Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Zyxel VMG1312-B10A with Sky FTTC?  (Read 315 times)

AnthonyG

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A with Sky FTTC?
« on: December 06, 2018, 10:52:21 PM »

Hi,

I was wondering if anyone was able to get this router setup with Sky Fibre? I know you can use it in bridge mode with another router. But is there anyway you can use the Router and Modem in one by itself with Sky Fibre.

From what I understand Sky uses MER and Opt61 DHCP authentication modes. Is there anyway to get the Zyxel to support this directly?

If there is not, is there a good router on a par with the Zyxel (so using the same internal chisepts) that is not crazy expensive that I can get to do this?
Logged

hushcoden

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
Re: Zyxel VMG1312-B10A with Sky FTTC?
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2018, 08:21:09 AM »

I don't think you can make it work with Sky VDSL (you can with Sky ADSL, instead)... I did use that device in bridge mode and it worked pretty well but too many errors, so then I decided to try a Draytek Vigor 2760 (as I am connected to an ECI cab) and still high speed (40/10 line and actual connection is 39995/9995) with much less errors...

Do you know if your are connected to an ECI or Huawei (Broadcom) cab ? Also, why are you reluctant to use the modem in bridge mode ?
Logged

AnthonyG

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Zyxel VMG1312-B10A with Sky FTTC?
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2018, 10:47:01 AM »

Do you know if your are connected to an ECI or Huawei (Broadcom) cab ? Also, why are you reluctant to use the modem in bridge mode ?

Its 100% a Huawei cabinet. And it's for an elderly relative who worries about electricity bills and simply will not have two devices plugged. There is no way to convince her of that too. I have told them 1a is the equivalent of an extra 2 per year on your bills total, no go.

I was expecting someone to mention Draytek Vigor as I have seen numerous mentions of them on Sky forums, but they are too expensive. They are around 100 used on eBay. The Zyxel I bought for 10 on ebay (I was lucky as the person sold it as untested broken but it works perfectly).
Logged

hushcoden

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
Re: Zyxel VMG1312-B10A with Sky FTTC?
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2018, 03:26:16 PM »

I'm afraid I am not aware of any combo modem/router which supports DHCP option 61 apart from the Draytek ones... I bought mine on eBay for just 40 and it's the Vigor 2760n  :graduate:

It takes patience and if you check regularly something 'cheap' will come up, sooner or later...
« Last Edit: December 07, 2018, 03:28:17 PM by hushcoden »
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1975
Re: Zyxel VMG1312-B10A with Sky FTTC?
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2018, 03:59:11 PM »

I'm afraid I am not aware of any combo modem/router which supports DHCP option 61 apart from the Draytek ones... I bought mine on eBay for just 40 and it's the Vigor 2760n  :graduate:

It takes patience and if you check regularly something 'cheap' will come up, sooner or later...

Maybe my Zyxel VMG1312-B10A is special as mine can do this, as shown in my screenshot.

However the Zyxel wants the hex value of sky's login and I have no idea if it works and I'm out so can't search.

The screenshot is taken over a vnc connection from my mobile app is not perfect.

Some devices call it IPoE, some DHCP. They both use IP over Ethernet which is better than PPPoE.

Sky and Talktalk are on the right track, though Talktalk handle ALL the authentication.

Thankfully my trusty 1312 evens out the MTU side.
It means extra processing on the router though, handling the PPP.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

AnthonyG

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Zyxel VMG1312-B10A with Sky FTTC?
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2018, 04:08:48 PM »

Maybe my Zyxel VMG1312-B10A is special as mine can do this, as shown in my screenshot.

Thanks for that Screenshot John. I suspect if anyone can get it working they'd become a star as I have been googling and there have been quite a few people wanting to get the Zyxels working with Sky as they are one of the best value for money routers. I first heard of them after being recommended here on the forum as the best router to use with Huawei cabinets to use in bridge mode to upgrade from the old HG612's.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1975
Re: Zyxel VMG1312-B10A with Sky FTTC?
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2018, 04:16:41 PM »

I thought they were the best while I was connected to my ECI cabinet, as many others on here think the same.

I haven't tried other chipsets since I switched to a Huawei (Broadcom) DSLAM.
I'm happy with my setup.

With regards to the Zyxel and Sky Fibre, it should work in theory.
TP-Link devices can work sending the hex value of the Sky logins.
Now Sky have relaxed the login requirements a little I'm sure someone can post you a hex value to try.
Not being on Sky I can't test anything.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

hushcoden

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
Re: Zyxel VMG1312-B10A with Sky FTTC?
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2018, 09:34:46 PM »

I remember the issue with the 1312 was that it didn't accept the 56 digits Hex value, but if you fancy please give it a try:

Like j0hn said, now with Sky VDSL you can even use a generic code, i.e.

Code: [Select]
1a2b3c4d5e6f@skydsl|1234abcd <--> 31613262336334643565366640736b7964736c7c3132333461626364
Logged

AnthonyG

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Zyxel VMG1312-B10A with Sky FTTC?
« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2018, 09:49:26 PM »

I remember the issue with the 1312 was that it didn't accept the 56 digits Hex value, but if you fancy please give it a try:

Like j0hn said, now with Sky VDSL you can even use a generic code, i.e.

Code: [Select]
1a2b3c4d5e6f@skydsl|1234abcd <--> 31613262336334643565366640736b7964736c7c3132333461626364

I can possibly try it on Sunday. So to confirm, would I copy and paste that entire code in. I ask as the <--> is making me think there maybe 2 codes there and I only put in one.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5496
Re: Zyxel VMG1312-B10A with Sky FTTC?
« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2018, 09:50:57 PM »

why do you want to use it in router mode, I would say clearly the answer is to use it as a bridge.  Best of both worlds, you get the modem chipset, and a working internet connection with a compatible router.

I dont know if the router is actually compatible, look for a DHCP or IPoE mode as john said, now days you shouldnt need to enter the authentication details, but if it isnt you will need to use bridge mode.  Also I consider IPoE superior to PPPoE, its just unfortunate BTw use PPPoE and even kept  it on g.fast after a senior BT manager said he would ditch it calling it horrible.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2018, 09:53:34 PM by Chrysalis »
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

AnthonyG

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Zyxel VMG1312-B10A with Sky FTTC?
« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2018, 09:55:30 PM »

why do you want to use it in router mode, I would say clearly the answer is to use it as a bridge. 

As I say, it will never happen, this is the joys of dealing with older relatives. They expect the world thinking its easy. But will not compromise on anything. Two boxes is a total no-no. I need to get one decent one that does it all. At a low price too.
Logged

hushcoden

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
Re: Zyxel VMG1312-B10A with Sky FTTC?
« Reply #11 on: December 07, 2018, 09:56:59 PM »

I can possibly try it on Sunday. So to confirm, would I copy and paste that entire code in. I ask as the <--> is making me think there maybe 2 codes there and I only put in one.
It's one code only: the left one is the client identifier string (option 61) as you'd get from a Sky router by using wireshark, the one on the right is the equivalent hex value - you can practice with this tool https://codebeautify.org/string-hex-converter

Which one to use it depends on the modem/router: the Draytek router wants the standard string (the one on the left) other routers need the Hex value...
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 24523
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Zyxel VMG1312-B10A with Sky FTTC?
« Reply #12 on: December 08, 2018, 12:14:41 AM »

Looking at Table 8 in the ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A User's Manual we can see --

DHCP          This field displays when editing an existing WAN interface. Type the Identity Association
Option 61     Identifier (IAD) you want the Device to add in the DHCP Discovery packets that go to the
IAD           DHCP server.

DHCP          This field displays when editing an existing WAN interface. Type the DHCP Unique Identifier
Option 61     (DUID) you want the Device to add in the DHCP Discovery packets that go to the DHCP
DUID          server.

It is not clear how those two fields are populated with the parameters required by the Sky host server.

Attached below is an example of the screen when a VMG1312-B10A is being configured as for a Sky VDSL2 (ITU-T G.993.2) (FTTC) service.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.