Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Am I connected to a Huawei or ECI cabinet?  (Read 782 times)

Windows10User

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Am I connected to a Huawei or ECI cabinet?
« on: August 05, 2019, 06:08:51 PM »

Hi, I was curious if I'm connected to a Huawei or ECI cabinet as one of them doesn't match the ones in this article:
https://kitz.co.uk/adsl/fttc-cabinets.htm

Attached to this post is the cabinets that I'm connected to according to the BT Broadband Availability Checker.
Logged

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 602
Re: Am I connected to a Huawei or ECI cabinet?
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2019, 06:13:54 PM »

ECI - on that shared page: "ECI 128/256 FTTC cabinet".
Logged

Windows10User

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Am I connected to a Huawei or ECI cabinet?
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2019, 06:21:54 PM »

Thanks, but what is the cabinet on the right?
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 26924
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Am I connected to a Huawei or ECI cabinet?
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2019, 06:26:14 PM »

A standard Primary Cross-connection Point (a.k.a. PCP).

And while I think about it . . . "Welcome to the Kitz forum.:)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Windows10User

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Am I connected to a Huawei or ECI cabinet?
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2019, 06:30:31 PM »

Thanks for the info and the welcome!   :)
Logged

Windows10User

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Am I connected to a Huawei or ECI cabinet?
« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2019, 06:37:10 PM »

Also I forgot to ask but has G.INP been enabled on ECI cabinets or are we behind compared to the people on the Huawei cabinets?
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 26924
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Am I connected to a Huawei or ECI cabinet?
« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2019, 06:57:05 PM »

Unfortunately not. There is no G.Imp goodness for those circuits connected to an ECI Hi-FOCuS M41 DSLAM.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Windows10User

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Am I connected to a Huawei or ECI cabinet?
« Reply #7 on: August 05, 2019, 06:59:40 PM »

 :( :( :(
Logged

Windows10User

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Am I connected to a Huawei or ECI cabinet?
« Reply #8 on: August 11, 2019, 10:51:14 AM »

Unfortunately not. There is no G.Imp goodness for those circuits connected to an ECI Hi-FOCuS M41 DSLAM.

I've recently got a HG612 modem from eBay and I've unlocked it. Apparently G.INP is enabled on the downstream on ECI cabinets...

Stats from the modem:

Stats recorded 11 Aug 2019 10:49:06

DSLAM type / SW version:   IFTN:0xb206 (178.6) / v0xb206
Modem/router firmware:     AnnexA version - A2pv6C038m.d24j
DSL mode:                  VDSL2 Profile 17a
Status:                    Showtime
Uptime:                    1 day 12 hours 2 min 42 sec
Resyncs:                   0 (since 11 Aug 2019 10:49:03)
         
            Downstream   Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):     23.4      0.0
Signal attenuation (dB):   Not monitored      
Connection speed (kbps):   29997      5155
SNR margin (dB):           7.3      6.3
Power (dBm):               3.2      3.2
Interleave depth:          1      1
INP:                       52.00      0
G.INP:                     Enabled      Not enabled        <----
Vectoring status:          5 (VECT_UNCONFIGURED)      

RSCorr/RS (%):             0.0022      0.0217
RSUnCorr/RS (%):           0.0000      0.0000
ES/hour:                   0      0
 
« Last Edit: August 11, 2019, 10:55:33 AM by Windows10User »
Logged

flilot

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Am I connected to a Huawei or ECI cabinet?
« Reply #9 on: August 11, 2019, 01:56:34 PM »

I've recently got a HG612 modem from eBay and I've unlocked it. Apparently G.INP is enabled on the downstream on ECI cabinets...

Stats from the modem:

Stats recorded 11 Aug 2019 10:49:06

DSLAM type / SW version:   IFTN:0xb206 (178.6) / v0xb206
Modem/router firmware:     AnnexA version - A2pv6C038m.d24j
DSL mode:                  VDSL2 Profile 17a
Status:                    Showtime
Uptime:                    1 day 12 hours 2 min 42 sec
Resyncs:                   0 (since 11 Aug 2019 10:49:03)
         
            Downstream   Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):     23.4      0.0
Signal attenuation (dB):   Not monitored      
Connection speed (kbps):   29997      5155
SNR margin (dB):           7.3      6.3
Power (dBm):               3.2      3.2
Interleave depth:          1      1
INP:                       52.00      0
G.INP:                     Enabled      Not enabled        <----
Vectoring status:          5 (VECT_UNCONFIGURED)      

RSCorr/RS (%):             0.0022      0.0217
RSUnCorr/RS (%):           0.0000      0.0000
ES/hour:                   0      0

I believe some ECI cabinets were part of a G.INP trial.  Not sure if it's still ongoing or some were left enabled after the trial finished?
Logged
Carl
____________________________
cabinet8 - My journey back to xDSL after a decade with VM.

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2523
Re: Am I connected to a Huawei or ECI cabinet?
« Reply #10 on: August 11, 2019, 02:23:39 PM »

Quote
Apparently G.INP is enabled on the downstream on ECI cabinets...

On 1 line on 1 cabinet, is not cabinets.

Perhaps an ECI/G.INP trial area or leftovers of abandoned trials.

That's the 1st ECI line I've seen with G.INP in about 2 years, and that was a leftover of the old rollout.

edit: your downstream has been capped at 30Mb.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

Windows10User

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Am I connected to a Huawei or ECI cabinet?
« Reply #11 on: August 11, 2019, 07:02:17 PM »

On 1 line on 1 cabinet, is not cabinets.

Perhaps an ECI/G.INP trial area or leftovers of abandoned trials.

That's the 1st ECI line I've seen with G.INP in about 2 years, and that was a leftover of the old rollout.

edit: your downstream has been capped at 30Mb.

It's probably one of the trial cabinets, but I'm not really sure.

I noticed that my downstream was capped at 30, strange since before I switched to third party router I was using a BT Smart Hub and it got 32MB downlink but under that horrible router combo unit the connection used to disconnect every other hour.\_(ツ)_/
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32109
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Am I connected to a Huawei or ECI cabinet?
« Reply #12 on: August 13, 2019, 07:42:57 PM »

Quote
Not sure if it's still ongoing or some were left enabled after the trial finished?

It was some time ago now, but last I heard they were supposedly those lines with IPTV services. 
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker