Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Speed Test with Low Data Use  (Read 1173 times)

aesmith

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 896
Speed Test with Low Data Use
« on: March 22, 2019, 09:25:15 AM »

Hi,
Just wondered if anyone knew of a convenient speed test that doesn't use much data,  even at the expense of accuracy.  It seems like Ookla uses nearly 100meg for each test, although their mobile app appears to use much less.

Thanks,  Tony S
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 7719
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Speed Test with Low Data Use
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2019, 03:57:07 AM »

On the page for the AA speedtest2.aa.net.uk, at the very bottom of that page it has links to download-test files of differing sizes, so if you use those then you are in control. Im not sure how much data AAs own tester uses.

Those test files are taken from the thinkbroadband speed tests page which has a wide selection of download- and upload-test files of differing sizes and their own decent speed tester too.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32189
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Speed Test with Low Data Use
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2019, 11:00:37 AM »

You don't say which platform you are using, but if on a windows machine you could try Netmeter Evo.   
It's not actually a speed tester, but it does gives an extremely accurate reading of actual throughput from a standalone .exe   
I've used it for years to check real time speeds and diagnostics.   You can use it in conjunction with the TBB test tiles.

http://www.metal-machine.de/readerror/
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

aesmith

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 896
Re: Speed Test with Low Data Use
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2019, 02:18:10 PM »

Thanks for that, it was Windows I was thinking of. 
Logged

violetevergarden7511

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Speed Test with Low Data Use
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2019, 04:43:37 PM »

You don't say which platform you are using, but if on a windows machine you could try Netmeter Evo.   
It's not actually a speed tester, but it does gives an extremely accurate reading of actual throughput from a standalone .exe   
I've used it for years to check real time speeds and diagnostics.   You can use it in conjunction with the TBB test tiles.

http://www.metal-machine.de/readerror/

can we use the same for mac too?
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32189
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Speed Test with Low Data Use
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2019, 12:06:25 PM »

Sorry, I think it is designed for Windows only :(
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1181
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: Speed Test with Low Data Use
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2019, 07:37:56 AM »

Mac resource monitor should work for this.
Logged
-----
Deploying better networks, not just faster ones.