Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Improved latency (8ms) by changing from HHG2500 to Archer VR2800  (Read 466 times)

mw2870

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 6

I have been with Vodafone approx 12 months (of an 18 month contract). I generally tend to ping-pong between BT and VF, each time to contract is due for renewal.
Recently I found this forum, which is fantastic by the way! Great resource!

I decided to get rid of the Vodafone router and switch to something else, and went for an Archer VR2800.
I managed to get hold of my DSL username and password from VF, originally they told me the username  @broadband.vodafone.com, which didn't work, reading some posts I found out that it should have been @broadband.vodafone.co.uk

Anyway, prior to switching to the Archer VR2800 I had connected a Raspberry Pi to the ethernet socked on the VF router, and written a python script to use speedtest-cli to run every hour, writing the output into a CSV file and then uploading it to Google Drive.

I am trying to collect some evidence of heavy contention in the evenings (high latency and slow throughput), so thought that this would help, I would quite like to break my contract early and move to another provider.

Anyway what was interesting, was that when I switched from the HHG2500 to Archer VR2800, I instantly noticed a lower latency in my results.
It looks like on average about 8ms lower.

Date,Time,Ping (ms),Download (Mbit/s),Upload (Mbit/s)
06/10/19,01:00,21.937,36.23,8.96
06/10/19,02:00,22.024,36.71,8.97
06/10/19,03:00,22.202,36.62,8.86
06/10/19,04:00,22.403,36.31,9.02
06/10/19,05:00,22.076,36.64,8.49
06/10/19,06:00,22.13,36.30,8.85
06/10/19,07:00,22.516,31.35,8.87
06/10/19,08:00,22.203,36.15,8.95
06/10/19,09:00,22.287,35.63,9.03
06/10/19,10:00,21.701,31.03,8.92
06/10/19,11:00,21.726,36.29,8.91
06/10/19,12:00,22.251,22.95,8.88
06/10/19,13:00,22.188,35.93,9.04
06/10/19,14:00,21.768,33.81,8.88
06/10/19,15:00,22.205,27.75,8.72
06/10/19,16:00,23.323,34.23,8.92
06/10/19,17:00,22.677,33.73,8.71
06/10/19,18:00,22.151,36.30,9.04
06/10/19,19:00,15.986,10.99,0.00
06/10/19,20:00,19.358,28.68,9.30
06/10/19,21:00,25.255,15.81,9.06
06/10/19,22:00,16.588,36.57,9.50
06/10/19,23:00,14.845,31.34,9.34
06/11/19,00:00,14.89,31.97,9.62
06/11/19,01:00,15.321,35.69,9.57
06/11/19,02:00,14.399,33.79,9.47
06/11/19,03:00,14.241,35.43,9.43
06/11/19,04:00,14.58,36.47,9.73
06/11/19,05:00,14.561,35.05,9.30
06/11/19,06:00,17.576,36.67,9.44
06/11/19,07:00,14.102,36.41,9.42
06/11/19,08:00,15.234,36.58,9.39
06/11/19,09:00,14.071,36.14,9.51


Router was swapped around 19:00 on the 10th June.

This got me thinking, as the speedtest-cli is done from the Pi, connected via Ethernet, there is no Wi-Fi to worry about.
Could the improvement in latency by down to better processing in the TP-Link vs the Vodafone router, or could this be due to more favourable line parameters?

I don't have any line stats from the VF router, but again using some fantastic articles on this forum, I managed to enable proper telnet on the Archer VR2800.
I now have DSL stats running on my Pi as well as my speed test script.

Line stats are:
Stats recorded 11 Jun 2019 09:58:18

DSLAM type / SW version:   BDCM:0xb12d (177.45) / v0xb12d
Modem/router firmware:     AnnexA version - A2pvbH042j2.d26m
DSL mode:                  VDSL2 Profile 17a
Status:                    Showtime
Uptime:                     10 hours 14 min 0 sec
Resyncs:                   0 (since 10 Jun 2019 23:54:46)
         
            Downstream   Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):     13.8      0.0
Signal attenuation (dB):   Not monitored      
Connection speed (kbps):   40000      9997
SNR margin (dB):           10.3      9.4
Power (dBm):               14.0      6.7
Interleave depth:          16      1
INP:                       43.00      0
G.INP:                     Enabled      Not enabled
Vectoring status:          5 (VECT_UNCONFIGURED)      

RSCorr/RS (%):             0.0000      0.0001
RSUnCorr/RS (%):           0.0000      0.0000
ES/hour:                   0      6.03


If the VF router was really not behaving very well, could I potentially see an improvement in my line over time using the new router?
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2428
Re: Improved latency (8ms) by changing from HHG2500 to Archer VR2800
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2019, 02:12:15 PM »

Low Interleaving adds 8ms delay.

I can see from your stats you don't have Interleaving on the line. You have G.INP instead.

Quote
G.INP:                     Enabled 

It's possible G.INP wasn't being applied with the Vodafone router.
That would account for the 8ms.

Odd though as it should really be G.INP compatible.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

mw2870

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Improved latency (8ms) by changing from HHG2500 to Archer VR2800
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2019, 10:40:27 PM »

Interesting, thanks for the reply John.

Would the DSLAM detect a different modem immediately and check to see what it is capable of?

I believe from reading the forums that by just changing my hardware the DSM will not be reset.
That would require a change of service or provider.

Last time I was with BT I used to be on Fast Path and had very low latency.
This time round the Vodafone router always reported Interleaved and never ever showed Fast Path.

I can see from your stats you don't have Interleaving on the line. You have G.INP instead.

So if interleaving is not already on, only G.INP am I right in saying that conditions can not be improved any more?
I am on a 40/10 service, so am already synced at full speed for the downstream.

I asked Vodafone if I could upgrade to the higher 80/20, but they would not allow it without taking about another 18 month contract, which I don't wish to do.

I am on CHELTENHAM Exchange, Cabinet 71.
Downstream Handback Threshold(Mbps) is 56.4 (Clean), 54.6 (Impacted)

So I guess they only have to offer me another 16Mbps for the extra money.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2428
Re: Improved latency (8ms) by changing from HHG2500 to Archer VR2800
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2019, 01:41:03 AM »

Quote
Would the DSLAM detect a different modem immediately and check to see what it is capable of?

That's my understanding.
If it detects the modem doesn't support G.INP then Interleaving is applied.
Changing to a modem that supports G.INP will see it activated.

Quote
I believe from reading the forums that by just changing my hardware the DSM will not be reset.
That would require a change of service or provider.

Correct.

Quote
So if interleaving is not already on, only G.INP am I right in saying that conditions can not be improved any more?

As far as DLM and latency goes yes.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 962
Re: Improved latency (8ms) by changing from HHG2500 to Archer VR2800
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2019, 11:59:10 AM »

mw2870 - I have send you PM about VR2600 how to enabled telnet for working with dslstats. Thanks
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 26471
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Improved latency (8ms) by changing from HHG2500 to Archer VR2800
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2019, 04:27:42 PM »

mw2870 - I have send you PM about VR2600 how to enabled telnet for working with dslstats. Thanks

Do you really mean a VR2600? Take another look at the subject line of this thread --

"Improved latency (8ms) by changing from HHG2500 to Archer VR2800"
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 962
« Last Edit: June 23, 2019, 04:33:08 PM by adslmax »
Logged

mw2870

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Improved latency (8ms) by changing from HHG2500 to Archer VR2800
« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2019, 03:13:49 PM »

This is what I did:

1. Log into Web Interface
2. Go to Advanced -> System Tools -> Backup & Restore -> Press the "Backup" Button. This will save a copy of your current settings. Should be called conf.bin
3. Go here: https://github.com/sta-c0000/tpconf_bin_xml and download tpconf_bin_xml.py
4. Run the following command "python3 tpconf_bin_xml.py conf.bin conf.xml"  (You will need Python3 installed along with python3-crypto - see the dependancies on gitub)
5. Edit conf.xml and add "<Description val="http://www.tp-link.com`telnetd -p 1023 -l login`" />" into the "<DeviceInfo>" node
6. Run the following command "python3 tpconf_bin_xml.py conf.xml conf_new.bin"
7. You can then upload "conf_new.bin" through the webinterface: Advanced -> System Tools -> Backup & Restore

Hope this helps. I can't take any credit for this, pulled the info from the following two threads:
https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,14377.0.html
https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,17108.0.html
« Last Edit: June 24, 2019, 03:15:56 PM by mw2870 »
Logged

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 962
Re: Improved latency (8ms) by changing from HHG2500 to Archer VR2800
« Reply #8 on: June 24, 2019, 03:19:04 PM »

Thanks but my VR2600 isn't broadcom chipset compared to your VR2800. So, I probably doesn't want to brick my TP LINK VR2600.
Logged

mw2870

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Improved latency (8ms) by changing from HHG2500 to Archer VR2800
« Reply #9 on: June 24, 2019, 03:23:57 PM »

Thanks but my VR2600 isn't broadcom chipset compared to your VR2800. So, I probably doesn't want to brick my TP LINK VR2600.

If you are serious about getting this working why don't you check out the threads I linked to?
People have reported success with VR2600:
https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,14377.msg351125.html#msg351125

Not sure if they followed a different procedure.
Logged

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 962
Re: Improved latency (8ms) by changing from HHG2500 to Archer VR2800
« Reply #10 on: June 24, 2019, 04:19:31 PM »

Ok I try that other time.

Firmware Version: 1.4.0 0.8.0 v0050.0 Build 160518 Rel.50944n
Hardware Version: Archer VR2600 v1 00000000
Latest Version: 1.4.0 0.8.0 v0050.0 Build 160518 Rel.50944n

I click Check for Upgrades just now and it say Your firmware is up to date
Logged