Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]

Author Topic: Plusnet Broadband issues  (Read 4734 times)

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2010
Re: Plusnet Broadband issues
« Reply #60 on: February 06, 2019, 07:26:44 PM »

I can't see what an Openreach engineer is supposed to do about a wireless speed issue.

I would completely forget about the NTE5C not being everyone's favourite NTE.

I was thinking if there is any way that Plusnet's lack of IPv6 could somehow only affect wireless, but I cannot think of any way it would.
Logged

snadge

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1217
Re: Plusnet Broadband issues
« Reply #61 on: February 06, 2019, 08:04:37 PM »

I would completely forget about the NTE5C not being everyone's favourite NTE.

I only mention it because the OP reports regular disconnects and the NTE was changed to the 'iffy' 5C
Logged
Zyxel VMG8924-B10A <-> PlusNET <-> Eci DSLAM
Sync: 64,000k <-> Snr: 6dB <-> Mode: Interleaving 1270 - INP=1 - from solid 79Mb INP=OFF for 9 months to this!!

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2010
Re: Plusnet Broadband issues
« Reply #62 on: February 06, 2019, 08:20:02 PM »

I gather all of the problems started before the NTE5C was installed.
Logged

K360

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Plusnet Broadband issues
« Reply #63 on: February 06, 2019, 11:15:03 PM »

I know I am not authorised to change the master socket and won't. I saw the video posted a while back and had considered it until finding out it can only be done by an authorised person. The guy on the videos is really good, I actually bought a CAT 6 ADSL cable on ebay thanks to him lol I need to put a new RJ45 on it because the original one didn't seem to fit into the old faceplate bit of a tangent.

The connection dropouts were present pre 5C and they haven't changed in frequency since the 5C was installed. I am actually curious how much of a difference its made and would be interested in the numbers but sadly can't happen.

I have signed up for BQM and need to set ICMP ping on the BT modem. Hopefully I can run the LAN tests tomorrow and then post the results for analysis.
Logged

K360

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Plusnet Broadband issues
« Reply #64 on: February 07, 2019, 11:56:42 AM »

Tried the BQM and I can't seem to enable an ICMP ping on the BT modem. That is fine. Need to work out how to use iPerf to test the LAN.
Logged

tubaman

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4582
Re: Plusnet Broadband issues
« Reply #65 on: February 07, 2019, 12:05:24 PM »

The stats previously posted showed the DSL connection being up for over 5 days, so I suspect the dropouts are either on the PPP side or the internal network and not the connection to the DSLAM.
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]