Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: First day with new Billion 8800NL R2  (Read 1452 times)

tubaman

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2600
Re: First day with new Billion 8800NL R2
« Reply #30 on: January 10, 2019, 05:31:54 PM »

"Debug mode", I believe.  ;)

In the case of my now defunct D6220 it was an open-source package that sends it a 'magic packet' to enable telnet access.
It may well be Debug Mode for other Netgear devices.
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

siofjofj

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: First day with new Billion 8800NL R2
« Reply #31 on: January 10, 2019, 05:53:06 PM »

I had a sudden thought, during the night, about TP-Link Archer devices . . .

I've only had experience of one of those devices and it provided a severely restricted command line interface, such that it was impossible to use DSLstats to monitor the line. So caution is advised, until someone is able to confirm that DSLstats can be  used with an Archer VR600.  :-\

I can  confirm that using DSLstats on the VR600 v1 (firmware 160614) is possible using the procedure I detailed here https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,14377.msg357441.html#msg357441 though I'd now recommend using Flossies' python script (https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,17108.msg368999.html#msg368999) to do the decryption and encryption of the configuration file.

To be honest, I'm extremely happy with my VR600. It has this board's favourite chipset (BCM63168), has the best performance out of all the modems I've tried on my TT ADSL line, is very stable and has excellent WiFi performance. The main disadvantages of it for me are the (relatively minor) amount of faff you need to go through to get DSLstats working, and the large amount of missing features from the GUI (e.g. barely any connection stats shown in the GUI).

That said, were I in the market for a new modem/router today I'd probably go with the Zyxel VMG8924-B10A for the more comprehensive GUI, out-of-box DSLstats support and MCT approval. Incidentally, this (and other Zyxel devices) can be bought new outside of eBay from stuff-uk: https://www.stuff-uk.net/p-1726434.aspx

Cheers
Logged

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3106
Re: First day with new Billion 8800NL R2
« Reply #32 on: January 10, 2019, 06:05:29 PM »

I had a sudden thought, during the night, about TP-Link Archer devices . . .

I've only had experience of one of those devices and it provided a severely restricted command line interface, such that it was impossible to use DSLstats to monitor the line. So caution is advised, until someone is able to confirm that DSLstats can be  used with an Archer VR600.  :-\
The creature features on the final page of thread https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,14377.90.html. To me it doesn't a goer.
Logged

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3106
Re: First day with new Billion 8800NL R2
« Reply #33 on: January 13, 2019, 10:44:04 PM »

Also I see  a number of Home Hub 5s around, which seem to be usable on BT/PN/EE only. Subject to that limitation, (I can see no likelihood of going to the likes of Sky or TT and such), would a type B be worth a look?
Logged

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3106
Re: First day with new Billion 8800NL R2
« Reply #34 on: January 14, 2019, 06:47:35 AM »

Forgot to ask, easily as am AiO modem router with Plusnet?
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31788
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: First day with new Billion 8800NL R2
« Reply #35 on: January 14, 2019, 11:58:30 AM »

While I'm not a fan of the chipset, or shouldn't be that bad.

3780 ES in 2 hours 30 minutes is excessive to say the least and makes me think the device is faulty.

I'd tend to agree.   The BCM 63381 is also in the VMG1213-B10D and the TP-Link TD-W9970.   I have both of those modems.. and on my line they perform on a similar par to the HG612 with its older BCM 6368.

iirc b*cat has also had a VMG1312-B10D with a BCM63381 on his adsl line and if memory serves correctly I'm sure he said it worked perfectly fine, slightly better than the HG612, but not as good as the B10A version.

Both Saffy and Zen have highly rated modems with the 63381 chipset (TD-W9970 & VMG1312-B10D respectively) for stability.  The only reason they get less of a rating on here is because we know that the 63168 is the better chipset and the B10A's have the additional noise filter.

I always fall back to my VMG8324/VMG8924 (I have both) is because they far out perform any other modem I have tried on my line when it comes to higher sync and less errors.



---
edited - just noticed I'd missed a '3' in one of the sentences.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2019, 08:25:52 PM by kitz »
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3106
Re: First day with new Billion 8800NL R2
« Reply #36 on: January 14, 2019, 05:22:13 PM »

To an extent my own logic was similar, having talked to other knowledgeables I got an impression that chipset buyers' requirements could mean the designation did not tell all.

Oh and just BTW I posted last night and this morning prior to kitz's post. ;)
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 24981
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: First day with new Billion 8800NL R2
« Reply #37 on: January 14, 2019, 06:24:38 PM »

iirc b*cat has also had a VMG1312-B10D with a BCM63381 on his adsl line and if memory serves correctly I'm sure he said it worked perfectly fine, slightly better than the HG612, but not as good as the B10A version.

Correct. I only stopped using the VMG1312-B10D when a firmware update put it into "very peculiar mode" from which I was not able to recover.

I now use a VMG1312-B10A and I'm entirely satisfied with its performance.



----
edited - Noticed I'd accidentally missed a '3' in the quoted sentence.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2019, 08:28:08 PM by kitz »
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3106
Re: First day with new Billion 8800NL R2
« Reply #38 on: January 15, 2019, 05:36:21 PM »

B'cat The cheapest new found are well over £100. Those below in the mid £80 mark in Ebay are from the EU. They are noted as EU01V1F, not GB02V1F. Am I wisely  wary?

Hmm. No response re my question on BT Hub5.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 24981
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: First day with new Billion 8800NL R2
« Reply #39 on: January 15, 2019, 06:43:03 PM »

B'cat The cheapest new found are well over £100.

Yes, so I've just discovered. :(  [By looking on the Stuff UK Net website.] I paid less than £40-00, each, for my ones. (But they were ISP firmware customised and I needed to perform a de-branding process to convert them to vanilla ZyXEL.)

Quote
Those below in the mid £80 mark in Ebay are from the EU. They are noted as EU01V1F, not GB02V1F. Am I wisely  wary?

Ignoring the leading two alphabetic characters, I would prefer the "02V1F" rather than the "01V1F" version. You are probably being over cautious. I know that Weaver has purchased some VMG1312-B10As from continental Europe . . . the only problem, if I am remembering correctly, was the need for an adaptor to plug the PSU into a standard UK socket.
 
Quote
Hmm. No response re my question on BT Hub5.

I've never had any experience with a BT Hub5A or Hub5B, so I am unable to comment.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31788
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: First day with new Billion 8800NL R2
« Reply #40 on: January 15, 2019, 10:38:01 PM »

I've never had any experience with a BT Hub5A or Hub5B, so I am unable to comment.

Me neither, but the HH5B contains a BCM63268 which is practically the same as the BCM63168 -(source).

-----

Personally I'd prefer a Zyxel just for configuration benefits.  The VMG1312-B10A do tend to be quite expensive atm, you are more likely to be able to pick up a VMG8324-B10A or VMG8924-B10A which are just as good.    The reason some people go for the VMG1312-B10A is because of its box shape which is better if you wish to wall mount, whereas the other 2 are possibly better space savers if on a desk as they stand on end and have a small footprint.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3106
Re: First day with new Billion 8800NL R2
« Reply #41 on: January 17, 2019, 06:44:39 PM »

There's a vmg 8324B10A use on Ebay for a tesco tenner
Code: [Select]
ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A router...  good condition... slight marks on unit from general display...All fittings, Cd, instructions, leads etc... full working order....Only selling as  moving changed to BT package and new router.
From other items selling or sold are defo feminine, so can I be sure it is not locked something else about it.

Also  a fellow member has pointed to an 8924 for around £20.
Logged

tubaman

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2600
Re: First day with new Billion 8800NL R2
« Reply #42 on: January 18, 2019, 01:01:04 PM »

There's a vmg 8324B10A use on Ebay for a tesco tenner
Code: [Select]
ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A router...  good condition... slight marks on unit from general display...All fittings, Cd, instructions, leads etc... full working order....Only selling as  moving changed to BT package and new router.
From other items selling or sold are defo feminine, so can I be sure it is not locked something else about it.

Also  a fellow member has pointed to an 8924 for around £20.

You can never be 100% about things bought from private sellers on eBay, but for £10 I would happily take a chance.
Also, it's very unlikely to be locked in a way that this forum can't help you deal with.
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

hushcoden

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
Re: First day with new Billion 8800NL R2
« Reply #43 on: January 18, 2019, 04:07:22 PM »

Also  a fellow member has pointed to an 8924 for around £20.
If you look at the picture and at the seller description, it's actually a VMG1312-B10A  :baby:
Logged

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3106
Re: First day with new Billion 8800NL R2
« Reply #44 on: January 18, 2019, 04:34:48 PM »

Extract from seller's reply
Quote
Sorry I have no idea, and donít know how I would find out, Iím not that much into technology. - I used it in the Hull area with Kingston Communications, and it worked perfectly.
.
Her reply indicates worse knowledge than mine, and Zyxels are issued by KCOM.

Should anyone even  think of that router, even if it is so cheap?
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4