Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7]

Author Topic: Cabinet 25 DSLAM Installation  (Read 4011 times)

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2386
Re: Cabinet 25 DSLAM Installation
« Reply #90 on: May 09, 2019, 05:09:02 PM »

The line shouldn't be far off 80Mb in 2 days after interleaving is removed and G.INP applied.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

mentaltom

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: Cabinet 25 DSLAM Installation
« Reply #91 on: May 09, 2019, 07:40:38 PM »

The line shouldn't be far off 80Mb in 2 days after interleaving is removed and G.INP applied.


Thanks both. All happens automatically I take it ? Will just leave everything connected as is?
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3183
Re: Cabinet 25 DSLAM Installation
« Reply #92 on: May 09, 2019, 08:01:40 PM »

Yes all happens automatically, but not always in two days, sometimes it's longer. Once G.INP is applied the target dB will be reduced if the line is considered stable enough, you should easily get 80Mbps.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

mentaltom

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: Cabinet 25 DSLAM Installation
« Reply #93 on: May 14, 2019, 05:55:05 PM »

Hey All.

Decided to migrate over to the HG612 this morning. The rx sync speed actually went down from 68 to 62Mb between the sky hub and the hg612 respectively, but I have not dared attempted a reboot. I kept the modem off for about 40 minutes after disconnecting the sky hub. However this means that I have now been able to take full line stats which I show below.

The HG612ís IP is set to 192.168.10.1 (changed from the default of 1.1 which is the same as my router) - despite setting up a static route on my router to pass traffic for 192.168.10.0/24 to 192.168.10.1, I canít access it from my main network. Always need to plug in to LAN2 with a laptop and manually set an IP on it within the 10. range. Also tried following steps I saw on AAISP wiki to allow me to access the modem via the LAN1 port, but I canít set the WAN port on my router to a static IP because quite rightly the modem passes the WAN IP it gets from Sky to this interface using DHCP. 

Logged

mentaltom

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: Cabinet 25 DSLAM Installation
« Reply #94 on: May 14, 2019, 05:58:46 PM »

1. I donít think G.INP has been applied yet

2. Do my stats look good or would any of you express a cause for concern ? Iíll need to learn to interpret these graphs I am afraid
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 26158
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Cabinet 25 DSLAM Installation
« Reply #95 on: May 14, 2019, 10:47:37 PM »

The plots are quite respectable. I cannot see anything that would give me cause for concern about the state of the metallic pathway between the modem and the DSLAM. There is a little sign of some cross-talk with other circuits but there is nothing to worry about . . . especially as nothing can be done about it.

I can confirm that currently G.Inp (ITU-T G.998.4) is not active on your circuit.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3183
Re: Cabinet 25 DSLAM Installation
« Reply #96 on: May 15, 2019, 06:16:33 AM »

Why don't you set the modern to 192.168.1.254 and just connect LAN 2 to spare port on the router or to a switch if you have one?
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

mentaltom

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: Cabinet 25 DSLAM Installation
« Reply #97 on: May 15, 2019, 10:49:47 AM »

Why don't you set the modern to 192.168.1.254 and just connect LAN 2 to spare port on the router or to a switch if you have one?

I'l try that - thank you.  Just ran out of time yesterday.  Apart from that, does everything else look OK? Roll on G.INP - I did phone sky about when it's likely to be applied but they did not understand.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2386
Re: Cabinet 25 DSLAM Installation
« Reply #98 on: May 15, 2019, 11:42:53 AM »

Most ISP's don't understand the FTTC DLM.
They have absolutely zero control over it.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

mentaltom

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: Cabinet 25 DSLAM Installation
« Reply #99 on: May 15, 2019, 11:57:32 AM »

Most ISP's don't understand the FTTC DLM.
They have absolutely zero control over it.

Thanks John. Ok, Iíll just sit tight and be patient and hopefully over the next few weeks Iíll notice G.INP be applied.
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3183
Re: Cabinet 25 DSLAM Installation
« Reply #100 on: May 15, 2019, 01:23:19 PM »

I'm no good at interpreting the stats, but g.inp can take a long time to be applied,  my brothers took absolutely ages, no idea why.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 26158
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Cabinet 25 DSLAM Installation
« Reply #101 on: May 15, 2019, 06:57:20 PM »

. . . does everything else look OK?

Yes. As I said in reply #95, above.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7]