Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5

Author Topic: Soon To Own VMG1312-B10A  (Read 9849 times)

nfxcr3w

Soon To Own VMG1312-B10A
« on: December 01, 2018, 11:22:14 AM »

First off i'd like to say im new to the Kitz Scene and 2nd off i'll be ordering the Zyxel VMG1312-B10A on Monday and would like to know which is the best firmware to use.

And is there anything i should tweak on it before i get it? as im still rocking a unlocked hg612 and feel like it's getting long in the tooth these days.

I remember trying a BCM63168 Chipset on my line before and it was amazing but unfortunately that died so looking in to the zyxel range since it seems a very popular topic in the kitz forum right now. I'm on a Huawei Cabinet

Thank you  :)
« Last Edit: December 01, 2018, 11:24:19 AM by nfxcr3w »
BT FTTC @3db 80/20 Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged + 1508 MTU + OpenWrt 19.07.2 Huawei Cab

j0hn

• Kitizen
Re: Soon To Own VMG1312-B10A
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2018, 03:07:40 PM »

What router do you use and does it support a 1508 MTU?
Who is your ISP?

If it supports 1508 MTU it may be worth installing a modified version of the zyxel firmware that supports 1508 MTU (also known as baby jumbo frames/RFC4638)

If it doesn't support this then I would recommend the most recent firmware release from zyxel.

Where have you bought the modem from and do you know if it is an ex-ISP issued modem or a retail model?
It might be necessary to obtain the Supervisor password to clear any ISP settings.
Talktalk FTTP 550/75 - Speedtest - BQM

nfxcr3w

« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2018, 03:35:28 PM »