Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5

Author Topic: Plusnet Broadband issues  (Read 11440 times)

guest_10

Plusnet Broadband issues
« on: January 25, 2019, 01:48:46 PM »

Hi all

We recently switched over to PlusNet Fibre from BT Infinity and since that point had nothing but problems and have no clue what the issue is. I'm not an expert on things, but I know a little bit. So I'll try to give as much info as possible.

ISP: Plusnet
Master Socket: NTE5C with VDSL faceplate (This was installed recently by the openreach engineer when the problems started prior to this it was the old master socket with a mk 3 faceplate)
Modem Router: Formerly Plusnet One now changed back to the BT Smart Hub 6.
Cabinet: Huawei
Home Set-Up: Multiple devices wired to a Switch and 2 x Linksys RE6500 access points wired via CAT 6 to the router.

Prior to switching over to Plusnet we had BT and didn't have any issues with broadband speed at all. I tested the line pretty regularly using speedtest and I would get pretty similar speeds using a CAT 6 or wireless on both bands. Wireless test was always done in the room where the router or access points were. Didn't experience any noticeable issues.

Since switching over to Plusnet, the problems kicked in with slow internet speeds and regular dropouts. Currently getting speeds of around 5 - 6 meg on the laptop via WiFi sitting in the same room as the router.