Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: FTTP Installed  (Read 1917 times)

MaximusPrime

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 253
  • Software Engineer, Telecoms Novice
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #15 on: November 02, 2018, 10:09:40 AM »

@johnson,

my line can handle 330Mb but it is more expensive, 80Mb is more than I'll ever need & it's cheaper
Logged
FTTP, Billion 8800NL, MDWS Id: MaxPrime

chenks

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 656
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #16 on: November 02, 2018, 10:10:22 AM »

So the link is wrong?

Why would BT run a fibre to an actual house and not at least give the 330/30 that is offered for FTTPoD?

because you get what you pay for.
FTTP doesn't automatically mean you get those faster speeds, it just means the line is now capable of them.
Logged

johnson

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 631
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #17 on: November 02, 2018, 10:12:40 AM »

@johnson,

my line can handle 330Mb but it is more expensive, 80Mb is more than I'll ever need & it's cheaper

Ah ok! gotcha. So you are paying for 80/20 and are waaay below what the fibre can actually do.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2358
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #18 on: November 02, 2018, 10:22:57 AM »

So the link is wrong?

Why would BT run a fibre to an actual house and not at least give the 330/30 that is offered for FTTPoD?

With FTTP you are still free to choose any product you wish, as is the ISP. They don't make you take the more expensive option.

They can offer all the same FTTC speeds
40/2
40/10
55/10
80/20
and a whole bunch of higher FTTP speeds.

Anything above 330/50 needs XG-PON and has a much higher install charge.

The link you posted shows Openreach have made it available, but I only know of Spectrum Internet who sell it.
They have their own backhaul network.

Last time I checked BT Wholesale didn't support/sell the 500/165Mb and 1000/220Mb products, but that may have since changed.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #19 on: November 02, 2018, 12:22:53 PM »

I'm more surprised 2 people queried the slightly slow downstream and not the impossibly high upstream.

21Mb isn't that much and didn't raise any alarm bells for me.
Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2358
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #20 on: November 02, 2018, 03:29:56 PM »

21Mbps up is fairly normal on a clean line.
i was getting 19Mbps up on the FTTC before i moved.
You what?

The 19Mb is normal yes, but 21Mb doesn't become any more "normal on a clean line".

It remains impossible to get 21Mb throughput upstream on an OpenReach FTT(C/P) 20Mb product whatever the line conditions.

Any test suggesting a 21Mb throughput shouldn't be used.

Much more likely to get 71Mb down than 21Mb up.

1 is impossible and 1 is normal with usage on a contended network.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

shambly

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #21 on: November 02, 2018, 04:17:36 PM »

For what it is worth, my 80/20 FTTP connection (BT retail) routinely tests at 74.1 down (bursting to 76.9) and 20.3 up (bursting to 21.3) using the think broadband test.

Logged

MaximusPrime

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 253
  • Software Engineer, Telecoms Novice
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #22 on: November 03, 2018, 12:18:40 PM »

I have attached this mornings speed test from www.speedtest.net
Logged
FTTP, Billion 8800NL, MDWS Id: MaxPrime

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1924
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #23 on: November 03, 2018, 12:34:13 PM »

The test is still wrong.
Logged

johnson

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 631
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #24 on: November 03, 2018, 12:40:43 PM »

Do fibre ONT/modem devices even have a synchronisation speed in the same sense as an xDSL modem? Or is the bandwidth only controlled further up in the network? Maybe that could explain the difference.

Also I assume fibre equipment has at least equal or lower latency to DSL and the high 25ms ping is due to geographic location?
Logged

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1043
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #25 on: November 03, 2018, 02:41:38 PM »

Bandwidth controlled further up only - every property gets the full speed of the link if left 'uncapped'. Latency is superior to fast-path VDSL.
Logged
-----
Deploying better networks, not just faster ones.

c6em

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 501
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #26 on: November 03, 2018, 04:08:24 PM »

Just tested my Gigaclear line on that speedtest.net site.
FTTP package I'm on is a nominal 50Mbps both up and down.

Results were ping 6ms, download 52.84Mbps, upload 49.55Mbps
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 25920
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #27 on: November 03, 2018, 05:12:42 PM »

The test is still wrong.

Agreed.

I would go as far as saying that all throughput speed tests are wrong, some more wrong than others . . . each one is constructed with some fiddle-function or assumption, made by its creator.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1043
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #28 on: November 03, 2018, 05:16:49 PM »

Any chance Openreach put a touch of 'fluff' on the upstream rather than capping at exactly 20,000, or that the ONT / OLT permit a burst before they start to enforce the bandwidth limit?

My cable is capped to 402,750 down, 22,000 up and has a burst that's allowed before it starts enforcing those limits.
Logged
-----
Deploying better networks, not just faster ones.

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 25920
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #29 on: November 03, 2018, 05:23:49 PM »

Most likely it is the burst effect.

If we wanted to create a ridiculously wrong throughput speed-test, it would be quite simple to note the maximum rate achieved over the testing period and then quote that peak as the throughput.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
Pages: 1 [2] 3