Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Is anyone using Three 5G?  (Read 2434 times)

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3128
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Is anyone using Three 5G?
« Reply #15 on: January 20, 2021, 10:46:51 PM »

Iím guessing only Cellular is 4x4 so itís just 2x2 on WiFi .

https://www.samsungmobilepress.com/mediaresources/galaxy_s10_5g/techspecs

Just could be the case that the chipset, drivers and antennas are just better in the phone compared to the laptop.
I get different throughput on my first gen iPad Pro compared to my friends latest iPad Pro with the same router, he can achieve 100Mbps extra.

Yes I think it might be 4x4 on LTE as naturally cellular service is considered a higher priority.

Honestly I think Windows 10 networking gets worse and worse over time, not really a shock that Android can outrun it.  But its not like I haven't tested Linux on the laptops either, so in this particular scenario its not OS related.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Home Hub 5A (OpenWRT) on Zen, Hauwei B353-232 on Libera 4G, Hauwei CPE Pro 2 H122-373 on Three 5G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Zyxel NWA210AX + Ubiquiti nanoHD (OpenWRT)
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

Newfie

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: Is anyone using Three 5G?
« Reply #16 on: January 20, 2021, 11:04:51 PM »

Iíve never used windows 10, Iím all Apple not that they are perfect either apart from their rather high prices and too much control which I hate with a passion.

WiFi can be a strange creature at times. If Iím honest the router Iím using now has been one of the best Iíve tested so Iíve stuck with it even though itís not quite perfect but good enough.


Logged

pob

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: Is anyone using Three 5G?
« Reply #17 on: January 21, 2021, 01:33:27 PM »

Decided to give the Three 5G Hub Home Broadband a try.

Quite happy with this:



A bit of an increase from my 40/7 service with FTTC TalkTalk
« Last Edit: January 21, 2021, 02:12:43 PM by pob »
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4166
Re: Is anyone using Three 5G?
« Reply #18 on: January 21, 2021, 03:51:00 PM »

Very nice, how close are you to the cell tower?

I'm 400 meters if they ever get around to installing it.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

meritez

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 809
Re: Is anyone using Three 5G?
« Reply #19 on: January 21, 2021, 04:24:28 PM »

Decided to give the Three 5G Hub Home Broadband a try.

Quite happy with this:



A bit of an increase from my 40/7 service with FTTC TalkTalk

I saw the Northampton and was happy for a second, and then realised that's the test server  :lol:
Logged

pob

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: Is anyone using Three 5G?
« Reply #20 on: January 21, 2021, 08:28:24 PM »

Sorry about that!  ::)
I'm in Sheffield S25.  According to Google Earth I'm 506 metres from the cell tower.
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3128
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Is anyone using Three 5G?
« Reply #21 on: January 21, 2021, 10:17:32 PM »

Sorry about that!  ::)
I'm in Sheffield S25.  According to Google Earth I'm 506 metres from the cell tower.


They recently did work on the local tower here in S14, website still claims no 5G. :(

I guess I can pull 40Mbit from it on 4G (though right after I got the e-mail saying the work was done I was only getting 7Mbit), but its a little sad when I can pull 90Mbit off O2.

I've ordered a Voxi SIM as I believe that will be the same mast as O2 as its O2/Vodafone so should be interesting.  Getting a 24 month contract on Three was a huge mistake, but as is always the case it was performing better on my PAYG SIM before I got the contract than it was almost immediately afterwards I got the contract.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Home Hub 5A (OpenWRT) on Zen, Hauwei B353-232 on Libera 4G, Hauwei CPE Pro 2 H122-373 on Three 5G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Zyxel NWA210AX + Ubiquiti nanoHD (OpenWRT)
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4166
Re: Is anyone using Three 5G?
« Reply #22 on: January 22, 2021, 07:00:51 PM »

Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3128
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Is anyone using Three 5G?
« Reply #23 on: January 23, 2021, 03:24:26 PM »

Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Home Hub 5A (OpenWRT) on Zen, Hauwei B353-232 on Libera 4G, Hauwei CPE Pro 2 H122-373 on Three 5G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Zyxel NWA210AX + Ubiquiti nanoHD (OpenWRT)
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4166
Re: Is anyone using Three 5G?
« Reply #24 on: January 23, 2021, 06:08:03 PM »

I'm thinking of a word I cannot say on a open forum right now!

LOL  :D

Actually beat that last night.

https://www.speedtest.net/result/c/34e6c0b1-20ab-4d56-9e93-8db75b1b1b55

Hopefully I'll start a thread tomorrow, and detail my rather basic investigations so far.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3128
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Is anyone using Three 5G?
« Reply #25 on: January 23, 2021, 06:58:47 PM »

You reminded me at least to cancel Three.  They offered me a discount with a new router, but sod getting tied into a new 24 month contract for a service I don't need.  I originally got it for portable use but initially the performance was pretty dire where I needed it and then the pandemic meant I didn't use it at all.

Going to try a few different networks on monthly contracts or PAYG just out of curiosity, to pass the time until FTTP rolls out and I get the vaccine (that combo would feel like winning the lottery right now).
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Home Hub 5A (OpenWRT) on Zen, Hauwei B353-232 on Libera 4G, Hauwei CPE Pro 2 H122-373 on Three 5G Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Zyxel NWA210AX + Ubiquiti nanoHD (OpenWRT)
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors
Pages: 1 [2]