Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Vodaphone blaming OpenReach's line cards for speed issues?  (Read 638 times)

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1351
Vodaphone blaming OpenReach's line cards for speed issues?
« on: March 01, 2019, 02:56:46 PM »

https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2019/03/isp-vodafone-uk-responds-to-gripes-over-slow-video-streaming.html

Quote
Over the past couple of months there appears to have been a rise in complaints from customers of Vodafone’s superfast home broadband (FTTC) packages. Quite a few are reporting slowing speeds, particularly related to problems when trying to use popular video streaming services (Netflix, Twitch etc.).

...

In a statement first published today on The Register, Vodafone has now officially blamed the sporadic problem on “some line cards” and stated that the issue only affects a “small number of customers” (note: they have a total fixed broadband customer base of 525,000+).
« Last Edit: March 02, 2019, 10:01:22 AM by jelv »
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2545
Re: Vodaphone blaming OpenReach's line cards for speed issues?
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2019, 03:33:42 PM »

There's some confusion here. Vodafone aren't talking about Openreachs line cards.

Mark has gone on to discuss Openreach FTTC DSLAM line cards in that article which certainly confuses matters but I don't believe Vodafone were blaming the DSLAM line cards.

Quote from: Vodafone
"We are in the process of upgrading our network configuration and discovered a technical issue with some line cards which means a small number of customers may experience slower speeds when accessing certain sites. This has nothing to do with throttling or traffic management, which we do not use on our broadband service. We are working hard to fix the issue in order to give any customer affected a great online experience. We’re sorry for any inconvenience caused."

I'd love to know how they managed to test Openreach's line cards and how they intend to deploy a fix.

I would safely assume they didn't mean the DSLAM line cards at all, but rather their own equipment.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27144
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Vodaphone blaming OpenReach's line cards for speed issues?
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2019, 05:27:02 PM »

I would safely assume they didn't mean the DSLAM line cards at all, but rather their own equipment.

Looking a little deeper into this story, I strongly suspect that the "line cards" are elements of Vodafone's core routers within their own domain.

I see that Saffy, at Thinkbroadband, has come to a similar conclusion.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32137
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Vodaphone blaming OpenReach's line cards for speed issues?
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2019, 11:30:49 PM »

I concur.
Bit historic now, but theory is still the same.   This is a photo of an old Juniper ERX which Plusnet used to use for their gateways, where you can clearly see the line cards.

https://kitz.co.uk/adsl/images/erx_1400_front.jpg

No idea what Vodafone use, but a lot of SP's use the more updated Juniper MX's as gateways where traffic aggregates onto their network.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1351
Re: Vodaphone blaming OpenReach's line cards for speed issues?
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2019, 10:02:09 AM »

In light of the above posts I've made a minor modification to the topic title.
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2545
Re: Vodaphone blaming OpenReach's line cards for speed issues?
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2019, 12:10:17 PM »

In light of the above posts I've made a minor modification to the topic title.

lol  :D
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27144
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Vodaphone blaming OpenReach's line cards for speed issues?
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2019, 05:22:35 PM »

In light of the above posts I've made a minor modification to the topic title.

And I have now made it a global change for all posts in this thread.  :)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.