Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]

Author Topic: Soon To Own VMG1312-B10A  (Read 1481 times)

nfxcr3w

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: Soon To Own VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #60 on: December 05, 2018, 07:09:40 PM »

I donít see why the ZyXEL makes any difference. All PPPoE modems are the same. Your router is what controls the whole thing. Your HG612 is exactly the same as the ZyXEL. They just pass bits up and down your DSL line and thatís it.

You cannot possibly do any harm by using the ZyXEL as long as you have it configured as a straight modem. Assuming that you do have it so configured, that is.

If things work with the HG612 and you can access the internet, and then you swap it out and swap in the ZyXEL, and you can still access the internet through your main router, then you have proved that you have done the right thing and thatís all there is to it.

When a true modem of this type is being a straight modem, it can not possibly be causing any security issues on the internet. (Because it will not itself be accessing the internet on its own, and if it were to decide to try to, it would need to go through your main firewall-router, and would be behind the same firewall as all your other systems.)

Whatever problems youíre seeing are due to something else, but I have looked into this.

The only good thing i could think of about the zyxel is it syncs 4mb higher on the max attenuation this is the stats for the hg612 syncs 4mb lower and 1mb lower on the upload on the max attenuation so not sure about that im running the SP08 F/W on it which supports G.INP.  ???

Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1976
Re: Soon To Own VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #61 on: December 05, 2018, 09:51:50 PM »

Thank you John so i take it it's normal the netgear is 192.168.1.1 and the zyxel is 192.168.1.2 cause i didn't want them both conflicting with eachother so im not sure why these devices are showing up on my netgear and the zyxel at the same time since the PS4 and PC are connected to the Netgear not the VMG1312 very strange why it shows up on the vmg though.  ??? I just hope i havnt missed something out. Cause i've never owned a Zyxel before only a Billion and a HG612. Edit* My wireless devices like mobile phone don't show up on the ZyXel just the wired devices like games console and pc and secondary router.

You should swap that round.

You may now have the zyxel in the DHCP range of the Netgear if that's left on automatic.

Have the Zyxel 192.168.1.1
Have the Netgear 192.168.1.2
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

nfxcr3w

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: Soon To Own VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #62 on: December 05, 2018, 10:27:07 PM »

You should swap that round.

You may now have the zyxel in the DHCP range of the Netgear if that's left on automatic.

Have the Zyxel 192.168.1.1
Have the Netgear 192.168.1.2

Only did it the other way cause factory resetting the netgear it would conflict with the zyxel i didn't think it was this difficult setting up the zyxel lost sleep over it. All i wanted to do was just run the VMG1312 in Bridge Mode and have the Netgear XR500 work as just the router side of things. The HG612 i can just plug it in have that setup and away you go.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2018, 10:30:04 PM by nfxcr3w »
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 24524
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Soon To Own VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #63 on: December 05, 2018, 10:33:26 PM »

The HG612, by default, has the 192.168.1.1 IPv4 address.

Puzzled . . .  ???
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

nfxcr3w

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: Soon To Own VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #64 on: December 06, 2018, 07:43:08 AM »

The HG612, by default, has the 192.168.1.1 IPv4 address.

Puzzled . . .  ???

Puzzled too cause netgear uses 192.168.1.1 by default and so does the hg612 wouldn't that clash ??? anyway i manually changed netgear's address to 192.168.1.2 is this correct? and put the hg612 back to 192.168.1.1
« Last Edit: December 06, 2018, 07:50:39 AM by nfxcr3w »
Logged

johnson

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 536
Re: Soon To Own VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #65 on: December 06, 2018, 10:17:45 AM »

I may just be complicating things, but did you disable DHCP on the zyxel when you had it in place? All devices showing up in its GUI suggests maybe it was the one giving out addresses.

Also something worth trying is setting up separate interface groups as per https://kitz.co.uk/routers/zyxel_VMG8324-B10A_bridge.htm.

There maybe no need as you had a functional setup without them, but I always experienced intermittent issues without interface groups and 2 cables - not being able to access the GUI randomly etc.
Logged

nfxcr3w

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: Soon To Own VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #66 on: December 06, 2018, 10:34:13 AM »

I may just be complicating things, but did you disable DHCP on the zyxel when you had it in place? All devices showing up in its GUI suggests maybe it was the one giving out addresses.

Also something worth trying is setting up separate interface groups as per https://kitz.co.uk/routers/zyxel_VMG8324-B10A_bridge.htm.

There maybe no need as you had a functional setup without them, but I always experienced intermittent issues without interface groups and 2 cables - not being able to access the GUI randomly etc.

Thanks John, you mean DHCP which shows in this image to have it disabled? cause i did that even first thing i did was put the lan 1 in to interface group and the devices are still apearing on the GUI.
Logged

johnson

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 536
Re: Soon To Own VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #67 on: December 06, 2018, 10:47:20 AM »

Looks a little different to the page I see but I'm sure its the same. Under "Home Networking" with the default interface group selected:

Logged

nfxcr3w

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: Soon To Own VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #68 on: December 06, 2018, 10:49:09 AM »

Looks a little different to the page I see but I'm sure its the same. Under "Home Networking" with the default interface group selected:

Yeah thats the one John sorry i didn't have the vmg connected so had to find a rough image on google.  ;)
Logged

johnson

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 536
Re: Soon To Own VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #69 on: December 06, 2018, 11:03:35 AM »

Curious! Not sure what else to suggest as I have mine connected via a single cable and on a different subnet, so cant prod about seeing what devices the modem can see in the same setup as yours.
Logged

nfxcr3w

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: Soon To Own VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #70 on: December 06, 2018, 11:16:07 AM »

Curious! Not sure what else to suggest as I have mine connected via a single cable and on a different subnet, so cant prod about seeing what devices the modem can see in the same setup as yours.

Very Strange maybe in the near future il use it as i have so many HG612's and a VMG1312 so many modems lol i'll keep it has a spare for now in case one fails thanks again John for all the help and everyone else. Great Friendly Community  ;) Have a great Christmas 🎅
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 24524
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Soon To Own VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #71 on: December 06, 2018, 05:46:54 PM »

Puzzled too cause netgear uses 192.168.1.1 by default and so does the hg612 wouldn't that clash ??? anyway i manually changed netgear's address to 192.168.1.2 is this correct? and put the hg612 back to 192.168.1.1

Yes, any two devices with the same IP address will clash and the end result would be undefined.

However, after downloading a copy of your screen-scrape from the Netgear router (so that I can see it easily), I have noticed something not quite right. With either the HG612 or the VMG1312-B10A in use as just a bridging modem (both keeping to their 192.168.1.1.default IPv4 address) you have, quite correctly, set the Netgear to have a 192.168.1.2 IPv4 address. (It could be anything on the 192.168.1.X subnet, anything other than 0, 1 or 255 for x). Now look at that screen, in the section below where you have ticked the box for the Netgear to be the DHCP server, and it can be seen that you have not changed the starting IPv4 address for the DHCP pool (of addresses for the server to hand out). It is still set to the 192.168.1.1 address. That is wrong. It needs to be 192.168.1.3 (or greater).
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

nfxcr3w

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: Soon To Own VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #72 on: December 06, 2018, 10:43:15 PM »

Yes, any two devices with the same IP address will clash and the end result would be undefined.

However, after downloading a copy of your screen-scrape from the Netgear router (so that I can see it easily), I have noticed something not quite right. With either the HG612 or the VMG1312-B10A in use as just a bridging modem (both keeping to their 192.168.1.1.default IPv4 address) you have, quite correctly, set the Netgear to have a 192.168.1.2 IPv4 address. (It could be anything on the 192.168.1.X subnet, anything other than 0, 1 or 255 for x). Now look at that screen, in the section below where you have ticked the box for the Netgear to be the DHCP server, and it can be seen that you have not changed the starting IPv4 address for the DHCP pool (of addresses for the server to hand out). It is still set to the 192.168.1.1 address. That is wrong. It needs to be 192.168.1.3 (or greater).

Thanks i understand now is this better?
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 24524
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Soon To Own VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #73 on: December 06, 2018, 10:52:24 PM »

Yes, that is now correct.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]