Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: FTTC Firmware change  (Read 1717 times)

Sheepie

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
FTTC Firmware change
« on: February 06, 2019, 05:53:28 PM »

Not sure if this has been noticed or mentioned before but my line reset yesterday and synced back up 15Mb higher on the downstream so I thought I would see if I can find out why. It turns out that the DSLAM firmware was changed and I am now able to use the 3db profile. The connection was down for 20mins while the firmware was changed.

Tuesday:

DSLAM/MSAN type:                BDCM:0xa48c / v0xa48c
Modem/router firmware:          AnnexA version - A2pv6C038m.d24j
DSL mode:                       VDSL2 Profile 17a
Status:                         Showtime
Uptime:                         69 days 4 hours 49 min 3 sec
Resyncs:                        0 (since 11 Jan 2019 14:06:19)

Today:

DSLAM/MSAN type:                BDCM:0xb12d / v0xb12d
Modem/router firmware:          AnnexA version - A2pv6C038m.d24j
DSL mode:                       VDSL2 Profile 17a
Status:                         Showtime
Uptime:                          11 hours 37 min 8 sec
Resyncs:                        1 (since 11 Jan 2019 14:06:19)

Logged

vultura

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 202
  • ECI Cabinet Afflicted
Re: FTTC Firmware change
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2019, 06:06:51 PM »

Logged
Has anyone seen my signature, it seems to have disappeared, along with Openreach turning on G.INP on ECI cabinets ever again.

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3052
Re: FTTC Firmware change
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2019, 06:18:39 PM »

Quote
It turns out that the DSLAM firmware was changed and I am now able to use the 3db profile. The connection was down for 20mins while the firmware was changed.

Confused by the bit i put in bold.

There is no need for a firmware update for 3dB SNRM targets.
I was on a 3dB SNRM target on the 0xa48c firmware and remained on it after the DSLAM updated to 0xb12d

If it happened yesterday then it wouldn't be possible for the line to be on a 3dB SNRM target already.
The SNRM target moves in 1dB increments, and leaves at least 2 days between changes.

What is more likely is the DSLAM has rebooted due to the firmware update and resynced at 6dB before some crosstalkers.
This increased your sync by 15Mb.
Then those crosstalkers connected and your SNRM dropped to nearer 3dB.

If your attainable is still the same as before then the line is still at 6dB.

If i recall correctly you had 2 lines and 1 had no G.INP.
Is that still the case?
DLM won't apply a 3dB SNRM without G.INP.
Logged
BT FTTP 160/30 - BQM - speed test

Sheepie

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
Re: FTTC Firmware change
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2019, 06:42:10 PM »

ok so the 3db does look like it might be down to the fact the cab got rebooted and I synced up before many crosstalkers.

I do have 2 lines, and both had firmware changed at the same time (obviously). What is odd is the max attainable on one of them which has jumped (line2).

Line 1 (which has G.INP enabled):
Before - Max:    Upstream rate = 22806 Kbps, Downstream rate = 69544 Kbps
After - Max:    Upstream rate = 25207 Kbps, Downstream rate = 69000 Kbps

Line 2 (no G.INP, and no interleave):
Before - Max:    Upstream rate = 25040 Kbps, Downstream rate = 64550 Kbps
After - Max:    Upstream rate = 25542 Kbps, Downstream rate = 75400 Kbps

Anyone know what the differemces are in the frimware/cards? I hope it's not increased the capacity in the cab - more crosstalk :(

Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3052
Re: FTTC Firmware change
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2019, 08:04:25 PM »

I believe my firmware upgraded when they added the 64 port line cards (HD expansion on the cabinet).

Check if your FTTC cabinet has grown. The bigger cabinets get a couple inches wider on the right.
The smaller Huawei cabinets get a considerably bigger extension also on the right of the cabinet.
Logged
BT FTTP 160/30 - BQM - speed test

Sheepie

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
Re: FTTC Firmware change
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2019, 11:24:50 AM »

Checked out the street cab, and yes there is an extra 10cm or so been added to the right side.
Logged

Sheepie

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
Re: FTTC Firmware change
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2020, 01:10:41 PM »

There has been another firmware change at my DSLAM, which for some reason has resulted in my Max Downstream going from 66010 to 82168 Kbps:

Max:    Upstream rate = 24296 Kbps, Downstream rate = 63728 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 20000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 66010 Kbps

to

Max:    Upstream rate = 28892 Kbps, Downstream rate = 82168 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 20000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 79987 Kbps

The new firmware is

DSLAM/MSAN type:                BDCM:0xc01c / v0xc01c
Modem/router firmware:          AnnexA version - A2pv6C038m.d24j
DSL mode:                       VDSL2 Profile 17a

Everything else appears to be the same (Fastpath, no GINP, no Vectoring).

Anyone else seen this firmware?
Logged

fwdlink

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: FTTC Firmware change
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2020, 10:15:29 AM »

I've also had an update on my cabinet on 8th January starting at 01:27, according to the stats it took about 10 minutes to apply.

Before:
DSLAM type / SW version:   BDCM:0xa48c (164.140) / v0xa48c

After:
DSLAM type / SW version:   BDCM:0xa49a (164.154) / v0xa49a

My stats are effectively the same, only that my crosstalker is home and modem on so I lost 5Mb of sync as her modem clearly got in before mine, sigh.
Logged

tommy45

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 604
Re: FTTC Firmware change
« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2020, 05:20:17 PM »

 Mine is @ BDCM:0xa4a1 (164.161) / v0xa4a1, hasn't changed recently
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1553
    • My Broadband History
Re: FTTC Firmware change
« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2020, 09:52:36 AM »

Whistles in ECI. :'(
Logged
Exchange: INTAKE (ECI) ISP/Modems: Zen (Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt) + Plusnet (VMG-3925-B10B) + Three (Hauwei B535-232)
Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 468
Re: FTTC Firmware change
« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2020, 01:58:05 PM »

Firmware won't help with crosstalk though - the lines will drop back to their usual speed shortly (and further if you've got more crosstalkers to play with)
Logged
Sky + AAISP FTTC ~ 130/34 combined @ 3dB HG612's
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.7 on Ryzen 3 3200
 

anything