Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: 3.8% of FTTC/FTTrN cabinets are at capacity  (Read 679 times)

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1306
3.8% of FTTC/FTTrN cabinets are at capacity
« on: December 04, 2018, 04:58:24 PM »

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/news/8252-the-scale-of-the-problem-of-openreach-cabinets-at-capacity

Quote
We looked the problems around VDSL2 cabinets being full or waiting on some other upgrade so that more orders can be taken back in April 2018 but what we did not share back then was that we had been tracking since January 2018 the number of cabinets at the capacity limit and we can now share that there are some 51 cabinets that were seen as being full in January 2018 which 11 months later are still showing as being at capacity.

In the third para of the OpenReach statement it gives the suppliers as Huawei and Nokia. Is Nokia the FTTrN? Doesn't give much hope to those on full ECI!


Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1306
Re: 3.8% of FTTC/FTTrN cabinets are at capacity
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2018, 05:10:24 PM »

Similar report on ISPReview: https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2018/12/h2-2018-rise-in-full-to-capacity-fttc-broadband-street-cabinets.html

Quote
eol all in one pcp fttc huawei openreach cabinet

A new report has estimated that around 4.6% of premises in the United Kingdom could be affected by full to capacity FTTC (VDSL2) based “fibre broadband” street cabinets on Openreach’s (BT) network, which is up from 4.1% in April 2018 and might stop you from being able to order a new service.
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 25879
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: 3.8% of FTTC/FTTrN cabinets are at capacity
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2018, 05:45:16 PM »

In the third para of the OpenReach statement it gives the suppliers as Huawei and Nokia. Is Nokia the FTTrN?

Huawei and Nokia are the equipment suppliers for the G.Fast (ITU-T G.9700/G.9701) services.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1923
Re: 3.8% of FTTC/FTTrN cabinets are at capacity
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2018, 05:52:33 PM »

Doesn't give much hope to those on full ECI!

They just build a new Huawei cabinet next to the full ECI.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2356
Re: 3.8% of FTTC/FTTrN cabinets are at capacity
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2018, 07:01:08 PM »

Not a huge problem for ECI cabinets compared to Huawei.
My ECI had a Huawei 288 added. This now has an HD extension now catering for 384 lines.
Many local ECI cabinets have 2 x ECI, from before they quit deploying ECI completely.

A local cabinet to me (PCP15 ESDAL) has 2 x ECI cabinets at the moment and according to codelook is being expanded further, which suggests a 3rd cabinet to me.

I've never seen 3 FTTC cabinets on a single PCP.
Has anyone else?

Codelook previously said it had been expanded, and now says due to be expanded some time in 2019 (Nov?).

I'll be watching with interest.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3148
Re: 3.8% of FTTC/FTTrN cabinets are at capacity
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2018, 07:08:04 PM »

We have loads of ECI cabs with Huawei twins.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2356
Re: 3.8% of FTTC/FTTrN cabinets are at capacity
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2018, 08:42:15 PM »

If Nokia isn't the FTTrN supplier (I don't recall seeing them mentioned before getting the contract for FTTP/G.Fast kit) could it be that OpenReach intend to use them for FTTC kit also?

Quote
We are about to launch technical trials for a fibre cabinet side-pod and new fibre cabinet equipment capable of supporting double the current capacity. Following successful trials we are aiming to start deploying this kit in the next financial year.

ejs pointed out a briefing last week saying they were bringing in 512pt DSLAM's

Could that be Nokia?

Or have OpenReach confused things and threw in the fact they are working with their 2 suppliers to fix capacity issues that 1 of those suppliers has nothing to do with.

I'm working with my suppliers RBS, PlusNet and Scottish Power to fix a fault with my power meter.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1923
Re: 3.8% of FTTC/FTTrN cabinets are at capacity
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2018, 08:45:09 PM »

ECI M82 would do 512 VDSL2 lines.  :lol:  :fingers:
Logged

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1040
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: 3.8% of FTTC/FTTrN cabinets are at capacity
« Reply #8 on: December 05, 2018, 03:13:33 PM »

Don't think this has anything at all to do with ECI specifically. Openreach are probably hanging back a little bit pending availability of 512 line solutions.

Openreach haven't deployed new ECI kit in a while now. Seems that whenever ECI DSLAMs are full they just build a Huawei next to them. I've seen extended Huawei 96 and 288 cabinets, presumably to 128 and 384, so those guys are I think ripe for further upgrade as investment is ongoing but ECIs just get a new, Huawei, DSLAM.

With the Huawei upgrades there's actually absolutely no reason why Openreach wouldn't install upgraded Huawei and decommission the ECI. The availability of single DSLAM cabinet solutions that reach 512 lines makes this an option. Install a new Huawei to replace everything, migrate everyone over, write off the old cabinet, no more support contract or operational costs on it and an accounting gain.

Getting Huawei kit to 512 lines means another 2 line card slots, presumably via a remote backplane connected to the existing kit via fibre and a power connector. They do that to the Huawei 96s as well those guys end up moving from originally 96 to 256 lines overall. Not too shabby.

This said, the cabinets will end up looking like Frankenstein's monster. The small Huaweis look weird when extended already.

Be interesting to see what they decide to do. They have a few options once Huawei have delivered the 512 line kit and, of course, Alcatel / Nokia make modular DSLAMs / ISAMs that'll do 192 lines per 4 slot shelf and allow multiple shelves per cabinet depending on needs so they could bring them into the VDSL 2 mix alongside making vectoring and G.fast from the same device an option.

Thanks to ejs for pointing out that briefing. This makes it clearer what Openreach are up to.
Logged
-----
Deploying better networks, not just faster ones.

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1923
Re: 3.8% of FTTC/FTTrN cabinets are at capacity
« Reply #9 on: December 05, 2018, 07:02:07 PM »

I thought the smaller Huawei cabinets originally had 4 x 32 port line cards (128), upgraded to 4 x 48 = 192 ports.

Maybe someone will decide Huawei are evil (again) and you really will get ECI M82s.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 25879
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: 3.8% of FTTC/FTTrN cabinets are at capacity
« Reply #10 on: December 05, 2018, 09:31:17 PM »

I thought the smaller Huawei cabinets . . .

. . . containing a Huawei SmartAX MA5616 MSAN (just deployed as a DSLAM) . . .

Quote
. . . originally had 4 x 32 port line cards (128), upgraded to 4 x 48 = 192 ports.

Yes, that agrees with what I recall.  :)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2356
Re: 3.8% of FTTC/FTTrN cabinets are at capacity
« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2018, 09:46:28 PM »

OpenReach have now got 256 ports out of the smaller cabinets.

4x 64 ports with an HD expansion

They can only do 128 if vectoring is deployed.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1040
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: 3.8% of FTTC/FTTrN cabinets are at capacity
« Reply #12 on: December 05, 2018, 11:02:08 PM »

The 5616s were originally 96 ports, 4 x 24. If you look at planning documents you'll see them referred to as Huawei 96s. That's where my comment about their original capacity came from. They have been 128s then 192s for ages though. Brain barf on my part referring to them as HD expanded to 128s or 192s, apologies!
Logged
-----
Deploying better networks, not just faster ones.

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 25879
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: 3.8% of FTTC/FTTrN cabinets are at capacity
« Reply #13 on: December 05, 2018, 11:13:54 PM »

Thanks, CarlT. I have probably forgotten most of what I knew about those devices.

They can only do 128 if vectoring is deployed.

I really don't know why j0hn makes a reference to vectoring.  ???
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1040
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: 3.8% of FTTC/FTTrN cabinets are at capacity
« Reply #14 on: December 06, 2018, 10:44:18 AM »

Ya know, these Huawei 512s mean that almost every PCP can have all lines moved from exchange to remote nodes with a maximum of 2 cabinets in a node. I'm pretty sure the vast majority of PCPs are fine with one.

Areas where there are alternative networks like VM it's even perfectly legitimate to somewhat overbook the cabinets as VM will take 30-40% of the premises.

There are plenty of nations where parts of the network run this way and have for a while to avoid having long high copper count cable runs. Over 12 million premises in the UK have access to telephony delivered this way already and have for a decade or more.

The long, slow march towards POTS switch off continues.
Logged
-----
Deploying better networks, not just faster ones.
Pages: [1] 2
 

anything