Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: Help building a new home network  (Read 3105 times)

michty_me

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 590
Re: Help building a new home network
« Reply #30 on: December 31, 2018, 09:33:56 AM »

I'm not really any more further forward than where I was a few weeks ago. I didn't want to distract my brother through his Christmas holidays with his new born so told him just to wait until the new year before we continue.
We should manage to finish it all in a few hours though.
I remember someone saying (possibly Dave) to utilise cupboards and that may be the easiest route to get cables run into the loft from the stair wall.
Have a happy and healthy new year.
Logged

Westie

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1568
Re: Help building a new home network
« Reply #31 on: December 31, 2018, 10:46:50 PM »

Take the day off, and start with a clear head next year!
Logged

michty_me

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 590
Re: Help building a new home network
« Reply #32 on: January 01, 2019, 06:39:50 PM »

Don't worry westie, we have had a few weeks off it now  :D
Logged

michty_me

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 590
Re: Help building a new home network
« Reply #33 on: January 24, 2019, 09:46:40 PM »

It's not the best picture but everything is in, Hooked up, Tested, Secured etc.
I just now need to Get permanent power in there and my master socket with modem and a quick tidy up of cables and I should be finished.
Logged

chenks

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 657
Re: Help building a new home network
« Reply #34 on: January 25, 2019, 10:48:50 AM »

are you using two switches?
and where is your modem currently?
Logged

michty_me

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 590
Re: Help building a new home network
« Reply #35 on: January 25, 2019, 02:01:32 PM »

No chenks, I have one switch taking each feed from the patch panel then into eth1 on the Edgerouter. I have WAN on eth0 and PoE out to the AP on eth4.
My modem is in the hall still, I just ran a 10m cat5e cable to it yesterday to set it up. This will be moved to where this equipment is shortly.
Logged

chenks

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 657
Re: Help building a new home network
« Reply #36 on: January 25, 2019, 02:10:28 PM »

oh that's a patch panel (the big black box)
Logged

michty_me

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 590
Re: Help building a new home network
« Reply #37 on: January 25, 2019, 04:57:17 PM »

Yup, Just a big wall mount bracket to hold it in place really.
I think I went a bit wild with the cable pulling. I've got 15 cables in place and utilizing two at present.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]