Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: AAISP's allowances  (Read 586 times)

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1182
AAISP's allowances
« on: October 15, 2018, 11:30:10 AM »

I really fail to understand the logic of the allowances on the home::1 packages - particularly the 300GB. The basic package has a 200GB allowance. For an extra 10 per month you get 300GB allowance and a further 5 extra per month (total 15 extra) you get 2TB.

If you use the ability to change allowance every month there is a potential for big savings. These are some examples of the of the average extra cost per month for different allowances using this (the attached image shows how it is worked out):

300GB 3.75
450GB 5
800GB 7.50
970GB 10

The one that really stands out is the 300GB where they are asking an extra 10 per month but by flipping to the 2TB one month in four it actually costs 3.75. If they increased the allowance on the 10 extra to say 750GB it would make a lot more sense (although savings could still be made by flipping)!
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
Re: AAISP's allowances
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2018, 11:44:55 AM »

At the moment I have the 2TB package from AAISP. I thought I'd actually be quite a heavy user on that. I only used 228GB last month, though, figure I am load balanced - so it would have easily been 450GB if I only had the single internet connection.

I am going to leave it another month and then probably drop to the 200GB package for a while until I am requiring more bandwidth. Already have 2.78TB quota halfway through October. If I were to go 250-300Gb a month on 200GB then that's a good number of months I could run on 200GB and then swap up to 2TB for a month or two again later on.
Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet

Ixel

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1079
Re: AAISP's allowances
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2018, 10:54:14 AM »

It baffles me as well. Unfortunately I can't seem to change my quota each month at a press of a button. I get a message saying "to contact sales if I wish to change quota allowance". I have 2TB and 200GB (two lines bonded), and use an average of around 600GB to 700GB a month I believe at the moment.
Logged

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 389
Re: AAISP's allowances
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2018, 12:40:52 PM »

TT or BT backhaul?
Logged

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
Re: AAISP's allowances
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2018, 01:39:40 PM »

I am on TT backhaul and it says in my control panel pages that if I wish to change my quota, I should contact sales.
Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1182
Re: AAISP's allowances
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2018, 02:10:38 PM »

Have you tried going through the order procedure starting from https://order.aa.net.uk/chaos2broadband.html ? The first question it asks is new or existing line and when I followed through I ended up with the attached.

Edit: You get to the page I linked by selecting Home::1 from the AAISP home page, then Quote/Order Home::1
« Last Edit: October 20, 2018, 02:17:07 PM by jelv »
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
Re: AAISP's allowances
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2018, 05:28:22 PM »

I'd never thought of trying that, but yes, I get the same as you - I can regrade to 200GB via that method, or at least that's what I think I can do!
Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1182
Re: AAISP's allowances
« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2018, 05:35:13 PM »

That is the correct way to make the change. Why finding that is so obscure I don't know - there should be a link where you found the contact sales message.
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
Re: AAISP's allowances
« Reply #8 on: October 20, 2018, 09:02:21 PM »

I have absolutely no idea what my real average usage is due to me previously having only Sky Fibre, and they don't count the usage. I'm tempted at this point to drop my AAISP to 200GB and save 15 a month and pipe all my bulk downloads through my Sky connection and rely on my AAISP for everything else. That's rather nice.
Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 389
Re: AAISP's allowances
« Reply #9 on: October 20, 2018, 09:34:46 PM »

I'm tempted at this point to drop my AAISP to 200GB and save 15 a month and pipe all my bulk downloads through my Sky connection and rely on my AAISP for everything else.
I would if that 15 is making a difference. For most people, an extra 15 a month would be welcomed. Though for myself I could save quadruple that if I stopped buying lunch from the likes of Tesco when I'm out and about. ;D
Logged
 

anything