgrades at different times.

Some of these upgrades were only applied when signing new contracts

Thanks John. But I can see my broadband package is the 56mb one under mybt account.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2544
Re: might be on the wrong IP profile for years...
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2019, 03:02:58 PM »

Then possibly my 1st suggestion.

Its possible you're provisioned on 55/10 as you should be, but that the DLM has capped your line at some point.

DLM caps lines the exact same way product caps are done.

BT phone support tends to be useless at this kind of thing going through the whole reboot your hub nonsense.
I'd recommend making a thread on the BT Community forums and a Moderator will look in to it.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

Alex Atkin UK

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 266
    • My Broadband History
Re: might be on the wrong IP profile for years...
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2019, 01:57:35 AM »

Do you have any line stats such as SNR margin and attenuation values?
Logged
Modems: 2 x VMG3925-B10B V5.13(AAVF.12)C0-jumbo
Router: i5-7200U appliance running pfSense.
ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2 + Plusnet Unlimited Fibre Extra.

dorzb

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: might be on the wrong IP profile for years...
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2019, 10:02:22 PM »

Do you have any line stats such as SNR margin and attenuation values?


============================================================================
    VDSL Training Status:   Showtime
                    Mode:   VDSL2 Annex B
            VDSL Profile:   Profile 17a
                G.Vector:   Disable
            Traffic Type:   PTM Mode
             Link Uptime:   22 days: 0 hour: 44 minutes
============================================================================
       VDSL Port Details       Upstream         Downstream
               Line Rate:     10.031 Mbps       40.072 Mbps
    Actual Net Data Rate:      9.997 Mbps       39.994 Mbps
          Trellis Coding:         ON                ON
              SNR Margin:       19.8 dB           20.6 dB
            Actual Delay:          0 ms              8 ms
          Transmit Power:      - 8.5 dBm          12.6 dBm
           Receive Power:      -18.9 dBm           5.7 dBm
              Actual INP:        0.0 symbols       3.0 symbols
       Total Attenuation:       10.5 dB            6.8 dB
Attainable Net Data Rate:     31.690 Mbps      102.526 Mbps
============================================================================
      VDSL Band Status    U0      U1      U2      U3      D1      D2      D3
  Line Attenuation(dB):  4.8     7.8    11.6     N/A     4.1     7.9    12.8   
Signal Attenuation(dB):  4.8     N/A    11.0     N/A     4.6     7.8    12.8   
        SNR Margin(dB): 19.8     N/A    19.8     N/A    20.6    20.6    20.6   
   Transmit Power(dBm):-22.7   -35.3   - 8.6     N/A     8.5     7.8     7.1   
============================================================================

            VDSL Counters

           Downstream        Upstream
Since Link time = 44 min 3 sec
FEC:      4807      136
CRC:      0      116
ES:      0      113
SES:      0      0
UAS:      0      0
LOS:      0      0
LOF:      0      0
LOM:      0      0
Retr:      0
HostInitRetr:   0
FailedRetr:   0
Latest 15 minutes time = 14 min 38 sec
FEC:      0      0
CRC:      0      0
ES:      0      0
SES:      0      0
UAS:      0      0
LOS:      0      0
LOF:      0      0
LOM:      0      0
Retr:      0
HostInitRetr:   0
FailedRetr:   0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
FEC:      0      0
CRC:      0      0
ES:      0      0
SES:      0      0
UAS:      0      0
LOS:      0      0
LOF:      0      0
LOM:      0      0
Retr:      N/A
HostInitRetr:   N/A
FailedRetr:   N/A
Latest 1 day time = 44 min 38 sec
FEC:      0      0
CRC:      0      0
ES:      0      0
SES:      0      0
UAS:      0      0
LOS:      0      0
LOF:      0      0
LOM:      0      0
Retr:      0
HostInitRetr:   0
FailedRetr:   0
Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
FEC:      17      0
CRC:      0      0
ES:      0      0
SES:      0      0
UAS:      0      0
LOS:      0      0
LOF:      0      0
LOM:      0      0
Retr:      0
HostInitRetr:   0
FailedRetr:   0
Total time = 1 days 44 min 38 sec
FEC:      4807      136
CRC:      0      116
ES:      0      113
SES:      0      0
UAS:      34      34
LOS:      0      0
LOF:      0      0
LOM:      0      0
Retr:      0
HostInitRetr:   0
FailedRetr:   0
============================================================================
Logged

bkehoe

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: might be on the wrong IP profile for years...
« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2019, 03:18:48 PM »

Well the cabinet must be in your garden with stats like that!
Logged

jaydub

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: might be on the wrong IP profile for years...
« Reply #7 on: August 10, 2019, 06:28:38 PM »

Well the cabinet must be in your garden with stats like that!

Significantly better stats than mine and my cabinet is the other side of our front garden wall. :(
Logged

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 287
Re: might be on the wrong IP profile for years...
« Reply #8 on: August 10, 2019, 06:58:48 PM »

You must be on the wrong profile, surely?

Why don't you have 80/20?
Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet

fat jez

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: might be on the wrong IP profile for years...
« Reply #9 on: August 10, 2019, 08:21:53 PM »

You must be on the wrong profile, surely?

Why don't you have 80/20?

Depends on what you want to pay for, I suppose?
Logged

gt94sss2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 899
Re: might be on the wrong IP profile for years...
« Reply #10 on: August 10, 2019, 08:52:08 PM »

I agree it looks like you are on the wrong profile. The best way to proceed is post on the BT forums as suggested.

Do you know when you originally downgraded from 80MB? I ask as at one stage BT were automatically upgrading BT Infinity 1 customers to 80MB for free if their line supported the speed for free - and I wonder if you should have been caught in that exercise.

Perhaps one to ask BT...
Logged

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 287
Re: might be on the wrong IP profile for years...
« Reply #11 on: August 10, 2019, 09:17:56 PM »

Depends on what you want to pay for, I suppose?

Yes, that's true
Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet

dorzb

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: might be on the wrong IP profile for years...
« Reply #12 on: August 12, 2019, 09:42:45 AM »

Well the cabinet must be in your garden with stats like that!

The cabinet is about 30m away from my house. ;D
Logged

dorzb

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: might be on the wrong IP profile for years...
« Reply #13 on: August 12, 2019, 09:48:37 AM »

I agree it looks like you are on the wrong profile. The best way to proceed is post on the BT forums as suggested.

Do you know when you originally downgraded from 80MB? I ask as at one stage BT were automatically upgrading BT Infinity 1 customers to 80MB for free if their line supported the speed for free - and I wonder if you should have been caught in that exercise.

Perhaps one to ask BT...

To answer the questions from other kitz citizens, I just do not need 80/20 as I barely download anything nowadays, and 56mb seems fast enough for online streaming. So when I renewed my contract almost 2 years ago I chose the 56mb package, it was still called BT infinity 1.
I have submitted my question to the BT forums. Will update this thread when I hear from them.
Logged

dorzb

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: might be on the wrong IP profile for years...
« Reply #14 on: August 12, 2019, 10:28:41 AM »

I just had a BT online chat and I was then told by a lady that there were some issues within their exchange due to which the speed dropped to 36 but I was still on the 56 IP profile. She then cleared the issue and now my line it is on 56 again. She also asked me to factory reset my BT HUB to make the changes effective. I told her I was using a non BT router and she said just reboot it I should get 56mb download speed back.

I will have to wait until I get home tonight to try it. Any thoughts about her explanation though?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3