Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: cloning SSD  (Read 4641 times)

chenks

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 726
cloning SSD
« on: March 26, 2019, 04:19:53 PM »

i need to clone an SSD.. ie make an exact copy (including making it bootable - windows).
i'll then remove the original SSD and replace it with the new one.

what tool do you guys use these days for such a task?
i haven't done it in many years and the last time was using a boot floppy that used Norton Ghost.
Logged

parkdale

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 308
Re: cloning SSD
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2019, 05:52:36 PM »

What make of ssd do you use.... as these days most provide cloning tools
Logged

tiffy

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 594
Re: cloning SSD
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2019, 06:21:58 PM »

I use Macrium Reflect (free edition) find this to be reliable and very user friendly.
Also use for making regular SSD disk backup images, SSD's can fail without warning.
Logged
Plusnet 40/10 - DSLStats/RPi - ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A - Huawei Cab - MDWS (sadly gone 12/03/18)

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 373
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
Re: cloning SSD
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2019, 10:24:03 PM »

Acronis has never failed me
Logged
Zen FTTC and Plusnet ADSL HG612 modems with Vigor 2925

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2651
Re: cloning SSD
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2019, 09:09:23 AM »

Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 7871
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: cloning SSD
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2019, 09:18:41 AM »

I have found Acronis stuff to be excellent.
Logged

Chunkers

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 379
  • Brick Wall head-banger
Re: cloning SSD
« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2019, 09:22:11 AM »

I used Paragon software last time I migrated an OS I(admittedly a few years ago) and it work ed very well.

C
Logged

chenks

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 726
Re: cloning SSD
« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2019, 12:48:28 PM »

the hardware hasn't arrive yet, so i've not had a chance to test any of the applications yet.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5952
Re: cloning SSD
« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2019, 01:03:42 PM »

macrium is a good bet.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1996
Re: cloning SSD
« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2019, 03:10:40 PM »

I just noticed this thread. I upgraded my dads old laptop hdd to an ssd a couple of days ago.

I have acronis on this computer but wanted a more simple solution.

After watching a video on youtube I bought a samsung 860 evo 500GB 2.5 inch ssd. It was replacing a 250GB hdd.

When I ordered the drive I also ordered a USB to SSD connector.

I then went to the sumsung website and downloaded the samsung data migration software, installed it. Then connected the ssd to the usb-to-sdd cable, and connected the cable to the laptop. Then I ran the software. It saw the new ssd and displayed the current hdd as the source disk, and the ssd as the target disk and clicked the OK button and off it went. It took just over 2 hours. Then it asked me to shut down the laptop and swap the drives. I did. Booted up and all is good.

I believe Crucial also have a similar migration software too for their drives.
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab
 

anything