Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 3 [4]

Author Topic: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast  (Read 4482 times)

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 467
Re: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast
« Reply #45 on: March 11, 2019, 08:03:08 PM »

March arrived and about half the pods I am aware of have been enabled and are now accepting orders. Infuriating as it is, mine is still not enabled. I am hoping that it will be within the next few weeks since most of the pods were attached within the same couple of months (though, I know quite right it means nothing).

Interestingly enough, addresses that are enabled are all showing Amber to my knowledge regardless of estimates.
Logged

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 467
Re: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast
« Reply #46 on: April 14, 2019, 12:05:26 AM »

Oh God, I hate to hit my own thread up with what is essentially a non update in some regards. :-[

Still no enablement yet. Had some contact with OR, reckons only a few weeks since engineering works have now been completed. I have a feeling it will be the last to be enabled since the one down the road - despite being fitted a few months after - is already enabled.

It's sad that I will have to leave AAISP if I want G.fast once it becomes available because:
  • There is no plan to sell 330/50
  • The cost of 70pm for 2 TB with 160/30 speeds is a bit steep
  • 160/50 (which is just a butchered 330/50 package) will cost an additional 10pm
  • Min. 12 month term (understandable given what I presume is 12 month min. term from OR on G.fast, but this flexibility was a massive selling point for me on FTTC with A&A)

Looks like I will either jump on the Zen or IDNET ship - probably the former since cheaper activation, monthly cost (for 330/50, 7.81pm cheaper) and a "free" router.

How is Zen's IPv6 anyway, if someone could advise?
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3148
Re: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast
« Reply #47 on: April 14, 2019, 09:21:25 AM »

There's me thinking 43 a month for unlimited 380/21 was a bit steep, 70 for less even if with AA is down right expensive in my mind.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 467
Re: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast
« Reply #48 on: April 14, 2019, 01:57:56 PM »

I understand how A&A is positioned in the market and its appeal to certain users. I think I am no longer it's target audience, at least when G.fast arrives.

I don't think 2TB is a terrible allowance, even at Ultrafast speeds I'd probably struggle to chew through more than a single TB under normal circumstances. But no 330 Mbps downstream, and with 50 Mbps upstream costing 80pm, it's 20pm more than the competition with 330/50 (well, it's not really so much competition due to different target audiences, I guess).
Logged

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
Re: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast
« Reply #49 on: April 16, 2019, 08:52:56 AM »

I would have to agree with that too. That is a lot of money for G.Fast 160Mb.

Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 467
Re: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast
« Reply #50 on: April 16, 2019, 02:21:11 PM »

Slightly unrelated, but I believe my FTTC cabinet may have had the capacity increased recently as it was full and a short while after OR came out it was back to available again. Though could be pure coincidence since people may have switched to ADSLx or ceased.

I know the cabinet had 6 line cards when it was plonked into place back in 2015, which I presume would be the standard 48 port (sadly can't really tell from the photo I have). I don't see a High Density upgrade, so I imagine they can just swap out the 48 for 64 port line cards these days?

Either way, it's starting to eat away at my margins :no::
Code: [Select]
Max:    Upstream rate = 27040 Kbps, Downstream rate = 80777 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 19999 Kbps, Downstream rate = 79999 Kbps
Bearer: 1, Upstream rate = 0 Kbps, Downstream rate = 0 Kbps
Link Power State:       L0
Mode:                   VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile:          Profile 17a
TPS-TC:                 PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis:                U:ON /D:ON
Line Status:            No Defect
Training Status:        Showtime
                Down            Up
SNR (dB):        6.4             15.6
Attn(dB):        9.3             0.0
Pwr(dBm):        13.1           -6.2
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
 

anything