Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Speedtouch 585  (Read 8562 times)

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33882
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Speedtouch 585
« on: June 20, 2008, 04:58:19 PM »

Speedtouch 585 routers

Having just read another thread elsewhere it reminded me of a page I started a few weeks ago, but isnt yet linked to live on the main site..  but its some of the more common commands that I spent a few joyful hours looking through the ST CLI to tweak my ST585.  ???

Has anyone got any more suggestions (or improvements/comments) that may also be useful in addition?

http://www.kitz.co.uk/routers/speedtouch585.htm
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Azzaka

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • SysAdmin
    • A Designers Work in Progress
Re: Speedtouch 585
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2008, 04:18:41 PM »

Nice one. Here is some more for the page:

Quote
===Reset users===
It is known that some customers will find themselves locked out from the GUI after changing the password for the '''Administrator''' user, however they will still have access via ''telnet''. Do the following to create an appropriate user.

 user flush
 exit

Telnet to the router again but this time use the username '''root''' with no password.

 user add name Admin password awordortwo role SuperUser defuser enabled defremadmin enabled deflocadmin enabled

Further options may be requested, however defaults or blanks are allowed.
Check that access to the GUI is now allowed using the new details.

===Allow remote access to GUI or Telnet===
Users that want to remotely manage their routers either through the GUI or via telnet can.
First create a user as above, this gives that user privilege to manage remotely, then telnet to the router.

 service system ifadd name HTTP group wan
 service system ifadd name HTTPs group wan
 service system ifadd name TELNET group wan

This of course opens the router up to anyone on the internet. To secure access to an IP or range of IP's type the following.

 service system ipadd name HTTP ip 212.23.9.250
 service system ipadd name HTTPs ip 82.69.227.30/29
 service system ipadd name TELNET ip 212.23.9.250-212.23.9.259

If locking down to IP, remember that it takes effect immediately. If you are connected to the router via telnet from the local network and you lock telnet down to a WAN IP you will be instantly disconnected and be unable to connect from anywhere other than the WAN IP specified. '''Be sure to add the IP you are currently connected from first'''.

Logged
I Sync', I Auth', therefore I am.
Online

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33882
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Speedtouch 585
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2008, 09:31:03 AM »

Thanks Azzaka.

I'll add that later today :)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Azzaka

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • SysAdmin
    • A Designers Work in Progress
Re: Speedtouch 585
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2008, 06:40:25 PM »

Always welcome :D
Logged
I Sync', I Auth', therefore I am.
Online

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33882
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Speedtouch 585
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2008, 10:44:02 PM »

Done - tyvm. :)


btw worth noting on your own records to perhaps try

Code: [Select]
system config digestauth=disabled
first before resetting the users
- just in case its an IE7 lockout which can occur after changing the Administrator password.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Azzaka

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • SysAdmin
    • A Designers Work in Progress
Re: Speedtouch 585
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2008, 09:56:54 AM »

Nice one... Added.  ;)
Logged
I Sync', I Auth', therefore I am.
Online