Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: FTTP Installed  (Read 1892 times)

MaximusPrime

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 253
  • Software Engineer, Telecoms Novice
FTTP Installed
« on: November 02, 2018, 12:03:32 AM »

Guys,

I got my FTTP installed thankfully, eventually got it in after 2.5 months

71Mb down, 21Mb up,

cheers
Logged
FTTP, Billion 8800NL, MDWS Id: MaxPrime

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 25879
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2018, 12:46:16 AM »

Native FTTP. Congratulations.  :)

Now you will need to update your signature block.  ;)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

MaximusPrime

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 253
  • Software Engineer, Telecoms Novice
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2018, 12:49:09 AM »

@burakkucat,

cheers, signature changed lol  :)
Logged
FTTP, Billion 8800NL, MDWS Id: MaxPrime

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 25879
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2018, 01:00:52 AM »

If you feel up to telling us about the details of the installation, etc, I'm sure we would all be interesting in reading it.

Have you remained with BT as your CP/ISP?
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6963
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2018, 06:40:24 AM »

Yes, would be pleased to read about it, while salivating.
Logged

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #5 on: November 02, 2018, 08:13:06 AM »

Curious to understand why the speed is only 71Mb on native FTTP?

Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet

MaximusPrime

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 253
  • Software Engineer, Telecoms Novice
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #6 on: November 02, 2018, 08:30:26 AM »

When I finally got my VDSL fixed about 2 years ago I was told FTTP would be coming to my house soon

During this Summer I seen BT installing cables along my road & added a new box to the top of the pole on the road

3 months ago the BT availability checker said FTTP was available to my house

I had stayed with BT during the Summer due to the FTTP & organised a 2 year contract getting 30 off each year & they said they would upgrade me to FTTP if it became available

I rang BT & asked them to upgrade me, we agreed a continuation of our existing contract & they would upgrade me for free

The 1st engineer they sent out didn't turn up, cut off my broadband & didn't install the FTTP, I had to ring up & it took 2 days to get my VDSL working again. BT gave me a personal contact to get things sorted.

The next engineer turned up but didn't install the FTTP because work needed to be done to 1 of the poles

Then BT said no work needed to be done to the pole & they sent out 2 engineers & they installed the FTTP; Fibre cable into the house & Fibre modem attached to the wall. BT sent me out the wrong Home Hub 6 - I needed 1 with a ethernet-WAN port so I had to ask them for 1 & send the other 1 back.

I have attached a pic of my NTE

I use my Billion router instead of the BT 1 because I don't want people parking outside my house using BT-Wifi



Logged
FTTP, Billion 8800NL, MDWS Id: MaxPrime

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2356
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #7 on: November 02, 2018, 09:21:03 AM »

Quote
I use my Billion router instead of the BT 1 because I don't want people parking outside my house using BT-Wifi

You don't need to stop using the hub for that. It can easily be disabled while still using the BT hubs but it would prevent you from using the FON network (part of what the BT WiFi hotspots make up).

https://www.bt.com/wifi/secure/index.do?s_cid=con_FURL_btfon

Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

chenks

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 656
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #8 on: November 02, 2018, 09:28:28 AM »

Curious to understand why the speed is only 71Mb on native FTTP?

yes why only 71Mbps down?
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2356
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #9 on: November 02, 2018, 09:53:36 AM »

There's no access to any detailed stats on the FTTP ONT's.

71/21Mb sounds like a random speed test.

I'm more surprised 2 people queried the slightly slow downstream and not the impossibly high upstream.

Probably just a test over WiFi and not significant.

WiFi coverage/throughput would be much better on the BT HH6 than the Billion 8800NL R1.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

johnson

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 623
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #10 on: November 02, 2018, 09:57:24 AM »

I was reading it as 71MBps & 21MBps, so  ~500mbps 160mbps.

From here https://home.bt.com/tech-gadgets/future-tech/openreach-makes-gigabit-speeds-available-across-the-uks-largest-wholesale-fttp-network-11364111344562:

Quote
Openreach will launch two additional wholesale products over FTTP on December 6 2016, including a new up to 500Mbps product with an upload speed of up to 165 Mbps
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2356
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #11 on: November 02, 2018, 10:00:11 AM »

Yea... you read that wrong.

They don't do free upgrades from FTTC to 500/165 FTTP with a reduction in price.

More important BT don't sell such a product

edit: to add

550/165 and 1000/220 FTTP from OpenReach is only available on specific exchanges and requires XG-PON and comes with a hefty 500 install.

https://www.openreach.co.uk/orpg/home/products/pricing/loadProductPriceDetails.do?data=SjLGnN8O1mzybN7g39pZiNKvrleClYZjBLZ4w%2FibaalZ6rNZujnCs99NbIKJZPD9hXYmiijxH6wrCQm97GZMyQ%3D%3D
« Last Edit: November 02, 2018, 10:05:19 AM by j0hn »
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

MaximusPrime

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 253
  • Software Engineer, Telecoms Novice
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #12 on: November 02, 2018, 10:05:55 AM »

Those speeds were from an on-line tester on a wired ethernet connection

Tested this morning: 74Mb down 18Mb up

I'd say some of the bandwidth is used for transport data & error checking data & factoring in errors

John, I want to be able to use BT-wifi if im out & we live out of the town so I don't like cars parking outside on the road for security reasons
Logged
FTTP, Billion 8800NL, MDWS Id: MaxPrime

johnson

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 623
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #13 on: November 02, 2018, 10:06:51 AM »

So the link is wrong?

Why would BT run a fibre to an actual house and not at least give the 330/30 that is offered for FTTPoD?
Logged

chenks

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 656
Re: FTTP Installed
« Reply #14 on: November 02, 2018, 10:08:50 AM »

I'm more surprised 2 people queried the slightly slow downstream and not the impossibly high upstream.

21Mbps up is fairly normal on a clean line.
i was getting 19Mbps up on the FTTC before i moved.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3
 

anything