Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: HG612 and RT-AC68U setup  (Read 753 times)

MultumInParvo

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 11
HG612 and RT-AC68U setup
« on: December 26, 2018, 08:25:56 PM »

Hopefully a simple issue, but I cannot seem to get my RT-AC68U to connect to the internet via my new HG612.

I'm a newbie to the HG612, and the router was happily sat behind an ADSL modem previously, so just assumed it was a case of changing the usr and pwd and it would work, but no matter what I try the main page still says Disconnected...

I followed instructions on here to unlock, update and set up the HG612, and as far as I can see the modem is happily connecting, so whilst I think it is how I have got the router set up that is the issue, it could well be that I either set something incorrectly or the guide on here has led me astray for my particular use case.

I have tried usr and pwd for the modem itself, for my Vodafone connection, modem as the DHCP server, router as the DHCP server, standing on one leg whilst connecting, but nothing, I even tried connecting whilst naked but that just made my cat run away.

The config for the HG612 is as per this page - https://wiki.kitz.co.uk/index.php/Huawei_HG612 - and I have attached screenshots of the WAN page from the router, but let me know if you need more info.

Whilst I await some forum wisdom, I'm going to drown my sorrows.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 28535
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: HG612 and RT-AC68U setup
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2018, 09:06:31 PM »

The initial, basic, question: Are you attempting to connect to a VDSL2 (ITU-T G.993.2) service or an ADSL2+ (ITU-T G.992.5) service?  :-\
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

MultumInParvo

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: HG612 and RT-AC68U setup
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2018, 09:07:42 PM »

VDSL2
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 28535
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: HG612 and RT-AC68U setup
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2018, 09:25:04 PM »

VDSL2

Thank you. With that clarified, I can now say that no configuration of the HG612 is required . . . it just works by default for a VDSL2 service.

To revert back it back to its default configuration, whilst still unlocked, press the reset button and keep it held for, say, ten seconds. Release the reset button and allow the device to re-initialise . . . leave it alone for, say, five minutes. (Don't try to rush it.) Now power-cycle the device.

Any required configuration, username & password, etc, should be applied to the router, the Asus RT-AC68U. As I am unfamiliar with that device, I'll stand back and let another member take the lead.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

MultumInParvo

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: HG612 and RT-AC68U setup
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2018, 09:36:36 AM »

Thanks for that, works perfectly!

Now to start getting some stats...
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 28535
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: HG612 and RT-AC68U setup
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2018, 03:15:46 PM »

Thanks for that, works perfectly!

Purrfect. Thank you for the report of your success.  :)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.