Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: New cabinet / DSLAM - will local lines be moved?  (Read 1147 times)

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3106
Re: New cabinet / DSLAM - will local lines be moved?
« Reply #15 on: March 15, 2019, 03:45:34 PM »

That's  good to hear, thanks for updating us.

Are you going to upgrade to 80/20?

The interleaving will be removed soon, hopefully in a few days but possibly longer.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2330
Re: New cabinet / DSLAM - will local lines be moved?
« Reply #16 on: March 15, 2019, 03:51:24 PM »

Should switch from Interleaving to ReTx in 2 days.

Glad to hear everything went well.  :congrats: :yay: :clap: :thumbs:
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

Bobsta

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: New cabinet / DSLAM - will local lines be moved?
« Reply #17 on: March 15, 2019, 04:14:27 PM »

That's  good to hear, thanks for updating us.

Are you going to upgrade to 80/20?

Yes, absolutely. Plusnet's tools currently won't let me order the 80/20 package which they believe is because the cabinet isn't officially open for orders. They're going to keep an eye on things and hopefully in the next week or two when databases are updated I can be bumped up.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 25684
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: New cabinet / DSLAM - will local lines be moved?
« Reply #18 on: March 15, 2019, 06:13:18 PM »

There is just one thing that puzzles me . . .

In reply #3 you show two images of the new AIO cabinet.
In reply #11 you mention walking to the new cabinet, as your telephone and broadband services had been disrupted, and showed another image. This latter image does not match either of the two images in reply #3.

  ???
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3106
Re: New cabinet / DSLAM - will local lines be moved?
« Reply #19 on: March 15, 2019, 06:40:28 PM »

It does, it's just end on, you can see the same wooden fence in both and also see the same white sign post in both.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

Bobsta

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: New cabinet / DSLAM - will local lines be moved?
« Reply #20 on: March 15, 2019, 11:06:21 PM »

It does, it's just end on, you can see the same wooden fence in both and also see the same white sign post in both.

Correct. I agree that the first two pics show the verge looking quite maintained versus the one in post 11... but I can assure you it's definitely the same cab. In fact the OR engineer is down in the trench/pit which you can see the covers for in the second pic (lower right corner).

Maybe this'll help (although I'm sure we've all seen enough green cabinet pics):
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 25684
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: New cabinet / DSLAM - will local lines be moved?
« Reply #21 on: March 15, 2019, 11:21:54 PM »

Ah, ha. Thank you. The curious kitteh now understands the physical layout.  :)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Alucidnation

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
Re: New cabinet / DSLAM - will local lines be moved?
« Reply #22 on: March 16, 2019, 11:52:35 AM »

How does it show max sync at 82?

I though they were all capped at 80 or 40, package dependant?
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3106
Re: New cabinet / DSLAM - will local lines be moved?
« Reply #23 on: March 16, 2019, 12:04:03 PM »

The modem shows what it considers to be the maximum attainable speed given no imposed limits, that is the speed he stated. It should be noted that if interleaving is applied then this figure will be incorrect and higher than it should be, it probably also doesn't take into account lower SNR targets, so maximum attainable speed would be higher if the SNR target was lowered.
« Last Edit: March 16, 2019, 12:40:04 PM by Ronski »
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

Alucidnation

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
Re: New cabinet / DSLAM - will local lines be moved?
« Reply #24 on: March 16, 2019, 12:18:49 PM »

Ah ok, so it is capped at 80 before transmission?
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1902
Re: New cabinet / DSLAM - will local lines be moved?
« Reply #25 on: March 16, 2019, 12:36:48 PM »

The max attainable rate will take into account whatever value the target SNRM is.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2330
Re: New cabinet / DSLAM - will local lines be moved?
« Reply #26 on: March 16, 2019, 02:00:43 PM »

Ah ok, so it is capped at 80 before transmission?

All 80/20 lines are capped at 80Mb, even though the max attainable may be 99Mb.
If there wasn't an 80Mb cap then that 99Mb would be roughly where the line would sync.

The max attainable shows what they line would sync at if there was no cap at all, wether it was a 40Mb/55Mb/80Mb cap.

The way Interleaving/INP is applied on FTTC makes the max attainable over estimate.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

Alex Atkin UK

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
Re: New cabinet / DSLAM - will local lines be moved?
« Reply #27 on: March 16, 2019, 09:29:05 PM »

I actually have an interesting comparison having been on Digital Region.

I used to get a max attainable of 130Mbit and actual sync of 99.9Mbit, but once I switched to BT its never been that high.  I suspect something to do with the band plans.

Its quite depressing seeing my line syncing at 76Mbit these days though, my new second line is only hitting 63Mbit. :(

Don't get me wrong, I appreciate that other people have it WAY worse, but its never good to see things going backwards.
Logged
Dual VDSL Zen/Plusnet connected to an i5-7200U appliance running pfSense.

Bobsta

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: New cabinet / DSLAM - will local lines be moved?
« Reply #28 on: March 19, 2019, 05:51:10 PM »

You folks were spot on... after ~36hrs active, at around 1am Sunday the modem resync'd, enabling G.INP and lowering the interleave depth from 1283 to 16 (resulting in my latency halving).

Reported max rates are now 81424 down / 29128 up.

Have ordered Plusnet Fibre Extra (80/20) which should go live overnight, so fingers crossed.  :fingers:
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

anything