Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: Problem with rtx high and capping  (Read 1371 times)

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2335
Re: Problem with rtx high and capping
« Reply #15 on: December 27, 2018, 05:01:10 PM »

The DGA4132 being used as a modem can quickly be reconfigured to establish the PPPoE session.

If using another router to do this instead of reconfiguring the DGA4132 make sure to power that off for a bit if not already tried.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

Alex Liddiard

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Problem with rtx high and capping
« Reply #16 on: December 27, 2018, 05:18:40 PM »

Thanks for the info, so that means the IP profile with the current sync should be 68164 * 0.9669 = 65996Kbps (within margin of error) which it currently isn't. The variation in ReTx high IP profiles also explains why the 3rd and 4th sync speeds highlighted in bold don't quite match up as closely as the first two (in both cases I assumed 92% IP profile for ReTx high). I wish I had more evidence to back up the 2nd bug, but unfortunately it seems like the 1st bug with PPPoE covered up a lot of it during those 3 DLM interventions from December 7th to 16th. That was the time when DLM progressively shifted my line from a default profile, to 6db with ReTx disabled, then to 5db with ReTx high, then to 4db with ReTx high.

As for the router, no I haven't tried any other another router. I think I have a Plusnet Hub One in the loft I could try instead of the Asus router. It's an all in one, can those work just in router mode? Ah yes I could reconfigure the DGA4132, could that be done without a resync?

As a side note, I've ordered a Raspberry Pi W and plan to set DSL Stats on it.

Edit: I see the DGA4132 has ifconfig, would something wlike this work on it? https://www.netbsd.org/docs/network/pppoe/
Edit 2: On second thought, I think I'll leave the DGA4132 alone as last time I tried touching the network config I almost locked myself out of the modem. Would it be good enough to connect a computer directly to establish PPPoE?
Edit 3: I've attachd a log of the recent PPPoE connections that my ISP sent me, might be useful.
« Last Edit: December 27, 2018, 05:56:36 PM by Alex Liddiard »
Logged
ISP: Plusnet, Unlimited Fibre Extra
Modem: Technicolor DGA4132 in bridge mode
Router: ASUS RT-AC88U

Alex Liddiard

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Problem with rtx high and capping
« Reply #17 on: December 28, 2018, 01:06:10 AM »

Quick update, I managed to establish a PPPoE directly on a Windows 7 PC and ran another BT Wholesale speed test. Sadly, the IP profile hasn't changed. :(
« Last Edit: December 28, 2018, 01:10:48 AM by Alex Liddiard »
Logged
ISP: Plusnet, Unlimited Fibre Extra
Modem: Technicolor DGA4132 in bridge mode
Router: ASUS RT-AC88U

Alex Liddiard

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Problem with rtx high and capping
« Reply #18 on: December 30, 2018, 02:19:44 AM »

So I have some interesting observations to report.

I have done some fiddling around with the modem and router settings to see if anything will make a difference. The only major tweaks were I disabled NAT acceleration, and moved the job of tagging traffic with VLAN 101 from the modem to the router, I doubt this had any effect. In the process I had to resync the modem, after everything was up and running again I checked the modem stats and they are now:

Code: [Select]
xdslctl info --stats
xdslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Last Retrain Reason:    0
Last initialization procedure status:   0
Max:    Upstream rate = 23354 Kbps, Downstream rate = 69878 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 20000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 68348 Kbps
Bearer: 1, Upstream rate = 0 Kbps, Downstream rate = 0 Kbps
Link Power State:       L0
Mode:                   VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile:          Profile 17a
TPS-TC:                 PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis:                U:ON /D:ON
Line Status:            No Defect
Training Status:        Showtime
                Down            Up
SNR (dB):        3.3             7.7
Attn(dB):        14.9            0.0
Pwr(dBm):        13.9            6.7

                        VDSL2 framing
                        Bearer 0
MSGc:           -6              20
B:              243             239
M:              1               1
T:              0               64
R:              10              0
S:              0.1137          0.3819
L:              17875           5028
D:              8               1
I:              254             120
N:              254             240
Q:              8               0
V:              0               0
RxQueue:                55              0
TxQueue:                11              0
G.INP Framing:          18              0
G.INP lookback:         11              0
RRC bits:               0               24
                        Bearer 1
MSGc:           154             -6
B:              0               0
M:              2               0
T:              2               0
R:              16              0
S:              6.4000          0.0000
L:              40              0
D:              3               0
I:              32              0
N:              32              0
Q:              0               0
V:              0               0
RxQueue:                0               0
TxQueue:                0               0
G.INP Framing:          0               0
G.INP lookback:         0               0
RRC bits:               0               0

                        Counters
                        Bearer 0
OHF:            0               195601
OHFErr:         0               0
RS:             41849808                12517645
RSCorr:         34              0
RSUnCorr:       0               0
                        Bearer 1
OHF:            74396           0
OHFErr:         0               0
RS:             743346          0
RSCorr:         0               0
RSUnCorr:       0               0

                        Retransmit Counters
rtx_tx:         0               0
rtx_c:          0               0
rtx_uc:         0               0

                        G.INP Counters
LEFTRS:         0               0
minEFTR:        68343           0
errFreeBits:    1245648         0

                        Bearer 0
HEC:            0               0
OCD:            0               0
LCD:            0               0
Total Cells:    157068087               0
Data Cells:     7325524         0
Drop Cells:     0
Bit Errors:     0               0

                        Bearer 1
HEC:            0               0
OCD:            0               0
LCD:            0               0
Total Cells:    0               0
Data Cells:     0               0
Drop Cells:     0
Bit Errors:     0               0

ES:             0               0
SES:            0               0
UAS:            23              23
AS:             1195

                        Bearer 0
INP:            49.00           0.00
INPRein:        0.00            0.00
delay:          0               0
PER:            0.00            6.13
OR:             0.01            33.91
AgR:            68417.78        20033.74

                        Bearer 1
INP:            4.50            0.00
INPRein:        4.50            0.00
delay:          3               0
PER:            16.06           0.01
OR:             79.68           0.01
AgR:            79.68   0.01

Bitswap:        53/53           1/1

Total time = 20 min 18 sec
FEC:            34              0
CRC:            0               0
ES:             0               0
SES:            0               0
UAS:            23              23
LOS:            0               0
LOF:            0               0
LOM:            0               0
Retr:           0
HostInitRetr:   0
FailedRetr:     0
Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 18 sec
FEC:            8               0
CRC:            0               0
ES:             0               0
SES:            0               0
UAS:            0               0
LOS:            0               0
LOF:            0               0
LOM:            0               0
Retr:           0
HostInitRetr:   0
FailedRetr:     0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
FEC:            26              0
CRC:            0               0
ES:             0               0
SES:            0               0
UAS:            23              23
LOS:            0               0
LOF:            0               0
LOM:            0               0
Retr:           N/A
HostInitRetr:   N/A
FailedRetr:     N/A
Latest 1 day time = 20 min 18 sec
FEC:            34              0
CRC:            0               0
ES:             0               0
SES:            0               0
UAS:            23              23
LOS:            0               0
LOF:            0               0
LOM:            0               0
Retr:           0
HostInitRetr:   0
FailedRetr:     0
Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
FEC:            0               0
CRC:            0               0
ES:             0               0
SES:            0               0
UAS:            0               0
LOS:            0               0
LOF:            0               0
LOM:            0               0
Retr:           0
HostInitRetr:   0
FailedRetr:     0
Since Link time = 19 min 55 sec
FEC:            34              0
CRC:            0               0
ES:             0               0
SES:            0               0
UAS:            0               0
LOS:            0               0
LOF:            0               0
LOM:            0               0
Retr:           0
HostInitRetr:   0
FailedRetr:     0
NTR: mipsCntAtNtr=0 ncoCntAtNtr=0

The sync speed has changed from 68256Kbps to 68348Kbps, a small increase of 98kbps. I then ran another BT Wholesale speed test, to my surprise the IP profile has changed from 62880kbps to 62970kbps, a small iincrease of 90kbps.

So it appears the IP profile is updating, but not to the expected speed. According to the router stats I appear to be on a ReTx low profile, which should mean the IP profile is 68348 * 0.9669 = 66085Kbps. However it seems to have calculated the new profile as if I am on a ReTx high profile (62970/68348 = 0.9213, about 92.1%).

The only logical explanations I have are:

1. I really am actually on a ReTx high profile.
2. There is a bug going on which is causing an incorrect calculation.
3. The modem is reporting a sync speed higher than the DSLAM, in which case the DSLAM is reporting a sync speed of  62970 / 0.9669 = 65125Kbps. However the BT line checker reports a max observed speed of 68.16Mbps, which is fairly consistent with the sync speed reported by the modem, which makes me doubtful of this possibility.

I feel like I'm stumbling around in the dark with this problem at the moment, Does anyone have any other ideas as to what could be going on?

P.S. Plusnet/Openreach have not come back with any response yet, probably won't get anything until Monday now.
« Last Edit: December 30, 2018, 02:33:44 AM by Alex Liddiard »
Logged
ISP: Plusnet, Unlimited Fibre Extra
Modem: Technicolor DGA4132 in bridge mode
Router: ASUS RT-AC88U

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2335
Re: Problem with rtx high and capping
« Reply #19 on: December 30, 2018, 01:54:35 PM »

A GEA test will confirm the line profile, Retx Low or High.

The problem there is that the line profile shown on the GEA  test is 13 days old so would need to wait.
No idea if out of date line profile only affects Plusnet or all ISP's though.

I switched to Plusnet in October. By the start of November my line was Retx Low and the IP profile updated instantly to reflect this.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2018, 09:13:50 PM by j0hn »
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

Alex Liddiard

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Problem with rtx high and capping
« Reply #20 on: December 31, 2018, 06:23:36 PM »

Update, got a reply from Plusnet. They ran another GEA test, below are the results.

Code: [Select]
GEA Test Detail

Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found.
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 68.7 Mbps
Upstream Speed 20.0 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Not Detected
Radio Frequency Ingress Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Cross Talk Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 401.1
Upstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Downstream Rate Assessment Reasonable
Interference Pattern Not Detected
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Technology VDSL
Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream 3dB, Retransmission High - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp 2018-12-18T15:45:00

Parameters MIN MAX AVG
Down Stream Line Rate 68.1 Mbps 68.3 Mbps 68.2 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate 20.0 Mbps 20.0 Mbps 20.0 Mbps
Up Time 0.0 Sec 900.0 Sec 894.9 Sec
Retrains 0.0 1.0 0.0

Current and Last 15 Minute Bin Performance
Parameters Last Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins) Current Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)
Start Time Stamp 2018-12-31T15:12:44Z 2018-12-31T15:27:44Z
Ingress Code Violation 2 0
Egress Code Violation 0 0
Errored Seconds 0 0
Severely Errored Seconds 0 0
Unavailable Seconds 0 0

BT Estimates WP Profile CLT NIC
80000 - 60000 Generic Speed 62600 No Time Out Pass Pass

Their summary was this:
Code: [Select]
2TP on radius (probably due to the fixed ip, but possibly provisioned on the old network) may have something to do with the throughput issue.
If the eu doesn't use it for anything specific (eg CCTV) might be an idea to remove it to see if it solves anything.
If provisioned on the old network it would not make a difference however, it will remain L2TP.

Also possible issue with huawei and hub one
Will call to discuss

So it seemss I am still on a ReTx high profile. I only have static IP set up for a ping quality monitor so I will ask them to switch me over to dynamic IP and see if it improves anything. I have noticed something fishy in the last two GEA tests I have had, look at the two dates shown in the tests I have sent:

Code: [Select]
Time Stamp Start Time Stamp
Test 1 2018-12-18T15:45:00 2018-12-31T15:12:44
Test 2 2018-12-13T13:45:00 2018-12-26T13:12:46

The times in the 2nd column are the times when the GEA test was actually done.
Why are the times in the 1st column 12 days, 23 hours, 27 mins behind those in the 2nd column? Is this a bug or is it always like this?

Edit: So I've seen some more GEA tests online and seems the time difference is normal, anyone know why it is like this?
« Last Edit: December 31, 2018, 07:41:19 PM by Alex Liddiard »
Logged
ISP: Plusnet, Unlimited Fibre Extra
Modem: Technicolor DGA4132 in bridge mode
Router: ASUS RT-AC88U

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2335
Re: Problem with rtx high and capping
« Reply #21 on: December 31, 2018, 08:53:30 PM »

Quote
So it seemss I am still on a ReTx high profile. I only have static IP set up for a ping quality monitor so I will ask them to switch me over to dynamic IP and see if it improves anything. I have noticed something fishy in the last two GEA tests I have had, look at the two dates shown in the tests I have sent:

As I said in my previous post, as I thought this might arise, the line profile shown on ALL of Plusnets GEA tests (maybe everyone's?) shows a profile from 13 days ago.

13 days ago you were on Retx High.

Ask them to run a GEA Test 14 days after you changed to Retx Low and it will reflect this.

edit: removed gibberish
« Last Edit: December 31, 2018, 08:57:54 PM by j0hn »
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

Alex Liddiard

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Problem with rtx high and capping
« Reply #22 on: December 31, 2018, 09:07:29 PM »

Ah I see thanks for clearing that up for me. In your last message I thought you meant I should wait for a new test result from Plusnet/Openreach, I didn't realise you meant that the GEA test was always outdated. :P

I'll ask for another GEA test around the 8th Jan as it was the 26th December when DLM did something to the line. Also I have removed the static IP now and verified I have got a new IP and gateway after rebooting the router. The IP profile is still the same, but it has improved the actual download, its now much closer to the IP profile. :)
Logged
ISP: Plusnet, Unlimited Fibre Extra
Modem: Technicolor DGA4132 in bridge mode
Router: ASUS RT-AC88U

Alex Liddiard

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Problem with rtx high and capping
« Reply #23 on: January 11, 2019, 06:23:44 PM »

So I got a new GEA test result today, here are the details:
Code: [Select]
GEA Test Detail

Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found.
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 68.4 Mbps
Upstream Speed 20.0 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 401.1
Upstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Downstream Rate Assessment Reasonable
Interference Pattern Not Detected
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Technology VDSL
Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream 3dB, Retransmission Low - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp 2018-12-29T08:45:00

Parameters MIN MAX AVG
Down Stream Line Rate 68.2 Mbps 68.7 Mbps 68.5 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate 20.0 Mbps 20.0 Mbps 20.0 Mbps
Up Time 0.0 Sec 900.0 Sec 894.2 Sec
Retrains 0.0 1.0 0.0

Current and Last 15 Minute Bin Performance
Parameters Last Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins) Current Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)
Start Time Stamp 2019-01-11T08:12:42Z 2019-01-11T08:27:42Z
Ingress Code Violation 2 0
Egress Code Violation 0 0
Errored Seconds 0 0
Severely Errored Seconds 0 0
Unavailable Seconds 0 0

So this confirms it, the line is using ReTx low now. However still the IP profile is being calculated as if I'm on ReTx high.
Logged
ISP: Plusnet, Unlimited Fibre Extra
Modem: Technicolor DGA4132 in bridge mode
Router: ASUS RT-AC88U

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2335
Re: Problem with rtx high and capping
« Reply #24 on: January 11, 2019, 08:07:47 PM »

I notice from your 2 GEA tests right under the "profile name" field is a "timestamp" field.
The date on the timestamp field on both tests is 13 days prior to the date of the test.
I'd never noticed this until now.

It certainly confirms what I said about the profile listed being 13 days out of date.

Since you posted this we've had 2 members with the same problem.
Their line is Retx Low but the IP profile is that of an Retx High sync.
https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,22971.0.html
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

tiffy

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 502
Re: Problem with rtx high and capping
« Reply #25 on: January 11, 2019, 08:51:11 PM »

Strange indeed.

For possible reference, I updated my router FW last Saturday which interrupted 277 days of line synch, have remained on G.Inp Re-Tx low profile (as verified by line stat's) with unchanged IP profile, ie., 38.67/40.00*100 = 96.67%.

Obviously I am only on 40/10 service where the 3 other parties are on 80/20 service, probably not relevant ?
Logged
Plusnet 40/10 - DSLStats/RPi - ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A - Huawei Cab - MDWS (sadly gone 12/03/18)

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2335
Re: Problem with rtx high and capping
« Reply #26 on: January 11, 2019, 09:29:08 PM »

I'm on 80/20 and retx low with the correct IP profile of 96.69%.

I don't think the package will be relevant
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

tiffy

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 502
Re: Problem with rtx high and capping
« Reply #27 on: January 12, 2019, 09:41:37 AM »

Quote
I don't think the package will be relevant

Most likely the case but have you had a DSL session re-connect/re-synch on your line since the observations by the 3 other parties came to light ?
Logged
Plusnet 40/10 - DSLStats/RPi - ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A - Huawei Cab - MDWS (sadly gone 12/03/18)

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2335
Re: Problem with rtx high and capping
« Reply #28 on: January 12, 2019, 11:34:01 AM »

I resynced my line a couple days ago when upgrading my zyxel firmware.

This isn't new though... 1 of the 3 with this issue has had the problem since the very first time they went retx low (many months ago), 1 since a fairly recent DLM reset and the other didn't specify a duration the problem has existed.

jelv also has a full 80Mb sync with the correct IP profile so it isn't only those who reach the full 80Mb or those on that package.

If this becomes more widespread I'm sure we'll see it across a range of speed packages.

3 examples isn't enough to draw any conclusions.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31871
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Problem with rtx high and capping
« Reply #29 on: January 13, 2019, 01:57:03 PM »

I notice from your 2 GEA tests right under the "profile name" field is a "timestamp" field.
The date on the timestamp field on both tests is 13 days prior to the date of the test.
I'd never noticed this until now.

I certainly have and have said so many times.

I first noticed the time lag shortly after G.INP mk1 was introduced.  There should be several posts on the Plusnet forum back in ~2015 with me stating that the GEA was using historic data.  As well as informing a couple of the forum staff Matty? several times that they were issuing out of date DLM profile data, I also brought it to the attention of Bob Pullen and another PN staff member who was writing a test interface for EU line data.

Bob is certainly aware that the data is not current and I have specifically pointed out the Time stamp under the profile name,  but according to them, they don't appear to be able to get anything more up to date.

I must admit I always thought it was a couple of weeks out of date, but you are quite correct when you say it is exactly 13 days.
This is the results of a GEA test I specifically asked PN to run when pointing out the delay to them.


Quote
Test Outcome    Pass
Test Outcome Code    GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0001
Description    GEA service test completed and no fault found but unable to check for customer equipment connected to modem.
Main Fault Location    OK
Sync Status    In Sync
Downstream Speed    80.0 Mbps
Upstream Speed    20.0 Mbps
Appointment Required    N
Fault Report Advised    N
NTE Power Status    PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result    Pass
Bridge Tap    Not Detected
Radio Frequency Ingress    Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise    Not Detected
Cross Talk    Not Detected
Profile Name    40M-80M Downstream, Error Protection Off - 10M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp    2015-05-31T12:00:00
Parameters    MIN    MAX    AVG
Down Stream Line Rate    79.9 Mbps    79.9 Mbps    79.9 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate    20.0 Mbps    20.0 Mbps    20.0 Mbps
Up Time    850.0 Sec    900.0 Sec    899.9 Sec
Retrains    0.0    0.0    0.0
Current and Last 15 Minute Bin Performance
Parameters    Last Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)    Current Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)
Start Time Stamp    2015-06-13T11:00:10.244+01:00    2015-06-13T11:15:10.244+01:00
Ingress Code Violation    0    0
Egress Code Violation    0    0
Errored Seconds    0    0
Severely Errored Seconds    0    0
Unavailable Seconds    0    0


I have lots more including the new GUI test data in 2016 all of which show the DLM data delay.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker
Pages: 1 [2] 3