Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Openreach G.fast overbuilds  (Read 1173 times)

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1187
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Openreach G.fast overbuilds
« on: August 05, 2019, 09:37:36 PM »

On the availability checker have a look at LS27 9PX - say #11.

It has both clean and impacted 330/50 G.fast ranges.

Openreach are currently building FTTP to it.

This is an increasingly common occurrence. The amount of overlapping premises grows daily.

TL;DR just because you've a G.fast pod don't think that FTTP is going to be delayed. The pod serving cabinet 44 and the premises above was installed less than 18 months ago and is already being obsoleted.
Logged
-----
Deploying better networks, not just faster ones.

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2634
Re: Openreach G.fast overbuilds
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2019, 12:32:37 PM »

Similar story in Edinburgh.
G.Fast on a number of exchanges, now Fibre First being rolled out at a ridiculous rate.

Neither for me from OpenReach.
Although I have Virgin coming in the coming months, which I never thought I'd see in this area.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2019, 01:26:31 PM by j0hn »
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1187
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: Openreach G.fast overbuilds
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2019, 05:50:41 PM »

Seem to be making live the cabinet that serves here - strange what media attention will do: https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2019/07/the-curious-case-of-hunslet-82-g-fast-pod-waits-3-years-to-go-live.html

What a complete waste of time. The area has Virgin Media already with CityFibre / Vodafone on the way soon.
Logged
-----
Deploying better networks, not just faster ones.

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 395
Re: Openreach G.fast overbuilds
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2019, 08:35:32 PM »

Very interesting. Just need to wait until FTTP confirmed for my area. I'm in Wales, but not in Cardiff or Swansea (but am in the South and not in a rural location), so hopefully we shouldn't be too far down lists.

Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 665
Re: Openreach G.fast overbuilds
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2019, 02:25:48 AM »

To be honest, given the fact FTTC at my cabinet was BDUK funded I wasn't expecting it to be viable for G.fast in the first place. Though it must have been, and I am pretty sure the FTTC cabinet has hit max capacity at least once (unless it was some weird database error).

I'm in no rush for FTTP, and I don't think OR would be in a rush to do it here anyway. G.fast has been very, very reliable and stable for me; the horror stories floating around do not represent my experience, which has been virtually flawless.
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3367
Re: Openreach G.fast overbuilds
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2019, 06:17:17 AM »

Whilst we don't have G.fast we do have fttc and virgin, we have also just been announced as a fibre first area with the build starting in the next three months.

This is great news as it will give me a high speed alternative to VM who keep increasing their prices, currently I have no alternative for a decent high speed connection, which makes haggling over the price difficult.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

Alex Atkin UK

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 325
    • My Broadband History
Re: Openreach G.fast overbuilds
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2019, 01:55:18 AM »

I'm guessing Openreach are stepping up their game due to impending 5G which could seriously cut into their business.  I can already get on 4G from O2 just as fast as both of my VDSL lines combined, though granted the data cost makes it impractical for real-world use.
Logged
Modems: 2 x VMG3925-B10B V5.13(AAVF.12)C0-jumbo
Router: i5-7200U appliance running pfSense.
ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2 + Plusnet Unlimited Fibre Extra.

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5938
Re: Openreach G.fast overbuilds
« Reply #7 on: August 10, 2019, 01:16:12 PM »

Not in Leicester city.  There must be some serious hurdles for them here for them to find small towns and villages more viable.

We only got FTTC after I contacted Patricia Hewitt (she was board member of BT and my MP).
« Last Edit: August 10, 2019, 01:20:23 PM by Chrysalis »
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 395
Re: Openreach G.fast overbuilds
« Reply #8 on: August 10, 2019, 07:02:40 PM »

To be honest, given the fact FTTC at my cabinet was BDUK funded I wasn't expecting it to be viable for G.fast in the first place. Though it must have been, and I am pretty sure the FTTC cabinet has hit max capacity at least once (unless it was some weird database error).

I'm in no rush for FTTP, and I don't think OR would be in a rush to do it here anyway. G.fast has been very, very reliable and stable for me; the horror stories floating around do not represent my experience, which has been virtually flawless.

Lucky you! Way too far away for G.Fast.
Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet